We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A charming hotel in a beautiful setting. The building would probably benefit from having some money spent on it but this was more than compensated for by the wonderfully friendly and helpful staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean and very well equipped and the en-suite was almost as big as the average modern hotel bedroom. Breakfast was very good - cooked to perfection and the service was excellent. The menu had so many choices! We only stayed one night but we will definitely come again and stay for longer.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    203
    73
    37
    17
See reviews for
167
349
25
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,080 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were guests at a fine wedding here,the grounds when arriving are quite splendid but I should warn those with mobility problems that the walk down/up to and from the car park is steep.
Positive aspects are...
Wonderful great hall where the ceremony and Lunch was held
Fine old building with much of the old Convent details still in situ
Splendid gardens,ideal for photographs.

Negative....
The entrance area including reception are quite frankly dire.
Bar and public area is so poor they should be embarrassed
Staff,need some training,eg,my wife was served wine in a dirty glass,asked for another and received a withering look,when replaced the girl held the returned glass to the light and shook her head...not good enough.

This is going to be very good but needs a lot of money,training of staff and someone with a degree of taste to decorate in suitable fashion.
As we did not stay over I asked those that did about the rooms,all were pleased but stated the bedrooms were dated and again in need of some work.

Room Tip: Ask one or two of the others who have stayed here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

After a recent stay at the Alverton I have to say I loved it. It's very different to many hotels in the area but was a great experience. The staff were all very warm and welcoming and made my stay very enjoyable. The reception staff were very helpful on arrival and the service to my room was great. My room was lovely, bed was huge and had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was amazing, the only down side to my stay was I would have enjoyed a shower in the morning, but unfortunately there wasn't one available. Wonderful Hotel, great staff and very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Room 25 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have frequented this hotel on my many business trips to the city of Truro. I am not usually one for tripadvisor, hence my lack of activity prior to this review; however I felt due to the service I have received the Alverton Manor Hotel deserved a review.

Rooms:
The rooms have an outdated decor, however having spoken to the very helpful staff on reception, I am under the impression that they have refurbishments coming up. On the other hand, the outdated decor adds to the character of the hotel.

Staff:
All of the staff are very helpful, on entering the hotel, you are greeted with the smiling faces of reception. The porters always willing to go out of their way to help, and the waiting staff are always polite and on hand at all times.

Grounds:
The grounds are superb and can be viewed from most of the rooms of the hotel.

Location:
Just a five minute walk from the buzz of the city centre, ten minutes from the train station and twenty from Newquay airport, you couldn't ask for a better location.


I do hope this review has been helpful to prospective guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemmalouise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

The rooms are fantastic and the staff have always been wonderful, complements to the chef too as the food was excellent on all three occasions we have there.
It is a peaceful location in a city and I liked to look out on the gardens in the morning
Thank you Alverton

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splashdog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at the Alverton whilst in the area on business. Fist impressions were that the grounds are truly magnificent. An abundance of character meets you as you approach the sweeping driveway, very fairytale.

Staff 'Welcome' was a bit of a let down, as I approached reception I could hear the receptionist speaking very disrespectfully about the management. She did, however, manage a smile as she pleasantly booked me in.

Not quite sure what problems they may be having internally, but i did not let this put me off my stay and everything else failed to disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank illegally_blonde529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband and I had a 4 night stay so we had the ideal opportunity to get a real feel for the hotel and what it has to offer. The building is beautiful and has a character and charm that is missing from larger chain hotels. The grounds are very well kept and there is adequate parking. The staff are amazing and nothing was too much trouble no matter what the time of day. There is a calmness and efficiency about the place which is very relaxing and is undoubtably down to a well run and happy team of staff. All the reception staff were incredibly helpful, enthusiastic and friendly. The breakfast was a delight and catered for every conceivable taste and dietary need. My husband loves his breakfast and likes to 'stock up' for the day and was never disappointed. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff and all of our food was freshly cooked to order but without a long wait! Each morning I had perfectly poached eggs with my full English breakfast. The standard of the food was first class. Our quaint bedroom was very clean and full of character, bathrobes were included and we had free WiFi. Our room was cleaned and fresh towels etc provided daily. I have already recommended the hotel to my friends and we have booked ourselves in for the New Year celebrations. I sincerely have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a delightful stay!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms that overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
14.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
19.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,657 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Property: The Alverton
Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing