We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A LITTLE GEM IN THE CENTRE OF TRURO”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Riverbank

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Riverbank
Ranked #31 of 36 Truro B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM IN THE CENTRE OF TRURO”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This was a company booking and therefore sight unseen. Upon arrival we were a little unsure of what we were in for but were very pleasantly suprised by the standard of the room which had everything you could want plus a walk in shower.The management and staff were all very friendly and accommodating and the food was very good indeed. The location was terrific right bang next door to Truro Cathedral and ideal for a business stop over or as a base for sightseeing . There is a paid car park just across the road but I understand that there will shortly be hotel car spaces at the rear. The hotel is a listed building and clearly an Inn which has been renovated to a high standard and open for only six months. A real gem which we will certainly visit again and can commend to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    13
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
12
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wells somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Spent just one night in August and was delighted with everything - location, modern room, dinner, value for money but above all with the caring attitude of all the staff. Will ALWAYS aim to stay on future visits to Truro.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDBGMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The room was spacious and very well finished with particular attention to detail. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a real gem. The location is close to the centre of town but hidden away behind the cathedral so it was peaceful in the evening. I had dinner with a colleaguewin the resturant and the food was wonderful, all made to order. The staff were friendly and the place has a contemporary but comfortable vibe. I would definately stay there again and I have reccomneded it to colleagues.
A really nice change from the norm for a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red_salt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamako
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

I stayed at the Riverbank for one night on this visit, will happily make it my base for future visits. It's hard to categorise the place - is it a pub/restaurant with rooms, or a guesthouse a bar and good music? Whatever category you want to put it in, it's a nice place to stay. The previous reviewers have already given good descriptions, so I won't repeat the same stuff. Here are the things I liked about it:

- very friendly and helpful staff
- very comfortable bed, best sleep I've had in a long time
- tasty breakfast, freshly cooked
- my colleague had the veggie version of the full English, he liked it
- free internet, good connection
- very good live music (free), started at 9 and finished about 11
- good local beers (Tribute, Doom Bar)
- right beside everything, it's just behind the Cathedral
- nice view from the terrace
- about 10 minutes walk from the railway station, 3-4 minutes from the main bus stop at Victoria Square

A few things to note:

- food orders finish at 9 (we got caught out, but they rustled us up a very tasty sandwich)
- check out time is 10 a.m.
- rooms are OK in size, but not huge
- it doesn't have all the facilities of a big hotel, it's an 8-room premises

My work means I spend a lot of time in hotels around the world. The Riverbank is a very welcome change from the usual. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We recently stayed in Truro for a long weekend. We looked at several hotels online and most were either too expensive or had bad reviews (abrupt staff, run down, etc). Then my wife stumbled on The Riverbank and it was well priced (£80/night I think it was) and the rooms looked lovely. Professionally looking website too.

The staff were very helpful when we rang up to book. We were travelling down from London on a thursday night and potentially could have arrived after midnight, which is after the reception closed. But they said not to worry and they would wait for us. We were also travelling with our young baby, and they were more than happy for us to keep her food in their kitchen fridges throughout the stay.

The staff (especially Phil and Janet - managers) were very friendly and helpful through the stay. From offering to carry our bags up, to running over to the carpark in the morning to put a new ticket on the car so we could lie in, to washing up our baby dishes when we fed our daughter lunches in the restaurant. Phil let us check out a little bit later too to accommodate our baby's morning sleep.

We ate breakfast 3 times, and it was good.

They have a DJ playing in the bar below our room on a saturday night, and we were warned that they would be playing until 11.45. But there was sound proofing built into the ceiling so we couldn't hear much in our room at all. A slight bit of bass, but we fell asleep very quickly and weren't disturbed at all by it.

The only thing that was a bit of a pain was the parking. There is an official town car park 30 seconds walk away, but it's pay and display from 7am to midnight, and quite expensive. Janet topped up the parking for us early in the morning so we didn't have to get dressed at 7am, and didn't charge us for the £3, and that was helpful. But if you are planning to leave the car parked all day then you would have to park elsewhere as it's a short term car park. I think Phil mentioned that they were in the process of getting some more permanent spaces so this is in hand.

overall, we had a lovely stay. And we would definitely recommend it and we'd stay there again.

Oh, and very large comfy bed too!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisrudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I stayed in one of the refurbished rooms for 5 nights in March. The room was clean and well appointed and as good as any upmarket hotel. Also the breakfast was excellent and the manager was very helpful. The Riverbank is centrally located in Truro and represented excellent value for money compared with other accomadations I have stayed at in and around Truro.
The Riverbank, however, should decide what it is. Currently it is a pub, a resturant and on the weekend a mini club. Having said that I will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zantac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2010

we had a lovely stay and really enjoyed the close proximity of the shops.
The rooms were clean and moden and the staff were very friendly. We will defiantly be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.1 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
800 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliftons
Cliftons
#4 of 36 in Truro
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
The City Inn
#27 of 36 in Truro
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverbank

Property: The Riverbank
Address: Old Bridge Street, Truro TR1 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the cathedral in the heart of Truro is the Riverbank- now with the addition of an eight bedroom boutique hotel and completely refurbished licensed bar and restaurant, offering local, freshly cooked food. Each completely refurbished room is finished to a high contemporary standard. Single, double and twin occupancy available.We believe excellent service is paramount and endevour to provide the best level possible to each and every guest that comes through our doors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Riverbank Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing