We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alverton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Hotel(Rosevine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nare(Veryan in Roseland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rosevine(Rosevine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (989)
Filter reviews
989 results
Traveller rating
616
232
82
40
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
232
82
40
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalverton manorbeautiful hotelwedding plannercourtyard roombridal suitescallopsrestaurant managermain buildingfour poster bedold buildingwine listlovely groundswaiting staffcity centrestayed for one nightno lifthigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
741 - 746 of 989 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Lots of lovely features, fantastic dinner, very friendly staff, very nice room and the most comfy bed ever, what more could you want. Also within easy walking distance of truro centre. Nice seating area in the room, (room 30). The great hall was set up for a wedding and looked so beautiful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building, very special inside the 'great hall'!
Lovely staff at the bar very friendly and professional! The terrace outside is lovely! Very quiet staff at reception lacking welcome and conversation. (First impressions count)

Rooms were stunning, very clean and comfortable, lovely brick work but lacked light only lamps no main light. A woman's worst nightmare when trying to put her make up on for an evening out. Couldn't shut the blinds in the bathroom either, needs instructions. My partner loved the big power shower!

Loved the fact the key to the room was a proper key rather than a card, a really nice touch however quite fiddley as we didn't realise it automatically locks when you shut the door behind you, we were trying to lock it so maybe a little heads up at reception.

Nice breakfast with American pancakes!


Over all a very enjoyable stay, thank you!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LCFal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Alverton with a work colleague on a business trip.

We arrived and were very warmly welcomed by pleasant staff. We visited the restaurant for a late evening dinner, which was delicious.

The room was beauitful, very clean and lovely comfortable beds. We stayed in a twin room (room 15) which was well laid out with lovely views of a garden.

We had to start work at 6am so had to get up very early. , the night porter brought us a continental breakfast at 5am, which got us started and was well appreciated. (Thankyou).

All in all a great stay. Would highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank vejewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stayed for one night in April. We had a lovely suite with four poster bed and well appointed bathroom. Bed wasn't the most comfortable I have slept in but it was ok. This hotel really stands out for it's food and service. The staff were all fairly young but they were extremely professional, helpful and appropriately attentive. The food was excellent - tasty and well presented. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and the only downside for us was that being fairly close to the city centre, there was a bit of traffic noise and some building work going on across the way that was a bit noisy in the morning. However this didn't detract from our wonderful stay here. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellepjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed two nights in May when we had that spell of hot weather, we arrived Tuesday afternoon and was met by a most pleasant receptionist who provided us and the with access to a disabled parking space directly outside the main entrance and then arranged for Tom to take our cases to our room which was tortuous journey up a very narrow stair case, which Tom apologised for and said he should have brought us the maid stair case. Unfortunately, though The Alverton had undergone major refurbishment the lift was broken down We had a pleasant standard room with double bed, a antique looking wardrobe, free standing full dress mirror. The bathroom was fully upgraded with freestanding shower, bath, sink with loads of hot water, W.C and a bidet.
The breakfast had a variety of cereals, fruit , fruit juice and a selection of cooked food including a very nice full English with black and hogs pudding.
We Han snacks lunchtime and I had muscles (from the starter menu as a main course) with Devon & Cornwall cheese board. For desert. My wife had Hake with chunky chips and cheesecake. The following evening we both had beef steaks hung for 21 days and finished with sorbet & ice cream.all meals were excellent, a good wine list and for me nonalcoholic beer is a bonus.
There is a wonderful wedding venue and the hotel is in a picturesque location.
I took some photos around and in the hotel but there doe not appear to be any way I can down load then.t

Room Tip: Avoid room 10 it's very noisy at night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigdeecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews