We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Perfection”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
redruth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Perfection”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked a table for our sons birthday and were absolutely delighted. The staff were courteous and conscientious in all aspects, and keeping all in perfect running order was Rod (a true Cornish gentleman). The food and drink was superb, service impeccable and setting perfect. Can't praise the staff or location enough. Outstanding evening thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Happy Birthday to your son!

I have passed your comments regarding Rod directly to him. He was honoured to have received such lovely praise. We are very lucky to have him on board as our new restaurant manager at The Alverton.

We hope to see you again soon.

Laura & The Alverton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    196
    69
    35
    17
See reviews for
154
333
24
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute change of plan on our tour of Cornwall , nothing could of prepared us for what we were to experience over the next few days , the location , the interior decor , the service, the room all left us speechless , the staff all have so much enthusiasm for the alverton and this really shines through in every aspect , we ended up eating at the restaurant the whole of our visit the food is so good , the rooms are spotless , and the setting is just beautiful , I really did not want to leave , without a doubt the best hotel I've ever stayed in

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dentmender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Your wonderful review has put a smile on the face of everyone at The Alverton. Thank you so much for your kind words. We are incredibly lucky to have Paul Stephens here as our new Head Chef. He was responsible for putting the delicious menu together. The menu does change seasonally so if you visit Cornwall again be sure to stop by and try something new!

Many Thanks,
Laura & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Where do I start. The most visually beautiful hotels I have ever seen. The building itself is stunning and the interior is a beautiful mix of old and new. The interior design is stunning, a sumptuous mix of colour with a fabulous collection of interesting pieces gives you an interesting view from wherever your seated.
Our room, the Grande Suite was fabulous, it's huge dimensions, stunning en suite bathroom and sleigh bed were the best we have ever seen.
The food was exceptional, so good we dined in the restaurant on both evenings of our stay.
Lastly the staff.... Wow what a friendly, happy and eager to please group they were. Nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail was exceptional.
We will be returing here again and again, if your looking for luxury and complete joy book yourself a room here.
Thank you to the whole team for making the 2 nights we stayed 2 of the most special we have had.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Huge Congratulations on your wedding, from the whole team at The Alverton! We hope to welcome you back next year when you are celebrating your first anniversary.

Good Luck!
Laura Stanworth

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A business trip to the City of Truro was greatly helped by the warm welcome and great service we experienced at The Alverton. Food, Bar excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Great to meet contacts in the obviously recently renovated hotel and grounds. All in all a fantastic experience and one we very much hope to repeat on a regular basis. Cannot praise it highly enough for the business travaller.

Simon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We hired the Alverton today for a naming ceremony for our two boys. It was not a big affair, with less than 20 people in attendance - small and intimate is just what we wanted.

I literally can not give the Alverton staff enough praise for what they did. From the first time that we went there to book the place, throughout the process to today they have been helpful, supportive - nothing was too much trouble.

The best example I can give is that one of the staff noticed that we were taking photographs and they came out to help us so that no one was left out of the pictures! They really were incredibly helpful and provided us with scissors, blu-tak and helped us to get the room ready. It was all laid out exactly how we asked.

Genuinely, I can't praise this place highly enough. Fab fab fab!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Some of the reviewers have commented on price here. Let's be honest, it's the Alverton which (even if others don't) sees itself and positions itself as a top end hotel and restaurant in Truro. I think if you go there in this knowledge the price you pay will reflect this and not come as a surprise. I think a fair thing to say is it is priced in accordance with their positioning in the market!

Post refurbishment I can say that I found it clean, modernised in layout and style, and a nice tranquil and enjoyable place to have a meal. Initially we sat outside on the terrace in the sun and then went inside to what was the old library for dessert and coffee.

It seems to have struck that informal Brasserie style quite well. The staff are attentive but not overly so and a couple in particular were happy to chat and be more outgoing with us. The food was excellent with some nice Tapas style choices. Well cooked and tasted great, the odd one being one all too quickly. The chocolate taster desert platter was amazing with some fighting occurring over who got the last spoonful of a couple of them.

Pricewise, it is what it is but this is the sort of place you go for an occasion or a treat now and again not a regular haunt.

In fairness to the Alverton I think they got it about right and hit the nail on what they were trying to achieve. It was a very enjoyable meal and I will definitely be returning again for another.

Room Tip: If you are staying over, ask to see a four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fromredtogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Lovely drinks and gorgeous terrace to enjoy an evening cocktil (a real treat!) Great service and location is perfect-away from the hussle and bussle of town! Classy decor and stunning grounds. A great place to meet friends or for a busness meeting-I am looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
19.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,080 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
403 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Property: The Alverton
Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing