We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Alverton for a wedding and had a lovely for 2 nights.
Everything about the Manor is superb, especially the staff who were so helpful.
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Food was amazing and the breakfast kept us full all day.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a twin and was so quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    202
    73
    37
    17
See reviews for
160
342
25
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited the Alverton last saturday for cocktails, absolutely brilliant service and cocktails made by Sam, will definitely be returning!!! The atmosphere was excellent, all very clean and lovely, can't express how efficient and skilled Sam was, thoroughly impressed and highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked a room the night before travelling and was offered a good rate for a double room. I of course appreciate that I received the least best double room but no one explained to me that it overlooked the bins(staff threw bottles into them about 11.30pm) or that it was over the kitchen and I would be woken up at 7am on a Sunday morning by very loud dance music. The staff were very nice and brought an iron up to my room but I was surprised that there was no bottled water in the room, no cotton wool in the bathroom and that the bathroom was not properly clean along with thick dust on the bedside lamps. At breakfast I asked for salmon and scrambled eggs - the size of the portion was literally a dessertspoon of egg and a two inch square piece of salmon - not what I was expecting, or, have received in other 4 star hotels. Once again - very nice staff but I am supposed to be booking in 15 of my family for a wedding in Truro next Easter and currently deciding what to do for the best.

Room Tip: Do not take room 5 in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Lots of lovely features, fantastic dinner, very friendly staff, very nice room and the most comfy bed ever, what more could you want. Also within easy walking distance of truro centre. Nice seating area in the room, (room 30). The great hall was set up for a wedding and looked so beautiful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building, very special inside the 'great hall'!
Lovely staff at the bar very friendly and professional! The terrace outside is lovely! Very quiet staff at reception lacking welcome and conversation. (First impressions count)

Rooms were stunning, very clean and comfortable, lovely brick work but lacked light only lamps no main light. A woman's worst nightmare when trying to put her make up on for an evening out. Couldn't shut the blinds in the bathroom either, needs instructions. My partner loved the big power shower!

Loved the fact the key to the room was a proper key rather than a card, a really nice touch however quite fiddley as we didn't realise it automatically locks when you shut the door behind you, we were trying to lock it so maybe a little heads up at reception.

Nice breakfast with American pancakes!


Over all a very enjoyable stay, thank you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Alverton with a work colleague on a business trip.

We arrived and were very warmly welcomed by pleasant staff. We visited the restaurant for a late evening dinner, which was delicious.

The room was beauitful, very clean and lovely comfortable beds. We stayed in a twin room (room 15) which was well laid out with lovely views of a garden.

We had to start work at 6am so had to get up very early. , the night porter brought us a continental breakfast at 5am, which got us started and was well appreciated. (Thankyou).

All in all a great stay. Would highly recommend a visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stayed for one night in April. We had a lovely suite with four poster bed and well appointed bathroom. Bed wasn't the most comfortable I have slept in but it was ok. This hotel really stands out for it's food and service. The staff were all fairly young but they were extremely professional, helpful and appropriately attentive. The food was excellent - tasty and well presented. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and the only downside for us was that being fairly close to the city centre, there was a bit of traffic noise and some building work going on across the way that was a bit noisy in the morning. However this didn't detract from our wonderful stay here. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
19.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
579 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
409 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Alverton

Property: The Alverton
Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing