We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alverton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Hotel(Rosevine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nare(Veryan in Roseland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rosevine(Rosevine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
615
232
82
40
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
232
82
40
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalverton manorbeautiful hotelwedding plannercourtyard roombridal suitescallopsrestaurant managermain buildingfour poster bedold buildingwine listlovely groundswaiting staffcity centrestayed for one nightno lifthigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
709 - 714 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

As well staying at the Alverton for 2 nights, which was a great stay, comfortable beds, great choice for breakfast but we also got married at the Alverton.
We got married on the 27th July and our wedding was amazing, Nikki our wedding planner thought of everything. Through the planning stage of the wedding she went though everything with us in detail, was happy to change things and to alter things to make our day perfect. On the day nothing was too small for Nikki to think of or do for us, she made the whole wedding go off without any problems which made the day stress free and more enjoyable for us.
The venue is amazing, the great hall stunning and everything at our wedding was perfect.
We want to say thank you to all the staff at the Alverton who were all nice and helpful and couldn't do enough for us and a huge thank you to Nikki for everything she did for us.
I highly recommend The Alverton for both a stay and a wedding venue and we will be visiting again on trips to Cornwall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zarwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you want a venue for a special occasion then this is the place to do it. We had our engagement dinner here and we could not fault it in any way. The staff are on the ball. The good is out of this world and hotel is just simply beautiful. We will be getting married here in July 2016. I actually booked our wedding here before having our engagement dinner because of its fantastic reputation. They catered for 35 of us and made my guest feel important. I can't recommend The Alverton Manif enough. Larissa and Claire specified to all our needs. Nicky will be helping me with our wedding and she too is a confident member of their staff. Very excited to be having our wedding there. The grounds are breathtaking and simply the whole experience and place is if excellent taste. Thank you once again to the staff for making our evening perfect x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On July 26th 2014 I married my first love at this truly amazing venue. Our wedding planner Nikki Collins was just brilliant! She reassured us, kept in close contact with us, was always there on hand to answer any queries, made changes without it being an issue, went above and beyond her duties so was more like a friend ensuring that our special day was truly special.
My husband has nicknamed her 'our miracle worker' which is very true. The venue is a must for any wedding but also any function that is needed. It has the history, the grounds, the food but above all dedicated staff who are an asset to the hotel. Family and friends are to this day still talking about our wedding day which boasted quality in all areas that you could wish for.
It should be voted wedding venue of the year and Nikki wedding co ordinator of the year.
For anyone considering this venue for their wedding or to stay then do not hesitate as you will not be disappointed at all. We look forward to visiting again to have lunch and to stay over again on our wedding anniversary.
So a massive thank you to The Alverton, the staff but to you Nikki Collins, our miracle worker for being part our wedding day and for being such a lovely person who helped us have the most amazing day ever.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank fabmum45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We got a deal on LateRooms so stayed on a Friday night for £125 including breakfast (for two of us) - given it's peak season we didn't think this was bad at all (also there was a wedding going on but we didn't notice any increase in noise). The building itself is beautiful and the location perfect to get to both the south and north coast and a short walk (albeit uphill on the way back) into Truro. Check in was very quick and easy and there was a decent amount of free parking. We stayed in room 20 on the ground floor which had obviously been done up fairly recently. The room itself was lovely, very big with original windows and features but the bathroom was AMAZING. Absolutely huge with a massive shower, bath and really nicely done. I could have spent our whole stay just in the bathroom it was that nice. Breakfast was really nice too - a fantastic selection and all cooked perfectly by very well spoken, and attentive staff. We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I along with our little Jack Russell stayed in room 22 of the Alverton for a long weekend in August, the room was very spacious, the Bathroom alone is bigger than some rooms we have stayed in ! decent size bath and excellent power shower. Lovely large comfortable bed, loads of wardrobe space and a fine view across the terrace dining patio and garden.
Once in the grounds it appears you are miles from anywhere but in reality it is a 5 - 10 minute walk to the Cathedral and city centre ! Truro is a fantastic base as pretty much all of Cornwall is easily accessible from here. The staff were top notch and could not do enough for us and were very friendly to our little dog too. Breakfast was a real yummy treat, excellent full English and lovely Omelettes along with the usual Continental offerings, me being awkward, I asked for a Omelette with a rasher of crispy bacon on top, no problem sir ! . I asked for more milk portions at reception and was given a jug of fresh milk, it`s little things like this that really enhance the stay. One evening we had dinner in the Hotel and once again we could not fault it.
One thing to bear in mind is the fact that this ex Manor house and Nunnery is nearly 200 years old and there is no lift so if stairs are a problem make sure you go for a ground floor room. We left feeling fully refreshed hopeful of a prompt return to this delightful Hotel and have recommended the Alverton to many of our friends already.

Room Tip: Room 22 was perfect but I expect they all are !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveandPam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews