We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!!!”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Alverton Manor on 21st April. I dont know where to start so am just going to do a brief overview!!! Staff were amazing,efficient and super friendly. The food was out of this world and so many of my guests have commented on how lovely it was. The building itself is stunning and has made for some fabulous wedding photos!!! Amy (wedding organiser).....she is truly amazing,such a lovely lovely lady. Massively helpful,never sick of the sight of me (I hope!!!) and there with us throughout the day every step of the way!!!!! I would rate this hotel at 1000% perfection for a wedding venue. You will not get anything any better (It would be impossible!!!) Thank you so much to everyone at The Alverton Manor. I had the dy of my dreams!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merriman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    202
    73
    37
    17
See reviews for
160
342
25
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
britain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have stayed at the Alverton Manor Hotel for week in April, for several years, and we do so because of its central location, its charm and character, the warmth of the hospitality, and the friendliness of the staff.
The hotel's dining room serves consistently good quality meals, though it must be said, the dinning room's standards have fallen a little, from its peak of two AA Red Rosettes of a few years ago. Breakfasts are excellent though, again, I would welcome a slightly better quality coffee at breakfast and the return of the home-made granola – itself worth the trip to Cornwall.
Decoratively tired though they may be, the hotel's rooms and the rooms' furnishings are a far cry from the run-of-the-mill chain hotel, and long may that last! If you like your hotels to be Marriott-bland, you probably won't enjoy the Alverton.
The hotel has only very recently changed hands and, so I understand, this is seen as a positive step by the senior members of staff.
This was a group booking, lead by Timothy Ray, a director of Adderley Travel Limited, operators of small group garden and other special interest tours, throughout the UK, for overseas visitors to Britain.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdderleyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here for business and it is clear that the Alverton Manor is a beautiful building. The staff make this place a good place to stay but the rooms themselves, although acceptable, need renovating. The bathroom was clean but tired and the room just felt, well, tired.
I would stay again though - the staff were fantastic and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raisonable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed at the Alverton Manor for a few nights. Whilst some of the decor may be a bit dated, it is very neat and tidy. This minor point is more than made up by the really friendly staff and the great food.
The staff told me that it's just changed ownership and the new owners are planning to invest quite a bit of money into it.
I used it as a base to explore Cornwall.......good decision!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The alverton looks pretty impressive from the outside and the reception area and entrance don't disappoint, however the rooms are somewhat tired. The beds are comfortable, but sheets, blankets and eiderdowns adorn the beds. The furniture is good quality but dated and used. Bathrooms are big although the hot water takes an age to start. There are notices eluding to this though so to a great problem.

The bar area is very comfortable and the restaurant efficient. The prices in the restaurant however, are really very high for the area and the portion sizes. Not a great deal of choice in town either but Falmouth has some fabulous restaurants.

The staff in this establishment quite clearly make your stay worthwhile. They are attentive, informed and very efficient. Nothing is too much trouble and this is quite rare these days. The hotel is under recent new management so it will be good to see what changes are made for a further review.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmillsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I had to make an unexpected visit to Cornwall. I tried various hotels and Alverton was the only one with rooms available. This of course did ring alarm bells. We only saw two staff and they were friendly. It seemed as though my husband and I were the only guests.A young chap appeared and carried a small bag upstairs for us which was was most unnecessary .The entrance was not very welcoming at all. Very dirty windows and garden needs attention. The building is extremely tired.On entrance a nasty coat rail with an assortment coat hangers.I decide to go for the expensive room as I was already expecting the worse. The furniture was in very bad taste. Horrid red fabric on small sofa and chairs. Lighting was not sufficient .Dreadful green carpet on bathroom floor, even ran up the side of the bath!!!! Never seen that before.The sheets were clean but the bed mattress was uncomfortable.they obviously think if they put a four poster bed in a room and hang some nasty mesh curtains on
the corners then its one of their special rooms. If your desperate for a room then perhaps you could do a night but if you have time to book then definitely this would not be the place. We couldn't be bothered to have breakfast there so found a nice restaurant. This hotel is way past it's sell by date.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noshup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here overnight at the end of a business trip. Our daughter was a bit daunted by the sheer size of her room as it was amazingly large. The rooms are great old places with wonderful windows. That said they are a little 'faded glory' with some quite out of date furnishings. Please no carpets in bathrooms! However, we love this overall as it makes a change from sterile chain hotels. Can't fault the staff or the service. Needs a bit of TLC all round and then it would be excellent!

Room Tip: ASk for one of the rooms in the old part - as long as you don't long for double glazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QueenieRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
19.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
579 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
409 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Property: The Alverton
Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing