We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Cornwall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gravy Boesti

Gravy Boesti
Ranked #10 of 220 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$46
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hidden away just below the Crown Courts on Edward Street, Truro, in an unassuming stone terrace house lies Gravy Boesti Restaurant. You're welcomed into an intimate, stylish, contemporary venue which leads through to a tranquil, secluded courtyard.Enjoy the view as your food is prepared in our open plan kitchen metres from the comfort of your table. Watch as the talented team create eye catching, seasonal dishes and mouth watering desserts using the freshest locally sourced produce available.So sit back, relax, unwind and enjoy as life is all Gravy Baby!
Frogpool Truro
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Gravy is our top choice for a superb meal. There is always a friendly welcome and the service is outstanding. There is a wide choice of good British fare. The lunchtime menu has a lovely starter menu and my favourite is the Lemon and Ginger Crab Cakes, (recommended). Lunch menus are 2 course £15 and 3 course £20. The evening meals have a lovely selection of sea food, steaks and other choices. On my last visit I started with the soup which is always unusual, followed by the chicken dish (delicious)and local cheese and biscuits. Other favourites are fish of the day and the steaks. The prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frogpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    43
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

A huge thanks to the Gravy team for a superb dining experience tonight. The food was exquisite ... I had the monkfish with chickpea curry followed by the sirloin steak, ohh and the banana and peanut dessert. Each dish was beautifully proportioned, beautifully presented and tasted amazing. All the team / from the kp, waiting and cheffing staff were professional, passionate and above all - friendly, accessible and human!!! We sat on a table opposite the open kitchen which gave us a unique experience of how dishes were prepared and the workings of the team. Couldn't fault any of it. Massive thanks to all for a memorable eating experience - we will return :-)

Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked a meal to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary at Gravy. Quite simply exceptional in all respects. Menu, service, food quality all incredible.

It made the occasion extra special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Admittedly, I haven't tested all the restaurants in Truro, but nevertheless quite a few. This place most certainly merits its no 1 spot on Tripadvisor - it is simply perfect! Our table was not quite ready upon arrival, and we were offered our aperitifs and appetizers - a rare occurence in Truro! The whole experience was top notch. We were a party of six, including one guest in a wheelchair - no problems there: very smooth disabled access and amenities.

The food was fantastic and the service excellent - I will definitely return and look forward to my next visit - this restaurant will definitely be on the top of my list when dining in Truro.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornish2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were welcomed as per usual, very well. The food was up to fantastic standards. the service however was lacking this time. We arrived at 7.40pm, and finally had our starters just after 8.30. Though the food was fantastic, the service was so slow this time it began ruining the evening. We gave in and asked for our main meals eventually they arrived and we were not disappointed. The desserts again were lovely. We had coffees and the usual night caps. But after looking at out bills we found the whole evening very expensive for what service we received. Don't be fooled into drinking the fine wine and liqueurs and forget the service you should be receiving for the amount you are paying. We never once had any conversation with the chefs even though we were in the restaurant area and not exactly next to the prep area. Maybe a time for change. But overall a great meal but very expensive. We expect better and certainly quicker service for what we paid.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CornishJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gravy Boesti also viewed

 

Been to Gravy Boesti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing