We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Donnington Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 19 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“welcoming and friendly”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

when we arrived it was cold and wet we were met by a very cheerful lady who showed us where to go for breakfast it was nice to see we could help ourselves to yogurt fruit juice and make our own toast before enjoying a good cooked breakfast with children it done what they wanted nothing was to much trouble we will return again thankyou

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    44
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
30
36
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Itala, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

the worst experience in England! The bathroom was ancient and dirty, but most of all we booked for 2 nights, but they gave our room to someone else throwing our stuff in the middle of the breakfast room.

It's like psyco Motel... stay away really!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
A young couple reserved a room with us for one night only. Unfortunately they did not let us know that they wanted to stay a second night before leaving after breakfast for a day out. We were full at the time, and always honour rooms booked in advance. Although we had a mobile number for them, the couple must have been in an area where there was no signal and so were unable to reply. We had therefore to move the bags from the room, and clean it ready for our next guests.

When the couple returned, we explained that we needed notification if they required an extra night and explained that on this occasion an extended stay would not be possible. We offered to ring local hotels and guesthouses to try and find them an alternative, but they did not want us to do this.

This is the only event remotely resembling the one above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Where to begin? On the door to the ensuite, both the door catch and lock had been taken out, leaving only the handle. Therefore the door doesn't even shut or lock. Wash basin is very small and directly over the basin is a glass shelf which means that you can't bend over the basin when cleaning your teeth or else your face would hit the glass shelf. The glass shelf is not level. There is nowhere to put the soap on the wash basin - no room at all. There is one miniscule cabinet above the glass shelf with a tiny mirror. There is nowhere to put the usual toiletries and no hooks at all to hang clothes on while in the en suite. Therefore you have to put everything on the floor and bend down all the time. The toilet paper holder is on the floor and consequently the paper trails on the floor. The floor covering is stained carpet which is not at all hygenic. The towels are hung on the back of the en suite door on a metal rod contraption which comes apart when taking a towel off and has to be reassembled. The towels are off white. The toilet has an electric Macerator pump and there are notices to tell you only to put "pee, poo and paper in the loo". Despite doing as told, the toilet does not get rid of waste straight away and several flushes are required. The Macerator pump makes an absolutely terrible noise, especially noticeable in the middle of the night. The glass door to the ensuite shower does not fit at all. Consequently water sprays out over the bath mat and carpet. The Mira Excel shower has a chromium fitting which gets hot enough to make unsuspecting person in the shower jump. The light is poor. The bedroom itself has tatty net curtains with no fullness and the same goes for the draw curtains, one of which would not draw back at all. One of the twin beds is very lumpy. The beds have metal headboards which rattle when the occupant moves. The light is very poor, having one dim bulb high up on the ceiling. All in all the room and en suite need a complete overhaul, being run down, out of date and inefficient.. The breakfast rooms were packed with young foreign students standing elbow to elbow trying to serve themselves with the usual cereals. toast etc. The cooked breakfast when it came was very nice. We heard that the owner was abroad at the time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossingtheline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Staff asked what you wanted cooked before you had even got a coffee. breakfast nearly cold and poor quality, could not sleep all night as light in hall shone into room and beds uncomfortable, no evidence of freindly staff. Decore tired and dated

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylanrorybooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Myself and friends were welcomed by a kind and friendly lady who showed us to a big but cosy dining room and then up to our room which was just perfect for us . It had a bunk bed and a double bed alond with an en-suite bathroom which was beautidul and one of the cleanest i've seen in a long time . The bedroom had a fridge and an up - to - date television with all the channels I needed . It also had everything i needed for a lovely cup of tea. Breakfast was a delicious full english . I wish I could make one as good as their's . It was close to te town centre and lovely outdoor places to walk . I loved it there and if i go back to cornwall i'm definetely staying there . Even if it's miles away form where i'm supposed to be .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamsandwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I have stayed in this B&B twice, once in No.5 the single room and once in a family room in the part next door.
The single room was not good.... broken window, curtains that didn't close, out-dated decor. It needs major re-decoration. If it was as nice as the dining room it would be lovely.
The family room was better but again the decor wasn't great, especially the nasty ceiling tiles.
The good points:
Breakfast was very good and the staff were lovely. The dining room is very tastefully decorated. Ample free parking and close enough to the town to walk to for dinner etc.
This could be a really good B&B but it needs investment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissGreenFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchy5, Owner at The Donnington Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
Our Room 5 does seem to have entered the spotlight on TripAdvisor. We always ensure cleanliness and friendliness both of which have been recognised within the reviews for this room. We are also very pleased that our breakfast has received compliments. Guests enjoy a selection of fruit, yoghurts, juice, choice of cereals, toast with preserves or honey, followed by the 'Donnington Traditional' (hash brown, bacon, sausage, grilled tomato, mushrooms, baked beans and free range egg; fried, poached or scrambled,. Alternatively guests may order 'Ham and Eggs', the 'Donnington Vegetarian' the 'Donnington Continental' or 'Kipper fillets' (to be requested 24 hours in advance).

As for the other points...
We hold our hands up to the crack in the window. The view over Truro is stunning from this room and nostalgically I enjoy it through the original Victorian glass; its lack of uniformity giving a wonderful effect. This is not meant as an excuse, and we know we should have it replaced.

An earlier review mentioned the fridge in room 5. A regular guest who likes this room requested that they have a fridge which we provided. We thought it might be a good idea to leave it in there, but are aware the position is not suitable and have removed it. We are aware the furniture is basic, however the room is comfortable and has all the extras such as tea, coffee , digital etc.

Many of our return guests ask for this when booking a single because it has the aforementioned view, a 4 ft wide single bed, it's extremely quiet, spacious and has a reasonable charge (£35 per night incl breakfast and parking). However, we do appreciate this feedback and will continually strive to maintain standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I booked Room 5 the day before for one night only. Although on the second floor, it was worth the climb for the view over Truro and the cathedral! The facilities were perfectly adequate for a guest house and the single room had a shower and basin but I was given a key to a separate WC. If staying longer I might have preferred an ensuite. Very warm friendly service and an enjoyable breakfast. I would return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
854 reviews
0.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
579 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
728 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cliftons
Cliftons
#4 of 19 in Truro
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donnington Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donnington Guesthouse

Property: The Donnington Guesthouse
Address: 43 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Donnington Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Donnington Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Donnington Guesthouse Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing