We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Styled on the Premier Inn model.”
Review of The County Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Arms
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Styled on the Premier Inn model.”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This place was chosen for an overnight visit, and was fine for that. I'd quite happily stay here for a mini-break too. The price was very reasonable when I visited (below Premier Inn prices), but I see it is now more expensive than the price I paid. Much as I enjoyed it, I wouldn't pay much more than I would to stay at a Premier Inn, which this hotel felt rather like (albeit one of the better Premier Inns). However, at the same price, I would happily stay here again and it would be my first choice in Truro.

PROS: Clean, neatly-decorated, large bedroom with plenty of room to swing an elephant. Incredibly comfortable bed. Very clean and pleasant bathroom. Fast, free wi-fi. Keenly priced (when I visited). Excellent sound-proofing in room. Efficient air conditioning and heating. Eco-friendly hotel which gathers water for flushing the loo from the roof. Spacious, free car parking. New hotel, and all very pleasant.

NEUTRAL: 15 minutes' walk into the city centre, and all uphill on the return journey.

CONS: Nobody at reception when I arrived, and no sign saying when they would return. After 10 minutes' wait, I had to go off to search for somebody. Attached pub/restaurant is keenly priced for food (though more expensive for drinks), serves very large portions, but the quality of food isn't good and, after a poor evening meal, I decided not to try breakfast. The pub was surprisingly full, though; I guess a lot of people like to fill up on cheap food even if the quality isn't good.

SUMMARY: Great place to stay for a comfortable night's sleep in pleasant surroundings. Probably best to go into the city to eat, though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    162
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
88
160
17
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Have just stayed in the County Arms for the 2nd time in 6 months. It's a lovely hotel, very fresh, clean and well appointed rooms. The staff are all very helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Truro is also well located for travelling to the more scenic tourist areas. Breakfast is OK, all cooked fresh to order but more economical to have breakfast at the nearby Sainsbury's. I can see us returning to the hotel time and time again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie0353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

At just over £40 per night for a double room this was excellent value for money. The rooms still have a new feel to them and are larger than you would expect in a budget hotel. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant, which gets busy, was pretty standard grill fare. My wife had the special 3-fish, which was disappointing, whereas my sirloin steak was OK. The bus stop is just outside the hotel with a 10' service into the City. We would definitely stay here again, and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here from 2 - 6 March with 2 other couples. Standard Double Room was clean and had everything you would need. Bed very comfortable - quite soft. Shower was great. Power shower, nice big cubicle and no fiddling about trying to work out how it works.Nice modern decor. Bar and restaurant very popular. Nice food, but we did feel that the drinks were quite pricey. We went to Sainsbury's just down the road for breakfast which was lovely and good value for money. Staff at hotel very friendly and helpful. Would recommend and would definitely stay again. The only niggle for me as with most hotels is the lighting in the room and bathroom is no good for applying make up, but that is just so minor and wouldn't worry most people I am sure!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed in a double standard room in the County Arms and found the standard of accomodation to be excellent for the price. All fairly new, comfortable beds and very clean. Only a shower in the standard room but again a very high standard of cleanliness.Reception extremely helpful and efficient. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: A standard room doesnt have the amazing views of Truro countryside, would probably pay extra next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at the County Arms in a twin room in February 2012. We were looking for a cheap but cheerful place to rest our heads after a day of house hunting in the area. The County Arms was an excellent choice and we really enjoyed our (one night) stay.
The room was very large, spotless and with a new and sparking clean bathroom. We had a flatscreen TV, plenty of tea and coffee making facilities and comfortable beds.
The rooms were quiet too which was a bonus, especially as the hotel is joined to a pub. There was a little noise outside but I think if you had closed the window this would not have been noticeable and it certainly wasn't enough to disturb you substantially anyway.
The only criticism I have is linked to that - the air con wouldn't go below 21 degrees which was too warm for us. To be fair we didn't bother complaining as it wasn't a big deal so it might have been easily correctable.
We also ate in the pub/restaurant in the evening. The food was very standard pub fare but big portions and extremely cheap. I recommend the fish and chips! It was very busy as we stayed on a Saturday night so booking might be recommendable.
Also, the receptionist was friendly and very efficient which makes a change from too many other places I have stayed in!
Overall - would highly recommend for business or stopover travel but not if you're looking for a sweet little hideaway hotel, but then you probably knew that from looking at the website!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_travelling_mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beziers, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Nice new comfortable hotel accommodation attached to pub serving food. Great to have free Wifi. The building has settled making doors a bit stiff, resulting once staff accidentally left our door open. Toilet flushing a bit erratic which friendly staff said was because it's an "eco" system but they fixed it nonetheless. Nice view of cornish countryside at the back of the hotel. Hotel is on the main road, easy to find, you don't hear the traffic. Easy access to buses or you can walk 1 mile into town, uphill coming back. Breakfast is good quality, we liked fresh fruit and nice coffee. If you can't get up early then cheaper breakfast can be had at nearby Sainsburys or in town at BHS or Wetherspoons. Pub serves St.Austell real ale only as owned by St. Austell brewery + other drinks of course. Food in pub is reasonable and mostly nice but we agree about the chips seeming of mixed quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ex_PatJohnny396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,227 reviews
10.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Arms

Property: The County Arms
Address: Highertown, Truro TR1 3PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Arms, Truro is one of Truro's most popular places to meet, eat, drink and now stay. County Arms offer 33 top quality en-suite bedrooms, in addition to its popular bar and restaurant. The central mid-peninsula location makes this the perfect stopover for business trips and leisure breaks in Truro and Cornwall- Includes a 24 Hour reception desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The County Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Arms Hotel Truro
The County Arms Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing