We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutly perfect!”
Review of Truro Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Truro Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Truro B&B and Inns
1 review
“Absolutly perfect!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Absolutly perfect easy to find thanks to robs text directions great for a quick overniter for hfc friendly hosts warm comfortable beds lovely kitchen great bathrooms cheap price couldn't have had a nicer time cheers rob

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lustforlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
13
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Great place to stay I stayed there on the easter weekend and rob & moyra where very pleasant with some hotels with managers have been unsociable but this hotel/lodge very social I will definitely come back again! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomw112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

After a gruelling and hot day of cycling, our second to last from John o'Groats to Lands End, this place proved to be an absolute gem. It is spacious, quiet, welcoming, relaxed, well-priced, with a wonderful and quirky decor which you will love. The easy access to kitchen and shower facilities was great. We loved eating our chips in that beautiful front garden. This place has my highest recommendation, either for a visit passing through, or a base from which to explore the area. Big thanks to Moyra and Rob. Our night here launched us very well into our completion of JoGLE the following day.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

If you are looking for starchy five star luxury and silver service this isn't the place for you. Truro Lodge is fun, quirky and great value. The rooms are smart, individual and will appeal to those of us fed up with the corporate blandness of the budget chain hotels.
Every room is different which fits in with the whole idiosyncratic nature of this unique b&b. Ok so the rooms aren't en suite - realky it's not as bad as you'd think- but where else are you going to find a sofa in the bathroom? It's wacky, it's weird but it works. And it's not just the bedrooms - the whole house is packed with the strange and arcane, a result of the owner Rob Nolan's years in the antique trade and his fondness for old signs.
Oh should just mention he is a local councillor and former mayor of the city too so knows a fair bit about the area.
So to breakfast. Again this isn't your ordinary b&b. Don't expect the fry up in fact breakfast is a self-service affair. It's toast and cereals...
But if you insist on the full works you can always help yourself to the Aga. Position wise it's a five minute walk to town. The downside is that there's restricted parking which goes for most of the town centre. All in all this place is a full of atmosphere and really is a home from home. Not for everyone but great value and highly original.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishMctavish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed with my three young children and had a wonderful stay. Rob and Moyra were really friendly and helpful, the room was really clean and comfortable and the house itself is full of character. I loved the kitchen, where you could store and cook your own food (perfect with children) and it all just felt really easy and relaxed. The only slight difficulty was the lack of en-suite because you had to take all the children with you for a bath. But that was a small price to pay for all the other plus points and I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMitchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Effortlessly characterful, relaxed and lovely Georgian (Regency?) house. High ceilings, airy, spacious rooms and charming, unpretentious decor oozing authentic character. Two big old fashioned bath/ showerrooms and a fantastic Niagara Falls of a shower. Unintrusive, friendly owners, and a lovely big kitchen.
Last here a year ago - only just occured to me I could leave a review! It's a pleasure.

Room Tip: Double at rear - 1st or 2nd floor (not sure which it was).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Offshoretomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for a couple of days in early October. We saw it on the web offering double rooms for around £38 pn and thought this was ideal for us both.

I used to live in Truro for many years and know the area pretty well, but it took us a while to actually find the Lodge. Direction on the website would have been a big help as the road leading up to the parking was a bit hidden and there was a big delivery van hiding it from us.

After getting parked up and shown around we were both astounded by how grand it all seemed. They had a communal kitchen, a guest living room and two bathrooms. One with a shower, and one HUGE room with a large old-fashioned bathtub in it (though it felt very strange using this room, we both felt a bit uneasy using the facilities in there.) The shower room was lovely and very large but my other half is terrified of spiders and there were two large ones in there which were too high up for us to be able to deal with and nobody was around to mention it to. A very minor point but something to think about if the thought of creepy crawlies terrifies you too.

Our bedroom was quite large, it had a double bed and a set of bunk beds, which weren't needed but were not a problem at all.

The room itself was clean and bright though we had a few problems with the door to the room and the whole room including the window, shuddered when we closed it.

Apart from being shushed by the annoying woman who was staying next door we had a very nice stay, the owners were friendly and pleasant and gave us a few tips on where to dine.

However whilst they offered the use of the kitchen and gave guests the use of tea and coffee facilities, allowed use of the AGA and had many boxes of cereal on display we argued between ourselves whether this lodge would be classed as a B&B, if anything we probably would call it a guest house with a few extra perks.

We did however really like it here and it was a very short walk into the town centre near all the bars and restaurants which was good as after a few drinks you really don't want to walk too far to fall into bed.

All in all a nice place with a great location and parking too! We had a nice stay and would probably come again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 4 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#3 of 4 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.3 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliftons
Cliftons
#4 of 20 in Truro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truro Lodge

Property: Truro Lodge
Address: 10 The Parade, Truro TR1 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade ll listed Georgian townhouse. A few minutes walk from City centre, close to shops restaurants and pubs. Parking available. Close to a river walk and Boscawen park. Small family run business, with homely atmosphere. Very close to Hall For Cornwall and Truro cathedral. Public services close by. Five minutes from bus station and fifteen minutes from Truro railway station. Enterprise boats just around the corner for a trip down the river Fal, to Falmouth and St Mawes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truro Lodge Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing