We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay”
Review of The County Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Arms
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I have stayed at the County Arms a few times now whilst down in Cornwall for business and have found it ideal for that purpose. This is a really interesting place that is part of the St Austell brewery chain of pubs and small hotels. I would describe the facilities in the hotel part of this premises as being exceptionally good. The rooms are a good size and have modern facilities including air conditioning. The beds are very comfortable and there is a practical desk working space, and a good size power shower in the bathroom. If you go for one of the slightly more expensive superior rooms then you get the added bonus of a room at the rear of the hotel with a juliet balcony and a view over a pretty valley.
The pub serves what I would call basic good value pub grub, which is fairly standard fare with a few daily specials. The breakfasts are freshly cooked and good value for money.
I would best describe the County Arms as having the standards of a Marriott Hotel on the accommodation side and a Harvester with regard to the food. This is not a problem but in my view their sister pub the Norway Inn nearby at Perranworthal has the balance absolutely perfect with the same high quality accommodation but with a higher level of ambition on the food side. The County Arms is however good value, consistent and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Many thanks for the feedback provided following your recent visit. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments and we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest Regards- Kelly & Antony- General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

The room was clean and fresh. The shower over the bath was not very powerful. We had a bedroom with an adjoining door. Every word from the next door bedroom could be heard. The staff were friendly and the location ideal. We were charged £99 per night room only, which I thought expensive.

Room Tip: Request a room without an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Many thanks for the feedback provided following your recent visit. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments and we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest Regards- Kelly & Antony- General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have just spent 5 nights in a superior room. The room was very spacious and clean, the bed was very big and comfortable, bathroom and shower were very good. The staff were really helpful. The thing that let all this down was the sound of an extractor fan going on and off day and night, it took me several days to locate it. We had french windows in our room which overlooked the valley, lovely view, BUT the noise from these fans outlet either side of our french windows made it impossible to enjoy having them open, the outlet pipes seem to be for all the building, a bad design, fancy putting them by a door. So if you want to stay I would recommend it, BUT NOT ROOM 15, very noisy!

Room Tip: Dont have room 15, air vent either side of your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us. We would firstly like to apologise regarding the disturbing noises you encountered during your stay, there is an air conditioning unit near the rear of the hotel which we believe is the noise you could hear and we have arranged to have this unit serviced. We are pleased to hear that you found the room clean and spacious and appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards Kelly & Antony Woodcock- General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Booked two nights over a weekend and had a wonderful time. The rooms are all new, modern, clean and well equipped. We had a room at the back of the hotel with beautiful views across the countryside.The staff were friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was excellent and extremely good value.

Room Tip: Worth the extra tenner for the view at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your stay with us here at The County Arms. The team work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests receive first class service at all times, so it is always nice to have that feedback from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Many Thanks- County Arms Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked a family room for one night, which was well appointed, considering we have two boys into gaming - internet available and plenty of plug sockets in the room. The boys had a ready made up sofa bed, which was large enough for them both. Extra pillows were provided if we needed them. The room was on the front of the hotel, but we were not troubled by any road noise. Tea and coffee making facilities were available, as was a hair dryer. The room and ensuite were clean and fresh, with toiletries provided in the bathroom.

Beautiful views from the bar, overlook the countryside, which makes for an enjoyable afternoon's drinking. The food at night was satisfactory, but the breakfast was very good value for money and delicious. Staff were polite and helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a sofa bed, not z beds, so is ideal for children to sleep in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks for your review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. I am very pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and that the facilities were beyond helpful for you and your family. We hope to see you all again soon.

Thanks again, Management Team, County Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My sister booked two rooms at the hotel for us to use for rest as my Dad was seriously ill at the Royal Cornwall Hospital which is just up the road. We stayed with Dad 24 hours a day & went back to the hotel to get some sleep in shifts. The staff were absolutely fantastic, very supportive & friendly & made sure they didn't disturb us. They even offered to bring meals to our rooms if we didn't want to eat in the main restaurant. The room was very nice & quiet (apart from the bathroom extractor fan!) & a really good size. Big double beds meant that two people /relatives could sleep in the same bed & the reception staff helped to co-ordinate the key hand over. Restaurant food was good & as I was so late going in they gave me the rest of the Danish pastries to take up to the others. (I had only come off 'shift' at 6 AM). Decent sized car park for our various cars, & easy access to bus & train stations mean it's location is good for anyone without a car. Dad unfortunately left us in the early hours of 5th April & I never got to say a big thank you to all of the staff. So here it is THANK YOU X

Room Tip: Although the hotel is on the main road to Truro the rooms are towards the back so I couldn't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhizzCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Many thanks for your review following recent stay with us. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the customer service provided. We are very sorry to hear the sad news about your Dad and would like to send our deepest sympathy to all the family. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards, Management Team, County Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Booked a table for a birthday meal told we could not book a table on the balcony but would have to "grab" one if one became available. Staff would not put birthday cake behind to bring out as surprise (have never had a restaurant refuse to do this) Service was efficient but very impersonal staff did not engage at all. Food was ok but nothing special . The County Arms appear to be putting quantity over quality these days.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bettydragstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments about your recent visit. Firstly I would like to apologise about the mis-communication regarding the birthday cake as we are always beyond happy to bring them out, I will pass these comments on to all the staff to ensure all members are aware of this. Unfortunately we do not book the outside tables as these are available on a first come first serve basis, you are always more than welcome to book a table in the restaurant and if one becomes available outside we can help you move. We are disappointed to hear that you have not been satisfied with the service which you have experienced and would like to apologise for the shortfall on this occasion. We hope to see you again.

Regards, Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
927 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,613 reviews
7.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,285 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Arms

Address: Highertown, Truro TR1 3PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: £58 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Arms, Truro is one of Truro's most popular places to meet, eat, drink and now stay. County Arms offer 33 top quality en-suite bedrooms, in addition to its popular bar and restaurant. The central mid-peninsula location makes this the perfect stopover for business trips and leisure breaks in Truro and Cornwall- Includes a 24 Hour reception desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The County Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Arms Hotel Truro
The County Arms Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing