We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Another great stay at this amazing hotel.

We are reluctant to try anywhere else as its great value for money, spotlessly clean, good selection of food.

The staff are first class a credit to the management team, always smile and say Hola in the mornings.

The pools are so so clean and well maintained, I like the fact reserved towels are removed on sun beds that stay unoccupied all morning.

My three children especially the 2 youngest love the Panchi disco and its a safe environment for my eldest to walk about in.

The rooms are a great size and offer all that you need.

We will be back next summer.

Room Tip: pool view high levels you can see the Dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dummydots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on the website Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation of our environment and the service.

Your detailed description and the professional analysis of your travel experiences are not only valuable for other travellers, but also a wonderful feedback to share with all members of our team.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Public Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,123 - 2,129 of 6,022 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

One of the best, maybe the best, accommodation at Gran Canaria, Meloneras / Maspalomas. We've enjoyed our holiday and loved the location, the staff is friendly and the resort is kept in a great condition!! The rooms are comfortable and are cleaned every day by a friendly staff. The service at the pool is from an outstanding service. To the complete staff of Lopesan Baobab resort: thank you all for the great time we had during our vacation july / august 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Patrick,

Thank you very much for your detailed review concerning your most recent visit here at the Lopesan Baobab Resort.

We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel facilities and service.

Furthermore we wish to thank you for the praise for our staff. Please be assured that I will pass your kind words on to my team.

Kind regards,

Public Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lopesan Baobab have a unique architectural style where the spurit of Africa is present in every corner!
This hotel is a dream playground for kids! You should take this into consideration!
If you want to have a relax holiday don't choose August because this is the most crowded month , when children have holiday , and when we were there, were about 500 kids in the hotel! ( one was screaming, one was running, one was crying, and so on...)

We had a junior suite, which wasn't so spectacular but was fine, except the fact that we had two beds put one near the other instead of matrimonial bed, and during night the beds were slipping apart and you could find yourself on the flor!

The breakfast is really great, you have plenty of food to choose from!

The main restaurant is near Panchi Disco ( mini disco ) and in the evening they have a lot of programs for children and you can't enjoy your dinner without listening to kids screaming , and songs!

We had half-board included but I don't necessarily advice you to take this only if you don't want to get out from the hotel! The food is nice but mostly the same!

The wifi connection was very bad in the room and also near the pools!

The hotel is not having a SPA, you have to go at the other Lopesan ( costa Meloneras)

In conclusion I truly recommend you this hotel because it's spectacular and Gran Canaria is s nice place!

Tips:
- close to the hotel you can find plenty of restaurants ( with fresh seafood and other goodies)
- take a walk on the beach, is very beautiful
- visit Puerto Mogan, a little place at 20 km distance, is wonderful
- book Lopesan Costa Meloneras or Villa del Conde if you don't want to be disturbed by kids
- if you have children this is the perfect place to go!
- if you don't have children choose September /October,both are perfect for holiday because the weather and the lack of children! :) ( trust me I heard one week over 500 kids and is not so easy :)
- Las Palmas is 35/40 min away with the taxi is nice for shopping and visiting!
- if you want to have a nice view ask for a room at least at the second floor!
- if you want to have a nice place where to sunbath go at the pool before having breakfast and just occupy your seats! They say is not allowed and they put a note on the sun-chair but everybody is doing so !
- there are no rooms with sea-view!!
- We received in the last day a newspaper with Gran Canaria " things to do" ask for it earlier, you can find a lot of interesting things from it!

I hope you will have a wonderful holiday :*

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theodora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Can't think of a nicer place to spend the holiday. Stunning architecture, beautiful poolarea, very well cleaned and maintained overall. Rooms spacy and well designed. Personal is friendly and willing to fulfill your needs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very large but well run hotel, with an African theme running throughout. The staff were well trained and acted professionally, and were always ready and keen to help you. With 7 pools and 4 restaurants to choose from it never felt overcrowded even though the hotel was vast and seemed to be full. Great choice of food at all sittings, and generally a very good quality. Our room was a Deluxe with pool and was lovely, with access from the Terrace to a smaller pool. The lazy river was fun and had lots of places down its length to get out and stay on a sun-lounger (or the bar). Hotel is very close to the sea too, and a pleasant walk from the hotel to the promenade where there are a few shops, a light house, and a lovely walk along the sea front. We went as a couple but families were there too. Only negative was poor WiFi.

Room Tip: Deluxe pool room is great for access to the more private smaller pool and easy access back to your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Woodstock17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at the Baobab with our children, our third time in the last three years.

The hotel never fails to impress, the staff are excellent, many remembered me, my wife and our children (Antonio Gonzales - Bar Manager, very professional and an asset to the hotel... Many others I could mention too!)

Food is excellent, I don't understand those that mention the lack of variety. Each night there are 2 fresh fish grills, two meat grills and a roast. Add to that; a variety of pasta dishes, casseroles and salad choices. A variety of desserts - the petit fours being our favourites. I guess the real issue is that some cannot see past chips as a staple diet! Breakfast has many choices, again it may not seem normal to have vegetables with your breakfast... As I say to my kids, Just try them!

Entertainment is good, personal favourites being the Rafiki show band in the Richard Burton Bar. The Brazillian show to celebrate the World Cup was also very entertaining.

Day time activities - the animation team work very, very hard. Children's club (Samantha, Anna and Romana) keep the youngsters entertained - lots of fun activity. If the sounds of happy children enjoying themselves does not put a smile on your face, then maybe this is really not the hotel for you! Panchi the hotel mascot is adored by the children and the appearance of his "friends" for the Panchi parade will live long in my memory! :-)

For older children and adults there are a number of activities, if you want to get involved. Florian was an entertaining host for many of these sessions - thanks for the Cocktail making workshops!

If you want to lie on your sunbeds then that is fine - the no reserve policy is a big bonus. To those complaining about no beds from 8:30am - that is a luxury it used to be 6am! A real good initiative by the hotel - please, please keep it up!

Once you venture outside the hotel, the resort is very much in keeping with the quality of the hotels. Maspalomas and Melonares beaches are good blue flag beaches. Can be a little rocky underfoot at low tide!

For those that say it is not 5*, remember that this is a holiday destination to relax and have fun and this hotel is up there with the best


Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Customer Service is of a high standard with your staff demonstrating a "can do" attitude. They are professional, friendly and extremely helpful. A credit to the hotel.

We commend you on enforcing the "no reservation of sunbeds" as often hotels have this policy but do nothing with it. I am confident you will benefit from increased business, as a result of re-assuring your guests that your approach is a "fair but firm" system, with your staff being supported to do the right thing.

The food is of average quality and can lack variety especially at breakfast. I would also consider investing in your Wifi capabilities as this was poor.

The hotel is exceptional and our room spectacular.

Well done to you all and we shall definitely be returning should we every holiday in Gran Canaria again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank EllaandCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#5 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,179 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
7.3 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range: £131 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing