We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“XMAS PACKAGE”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Having spent the Xmas break at the Alverton we found the accommodation was good and the staff friendly but the food left a lot to be desired. Xmas Eve dinner was satisfactory but things deteriorated from there. Xmas Day lunch - we had a choice of turkey or beef - we chose the turkey which turned out to be a parcel of limp grey meat with very little flavour. The tables around us were being cleared before we had even had our dessert, and we had to ask 3 times for the coffe to be served. Boxing Day dinner menu stated Roast Beef, we assumed would be freshly cooked - but no it was obvioulsy yesterday's beef & veg served up again - the roast potatoes were rock hard. Cannot remember the name of the dessert but it was Xmas pudding with a dollop of merginue on the top.

We did not eat the haddock served at breakfast on the 27th because it was very strong in flavour!

Would not recommend the Alverton's Xmas package & we will certainly not be going back again.

Also we have written to the General Manager twice now & have not even had the courtesy of a reply, which says a lot for a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for The Alverton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for one night and were impressed with everything. The room was fantastic, lots of space and everything you need. We stayed last year and my only criticism was no full-length mirror and this time there was one. Loved the space, cleanliness, breakfast, everything and we think the building is just wonderful but their best asset must be the staff - really friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Had our awards ceremony in this beautiful hotel today, with afternoon tea. Nothing too much trouble for lovely staff, and tea delicious. The hotel had a small fire two days ago in the room we had planned but they pulled out all the stops to find us an equally nice room so we could still go ahead.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Field_tripCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had our wedding at the Alverton in october. Our wedding co-ordinator was originally Kate- she did an amazing job helping with the planning of the day. Unfortunately partly through the planning Kate left and Nikki took over. I was a little concerned things might get lost in translation or not as I had requested. However ~I was very wrong. Nikki ensured that every detail was perfect. On the morning of the wedding we were treated like royalty with drinks and food delivered to our room. The staff couldn't do enough. Nikki was fab and helped keep me and my nearly husband calm :)
The actually ceremony was beautiful- the great hall is a very dramatic back drop and made for amazing pictures. We then moved to the bar and Terrace. Luckily the sun was shining and everyone enjoyed the outdoor space. Again the staff were amazing even giving my son some fish food to feed them in their pond. He talks about this a lot even now :)
The staff did an amazing job turning around the room ready for our wedding breakfast, The food and waiting staff were faultless. Nothing was to much. Everyone commented on how lovely the food was. Nikki had everything running like clock work. Was perfect
Again we went to the bar when the room was turned around for the evening do. Looked incredible, lots of attention to detail and everything done as i had tried to describe but better.
Overall the day was outstanding, this is thanks to Nikki. She is a true asset to the Alverton and they are extremely lucky to have her as part of their team! Thank you very much for the perfect day!

A very happy MR and MRS x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxineHider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I chose The Alverton because it's a grand venue and it's in a great central location for access throughout Cornwall. The staff are very friendly, helpful and organised. The night ran smoothly, the buffet was delicious and was served exactly on time. Our extra requests were no problem and the room itself - The Great Hall - was stunning. Would definitely use this venue again with no hesitation. Thanks to all the staff especially Larissa who was a pleasure to deal with!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband booked our wedding at The alverton after having problems with our previous venue. Right from the first meeting everything was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and every tiny detail was attended to. When it came to the weekend of our wedding, we had booked the majority of the hotel for our wedding party. Everyone was pleased with their rooms and had no issues at all. On the day of the wedding, the day went without a hitch. Nikki (the wedding co-ordinator) was fantastic and her team were absolutely perfect. Everyone commented on the high standard of the venue and service and the food was delicious. It is a perfect setting for a wedding and the staff make sure that your special day is one to remember - all for good reasons. We could not fault anything. Thank you for making our wedding day so wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydiaWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We loved the beautiful building and architecture, inside and out, plus the scenic well-kept grounds too. We had a very spacious room that was very clean and well presented. Decent food and drink selections at the bar and restaurant and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Would recommend The Alverton to anyone.

Room Tip: Due to the grade 2 building there is no lift so ask if you have a problem with stairs
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COUPLENewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
14.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
1.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
445 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,162 reviews
19.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: £84 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing