We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #2 of 38 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

First impressions: stunning, quiet location close to town centre

Marilyn was welcoming and helpful, the room was luxurious with beautiful views across the river fal. Staying here felt more like a boutique hotel than a b&b, white company toiletries and luxury bathroom/bedding. Very peaceful nights stay and free wifi a bonus.
Breakfast was local, organic produce perfectly cooked and lots of choice.

Bad points: none! Looking forward to staying again

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mylifeinhotels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
160
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a gorgeous accommodation and location. We stayed in room 5 and sat in the bay window with the sash windows open and able to overlook the river Fal . Beautiful gardens and ever present ducks... The owners are so attentive, breakfast was scrummy , cream tea yummy with lovely warm scones. Location is so idyllic if you want to walk the area or just relax. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated , bathrooms modern with quirky touches. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed - the place is impeccable as ever; comfortable rooms, great food and service and wonderful views. Great choice of freshly cooked options for breakfast is the icing on the cake.

A great place to base yourself for a few days in central Cornwall.


I cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Old Vicarage for 2 wonderful nights, booked by our daughter as we needed to travel to Cornwall unexpectedly. Cannot praise the accommodation, and hospitality of the owners for such a warn welcome. They go far beyond anyone's expectations. Nothing is too much trouble. Would highly recommend this b & b for any type of occasion. With such stunning views, who could ask for more in the beautiful tranquil scenery. Highly recommended. Thank you guys!! We'll be back :))

Room Tip: No swimming pool!! My error... All rooms are stunning. It depends on your needs. Couldn't fau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Amazing hosts, gorgeous room, beautiful setting and yummy breakfasts. Honestly this is the best place I've ever stayed.
Their attention to detail in our room (which was spotless & stylish) made the entire experience over the weekend totally relaxing. It was a quiet and welcoming retreat - and a perfect place for us to stay to explore Cornwall during the day. 2 nights wasn't enough and I would love to come back again. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Pick a room which overlooks the river - gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed in Room 5 for 2 nights. Would have loved to stay longer. The owners were perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. Amazingly comfy bed, large spacious room with a great view. Spotlessly clean and no expense spared on the decor and finish throughout the property. A stunning building. Breakfast was delicious, definitely worth trying the eggs Royale. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrispyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have spent a weekend with my girlfriend in the Old Vicarage. It is a beautiful guesthouse, our had a beautiful view over the river. The service was absolutely perfect. Marilyn and her partner made us feel welcome from the very first minute, and you can feel when people are in the hospitality businesses because they like to be hospitable. The breakfast was great as well, offering a wide choice of freshly cooked BF.

I would definitely come back again and would strongly recommend this place to anyone, looking for a beautiful quite spot, which serves asa hub for exploring Cornwall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico_Noche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.7 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: St Clement, Truro TR1 1SZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a unique bed and breakfast venue located in the charming hamlet of St Clement on the outskirts of the Cathedral City of Truro. Situated in one of the most picturesque and tranquil locations in Cornwall the property, which dates back to the 1500s, is a literal stone's throw from the banks of the beautiful Tresillian River. Full Cornish breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing