We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i expected”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The first impression was that the manor hotel is truly magnificent. It truly looked great from the exterior but as soon as you walk in you can feel how dated and tired the place actually is.
We were taken to our room and the smell of damp was unbearable and the green carpets on the floor looked very tired, as did the whole room. Also having a carpet on the bathroom floor isn't very pleasant or hygienic. You couldn't hang the shower head up and the water pressure was non-existent.
The positive side was the garden of the hotel which was stunning and the communal areas were not too bad, however our room was very tired, shabby and in serious need of a refurb.
We only stayed for 1 night so it wasn`tg too bad but I think it is a bit overpriced for what it is now.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellu38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

This is a very pleasant place to stay in Cornwall. I was a single traveller, and was given a good sized bedroom and bathroom. In my experience this is unusual. The staff were always helpful and friendly. They seemed to be taking a pride in their work, and pride in the hotel. Everywhere was kept beautifully clean by an army of hardworking cleaners. The food is of a high standard and the people serving in the dining room look after their guests well. The hotel is an old building, full of character. There is no lift - probably because this would be difficult to install. Some handrails on the stairways would be helpful for those with slight mobility problems. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WMM183G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My stay at the Alverton Manor was lovely. The staff are warm, friendly and helpful; and the room was spacious, well equipped and had a wonderfully comfortable bed big enough for three! It was nice to have information about the history of the manor provided in the rooms. It is very conveniently located for the centre of Truro, but also has a nice, quiet, secluded feel to the grounds. I am looking forward to staying at the hotel again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A charming hotel in a beautiful setting. The building would probably benefit from having some money spent on it but this was more than compensated for by the wonderfully friendly and helpful staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean and very well equipped and the en-suite was almost as big as the average modern hotel bedroom. Breakfast was very good - cooked to perfection and the service was excellent. The menu had so many choices! We only stayed one night but we will definitely come again and stay for longer.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We were guests at a fine wedding here,the grounds when arriving are quite splendid but I should warn those with mobility problems that the walk down/up to and from the car park is steep.
Positive aspects are...
Wonderful great hall where the ceremony and Lunch was held
Fine old building with much of the old Convent details still in situ
Splendid gardens,ideal for photographs.

Negative....
The entrance area including reception are quite frankly dire.
Bar and public area is so poor they should be embarrassed
Staff,need some training,eg,my wife was served wine in a dirty glass,asked for another and received a withering look,when replaced the girl held the returned glass to the light and shook her head...not good enough.

This is going to be very good but needs a lot of money,training of staff and someone with a degree of taste to decorate in suitable fashion.
As we did not stay over I asked those that did about the rooms,all were pleased but stated the bedrooms were dated and again in need of some work.

Room Tip: Ask one or two of the others who have stayed here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

After a recent stay at the Alverton I have to say I loved it. It's very different to many hotels in the area but was a great experience. The staff were all very warm and welcoming and made my stay very enjoyable. The reception staff were very helpful on arrival and the service to my room was great. My room was lovely, bed was huge and had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was amazing, the only down side to my stay was I would have enjoyed a shower in the morning, but unfortunately there wasn't one available. Wonderful Hotel, great staff and very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Room 25 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have frequented this hotel on my many business trips to the city of Truro. I am not usually one for tripadvisor, hence my lack of activity prior to this review; however I felt due to the service I have received the Alverton Manor Hotel deserved a review.

Rooms:
The rooms have an outdated decor, however having spoken to the very helpful staff on reception, I am under the impression that they have refurbishments coming up. On the other hand, the outdated decor adds to the character of the hotel.

Staff:
All of the staff are very helpful, on entering the hotel, you are greeted with the smiling faces of reception. The porters always willing to go out of their way to help, and the waiting staff are always polite and on hand at all times.

Grounds:
The grounds are superb and can be viewed from most of the rooms of the hotel.

Location:
Just a five minute walk from the buzz of the city centre, ten minutes from the train station and twenty from Newquay airport, you couldn't ask for a better location.


I do hope this review has been helpful to prospective guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jemmalouise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
458 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
608 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: £70 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing