We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Family to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Donnington Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 18 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Family to Stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Donnington last summer. The family room was quite spacious and included a bunk bed. It easily accomodated our family of 5. Rates were reasonable. Breakfasts were plentiful and very good. Location is about a 10-15 min walk from the train station but quite far from the city center. Plenty of parking. It is located on the main road. We kept the windows closed so noise was not a factor. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domer90mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    44
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
33
37
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We booked The Donnington as it was close to Truro FC's ground.
Rooms are simple and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was full english with as much toast tea & coffee as you like.
Fresh orange juice.

Very friendly and would use again.

Easy parking

Room Tip: Try not to get the single without the loo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowingBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed over night in Truro as our team were playing Truro FC at football and this place is bang opposite the ground - ideal for visiting fans (the Clubhouse is decent and opens early)
Despite turning up an hour early at the B&B we were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were simply furnished but very clean and exactly what we were looking for. My room had a great view of the City and also had a fridge and some of the others had a microwave too.
The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast options were outstanding with obviously some good quality ingredients being used.
Positives: Friendly staff, clean and tidy, yummy breakfast, good value for money, close to footy ground.
Negatives: No wi-fi (would have got 5 if they had that), the TV Buzzed a bit on standby (resolved by switching it off at the wall!) and if you opt to go into the City Centre the 15 minute walk back will be up a very steep hill (Get a cab!)

Room Tip: I was in Room 10 (back of house), It had a great view and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I use the Donnington for about ten nights a month whilst working in Truro, stayed in probably eight of thge rooms and never found fault. The owners and staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming. Although I don't do breakfast the dining room always looks warm and welcoming

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Easy walk to the Cornwall Record Office, but downhill to the town, so uphill on the way back (or taxi for 3-4 pounds). Stayed in a double room ensuite not at the front, so not noisy. Room was comfortable and clean with good shower but handbasin in need of refurbishment. Breakfasts were good but only teabags after the packet of leaf tea ran out. Service was very friendly and excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed at the Donnington for 3 nights; I was advised that the single room was not en suite but an lavatory was available for my sole use - no problems with that but it was not as close as I would have liked in the wee hours (pun intended), the corridor and step was all a bit much for me. The shower was in the room but it was all a bit cluttered, a bit shabby, curtains and towels a bit thin, mismatched furniture and a hanging rail (over the kettle so ok for creases!). The accommodation was all just OK. I found the room at the front of the hotel a bit noisy but I concede that I live in a rural and very quiet area so am maybe a bit noise sensitive.
Staff friendly and helpful; offered to help with bags which was appreciated and the breakfast was decent too.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room at the front if you like a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I had a very comfortable stay here. The single en-suite was small but very clean and warm. The cooked breakfast was tasty and it is very conveniently located for the town and the station. I would highly recommend it, especially if travelling on a budget as the price was excellent for the quality and friendliness!

Room Tip: I had a room at the front of the property and slept well but I have been told the rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratchet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
441 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pontac House Hotel
The Pontac House Hotel
#2 of 3 in St Clement
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cliftons
Cliftons
#4 of 18 in Truro
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donnington Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donnington Guesthouse

Property: The Donnington Guesthouse
Address: 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donnington Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Donnington Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Donnington Guesthouse Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing