We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected return ”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Unexpected overstay so straight back to the Alverton , this time we stayed in room five , a lovely room, it is close to the kitchen facing the rear, not a bad view , but in staying that the staff sound happy in there work and we never found it a issue, you could always close the window ,and all quiet by 23:00 , the food once again was beautiful and the staff very helpful , Rod the restraunt manager is a lovely fella and has as great character , as do the rest of the team , the building is beautiful and the modern fixtures and fittings are well placed , we will definitely be back , keep up the good work .

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank darcy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Fabulous time at the Alverton last night.The champagne was chilled and effervescent.the food excellent,service friendly and warm.we have been before, enjoyed it so much , and this time did not disappoint. Ate at the Savoy last week and this was just as good.we can't wait to go back.Definitely value for money .Well done to all the staff!

Room Tip: We did not stay do not relevant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggiemajesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night but found it a Lovely place , clean room , friendly attentive staff in the restraunt , beautiful building to match , would recomend a stay , food was lovely and hand cooked chips to die for %)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank darcy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel looks recently refurbished and the room looked good -when I could find the light switches! The plumbing from the room above was noisy gurgling right by my head. Dinner was average and breakfast was laughable with 3 strips of chargrilled bacon and tomato ketchup. I'd recommend Mannings over this every time.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We went to the Alverton for a dinner function organised by a local business for about 100 people.
We arrived early and found the staff in the bar brasserie area pleasant and efficient. I began to have doubts when I paid £14.40 for a scotch and a very small glass of very flat champagne. I think the bottle had been open for several days.
The Alverton has recently been renovated, and to be fair in has been done well, so the downstairs function room was charming. It was 'canteen' style buffet service for the food, a salmon dish or braised steak or a vegetarian dish. However by the time they had managed to serve half the guests, the beef had run out and that was that. When I inquired whether there was more beef coming I was given an incredulous look and told of course not! The vegetables were an overcooked, grey watery mess. Then there was the salt and pepper. there was none on the table. After a saga that lasted half an hour and six requests made to various waiters and waitresses, some finally materialised. My wife then went to the bar to order some more wine. She was told that getting a wine list was far too much trouble and she should go to the upstairs bar. She pointed out that actually she was the guest and they were bar staff and perhaps that is what they were there to do. The wine list finally arrived and she ordered a bottle of average fleurie that you can buy in any supermarket for between £6 - £8 a bottle. To her astonishment she was charged £30, a 500% mark up! Then there was desert. My wife asked for a fruit salad and was told the bowls to put in had run out. Why they did not go upstairs and get some more is anybodies guess. Anyway the fruit salad was sloppedonto a side dish with the juice running everywhere including onto my wife's silk dress.
The company whose event this was will have paid a lot of money and they really did deserve much better service and value, and at the very least the food not running out and sufficient plates and condiments.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcus_Clark_Lamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We recently enjoyed a meal at The Alverton to celebrate my mother in law's 87th birthday. We were made welcome as we arrived and sat at a lovely table by a window. The food was excellent, very good choice and presented well. I had sirloin steak and asked for it to be medium rare. I was pleased that it was cooked correctly and not over done as so often happens in restaurants. The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced and a glass bottle of water was automatically put on the table. Staff were efficient and friendly and helped to make our evening very pleasant. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GizmoPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAlverton, Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Many thanks for choosing The Alverton for your celebration and taking the time to give us your feedback. We will make sure the brasserie team receive your positive comments thank-you and hope to welcome you again in the future!

Best Wishes
The Alverton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have stayed here before for the odd night on business but this was our first time on a leisure break.
The package included bed & breakfast each day and an afternoon cream tea. The centre of Truro is within walking distance from the Hotel and is ideally located to explore the beaches and attractions of Cornwall by car.
The hotel has some character about it where modern meets traditional. If you go to a Holiday Inn for example, whether you're in London or cornwall they are all the same. Not so this Hotel.
Our room was very clean with tea & coffee making facilities, comfortable bed with a modern bathroom.
We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar and then dinner in the Hotel restaurant on the 1st night.The food was very good at a reasonable price.
The following day we took afternoon tea outside on the patio area, it was a sunny day, so what no better way to enjoy it than by having afternoon tea with real Cornish cream..
Found all the staff to be excellent and very freindly. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchaser40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAlverton, Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank-you very much for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We were very keen to retain the hotel's history and character as well as breathing new life into it with modern touches with the refurbishments. So naturally we are very pleased you liked our new look and really appreciate your feedback.

Best wishes
The Alverton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
457 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,611 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
599 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: £82 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing