We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION, OUTSTANDING FEATURES, AND EXCELLENT FOOD.”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“PERFECTION, OUTSTANDING FEATURES, AND EXCELLENT FOOD.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to a wedding on Saturday 24th may, absolutely stunning, the manor has outstanding period features, The bedrooms are massive, stunning views, big window seats to admire the view. The food was first class, so beautifully displayed, the quality of the food was superb. I cant find any faults, even the toilets have a chaise lounge, every detail is a dream, any function would be remembered by everyone, ive been going on and on about the wedding day there, it just couldn't have been better, the staff kind friendly helpful, just the best.
jacky malone

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens, this was once a nuns retreat, it has beautifull little tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    205
    74
    37
    17
See reviews for
168
349
25
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illogan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My sister recently held her wedding breakfast/reception at the hotel and I was really impressed with the venue. The grand hall was beautiful and the grounds were gorgeous. The food was really tasty and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed at the hotel that evening and the rooms were lovely, a huge bed and the decoration had the right mix of modern and vintage. The breakfast in the morning is one of the best I've had a hotel. The rooms were also reasonable value. Would definitely recommend it as both a wedding venue and a place to stay!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sgreenslade09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Alverton, Truro. Built around 1880, this property was a convent, since turned into a country homestead. Set in pleasant wooded land, you take a step back into the past with attractive stone walls, towers and turrets. We receive a friendly welcome from Jasmine at reception, and in fact drop our bags off early. We come in past the Great Hall - this is obviously a castle! Access to our first floor room is via a suitably hidden and mysterious narrow staircase. The room is large and comfortable with ample lighting and power points, TV, tea and coffee making, wardrobe, desk, easy chair, and large bed. There is free wifi. The walls and ceiling are not completely sound proof, but in fact this causes no problem for us and we have an excellent night's sleep. This room does have a problem with a banging door though ... . The adjoining en suite is enormous with white tiling floor to ceiling, large basin, separate shower, giant sized bath, WC, and one of those strange basins for washing your feet - no I'm kidding about the feet! Plenty of hot water in the shower. We have breakfast downstairs in the lovely large breakfast room - all in grand style - with a fine range of buffet choices and good cooked mains to follow. I do wonder whether there was a missed opportunity with the bedroom: given the castle-like setting, perhaps the rooms might be themed? Something of the castle? the convent? Olde England? a coat of arms? Nothing expensive - just a bit of creativity! This is a lovely place to stay, and quite handy to the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Enjoyed a 1 night stay at the Alverton to attend a function and really could not fault any part of it. The bedroom had been tastefully modernized but still retain the character and original features of the building which is fantastic

Had a very nice freshly cooked breakfast before departure in the Restaurant which is very pleasant

Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel, its location is perfect for visiting Truro and Cornwall as a whole

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornish-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Had an overnight stay here on May 22 and had a comfortable stay. The hotel has a lovely outer look to it and is equally attractive inside. The receptionist who booked us in was polite, cheerful, and attentive. I had the ravioli with garlic bread as a room service dinner (I was kindly accommodated despite phoning down just after the restaurant had closed) and the meal was superbly presented and tasty. Equally breakfast the next morning was lovely with me enjoying some cereal and kippers to follow. I did enjoy a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed and the en suite bathroom was well equipped although the bath was not quite long enough and I am an average Joe at 5 foot 9. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel hitch catered brilliantly for my needs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zonderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A Big thankyou to the Alverton and their staff, in particular conference organiser Larissa Geach who hosted a superb conference for us in May! Seamless, fantastic food, the setting of the great hall and unlimited help from a team that could not do enough to make sure our event ran smoothly.
Thanks so much and see you again next year!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I spent one night here on business and it was spot on in every way. The check in was seamless and only took moments, the room was lovely and the hotel environment all I could ask for. Location is great to as it was only an easy 5 minute walk into the town, and all it had to offer. If only I had the time to look around.
The staff were lovely and I could tell everyone was made to feel important.
If you love hotels with a bit of character, great gardens and good service this is one not to miss.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sues2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
14.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
19.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Property: The Alverton
Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing