We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Grand Day Out”
Review of Skinner's Brewery

Skinner's Brewery
Ranked #6 of 41 things to do in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another Grand Day Out”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked the Brewery Tour for 1430hrs or 2.30 pm on 15/07/14 . we arrived early at 1350hrs , and met by one of the staff . We were offered a coffee or a beer as soon as we were in reception and some one came to see if we needed anything every 5 or 10 mins .A Chap called Bob introduced himself and we were off on a very informative Tour . The Owner was on another part of the site but the M D came and said Hello ,it was like one big Family , nearly everything needed for the brew was sourced localy . Bob our tour guide answered all our questions in plain English . We finished our tour in the Bar where we were offered more than we needed to drink and the ALE WAS PERFECT as was the Lager . At no time did anyone say You'v had enough .We finished the Tour in the shop where you could boy anything from a pint to 36pint's of different beer's all made by . Even though we have seen all this Brewer has to see , we will still go again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garry Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    20
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As soon as we arrived we felt welcome! Sat in the bar and watched a short 10 minute DVD of the skinners brewery through the years, had our first drink which we weren't rushed at all and were left to drink our drinks once we were all done we had a tour around the brewery great insight on the brewery! The guy that did the tour was able to answer most of our questions and if he wasn't able to answer one he would get one of his other employees who was than happy to help, didn't feel like the tour was rushed even though they had a large party of people coming in just under two hours after us, once back in the bar we were to try a good select of ales!The shop is a little on the small side but as a brilliant selection of everything you could possible want! Tour does cost I believe it's £8.00 each but it was well worth it and every member of staff seem happy to work there! Great atmosphere, wouldn't rule out the tour again again and again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Booie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We took a mid-week tour at skinners, and I must say we had a great time! Bob our tour guide was funny and informative,it starting with a free pint and video. We then went a walk round the (admittedly small) brewery, talked to members of staff and even saw beer being brewed. Not something you actually get to see very often in my experience! Another couple of pints or so in the bar, and then some cheap bottles to take home! Definitely worth a go if you like beer, and good value for an afternoon out. Just make sure you arnt driving home!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Betty Stogs is the dogs!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a brewery where you can have a p#'s up! They actually encourage it. There used to be an "all-you-can-drink" limit but due to licensing changes, it's now a max of 7 pints before they throw you out. Our barmaid was serving Betty Stogs Cornish Bitter and she was from the Ukraine; and as slim as Betty Stogs is wide! They also serve up Cornish pasties to go with the beer. The walls are covered in photos of past parties of soldiers, rugby players and cricket teams from all over the UK and Europe, so it seems to be well-known. But it's a great night out and well worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TallScotsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxed and interesting tour”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A small, family brewery which produces great beer. The mid-week tour was just the 3 of us, we were all offered a drink from the bar and were shown a short video about the brewery before we started out and then our guide showed us around. The processes were explained as we went round as well as being introduced to some of the staff working on various sections. The brewery itself is pretty small compared to some others we've visited so the tour doesn't take too long, but it was interesting.

Concluding back in the bar for another sample and a chance to chat further with our guide as well as the other staff as they pass through to a very well used tea machine. Exit through the gift shop for a selection of Skinner's and local cornish products. You also have the opportunity to get a mixed case of 12 of their bottled beers for a very reasonable price, we called in a week later to pick up a second case to take home. All in all a nice relaxing afternoon out, particularly for a grey or rainy day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lexy1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skinner's Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Skinner's Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing