We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rowan Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rowan Tree
Ranked #35 of 38 Truro B&B and Inns
WEST MOORS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We returned for a THIRD successive year to enjoy the wonderful hospitality/location of this excellent B&B. Nothing was , as always, too much trouble for Christine and the flexibility of accesss was conducive to a super stay. Fortified by her breakfasts , of whatever size you require, we set off exploring Cornwall , to return tired and needing to relax by viewing the Cathedral resplendent as it was illuminated at night.Comfortable and clean as always, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Guest house conveniently situated between the train station and city. Spacious first floor bedroom with lovely bay window overlooking Truro with it's cathedral. Good value. Cleanliness could be improved. Victorian houses are notoriously difficult to heat but the radiator was not adjustable and only seemed to be luke warm. The weather was cold so unfortunately I never felt warm the whole time I was there. Hostess pleasant and friendly. Breakfast only average.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holitrolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowantreetruro, Owner at The Rowan Tree, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
I was really sorry to read this reiview. In over 6 years of trading I have had nothing but praise from my guests who tell me how much they have enjoyed their stay. and I have some wonderful write ups in my Guest book. However I am really sorry that you were cold. I left the heating on all the time that month but obviously too low although an elderly gentleman who came later that month said he was too hot! If you had told me a I would have put up the heating. I am also sorry you didn't find the room clean enough as I always go through thoroughly between guests.
I can't remember what you had for breakfast but I do buy the best ingredients. I make my own bread, marmalade and mix my own muesli. My eggs come from my friend's chickens so can't be fresher. Anyway my final apologies for a stay that wasn't as pleasant as it should have been. I will try and take exra care with my future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

I went to this B & B for two days while attending a festival in Cornwall.I t was a great B & B.Four minutes walk from the train station, ten minutes walk from the bus terminus and city centre and restaurants.The hostess was very pleasant and was willing to get up extra early to make my breakfast.The room was beautiful to look at, the bathroom was very clean with energy saving devices.My room had fantastic view overlooking the town centre and the Truro Cathedral- the view from the bedroom is to die for, you will have to see it to believe.The hostess also makes a great English breakfast.This B & B is truly fantastic ,

Room Tip: call by telephone and book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennoxmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

stayed here at the end of june this year..wat a delightful b&b...the landlady was very helpful and made the most delicious breakfasts..lovely rooms too..well worth a visit if you ever get chance.definitly worth staying if your here for a few days or more..not far from railway station either

  • Liked — service and hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing to report
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graybagsinoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Donnington Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rowan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowan Tree

Property: The Rowan Tree
Address: 3 Parkvedras Terrace, Truro TR1 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rowan Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rowan Tree is a three star bed and breakast, situated in a quiet road with off street parking opposite the house. We are a few minutes walk from the railway station and about eight minutes walk to the centre of Truro.Our room is a twin ensuite with excellent views over the city. Full English, or continental, breakfast is served each morning in the dining room.Cyclists are welcome ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rowan Tree Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing