We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest place in town”
Review of Oscars

Oscars
Ranked #53 of 175 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The friendliest place in town”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We happened upon Oscars on a shopping trip in town just after moving to Cornwall and were so impressed by the service, quality of food and value that we have become regular customers there ever since. Lesley and Jane make everyone feel like family friends and it's a good indicator of how well regarded an establishment is when you see (and get to know) the same customers going there week after week. Can't recommend it highly enough.....and no, I'm not on commission!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Heaven”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Was in Truro today shopping with my Sister and she suggested that we popped in for a coffee as she knew that they offered gluten free cakes, pasties etc. Although we did not want anything to eat she thought it would be nice for me to 'browse' for a future shopping trip. I am so glad that we did visit :-) The two ladies running the cafe were very friendly and very clued up about gluten free foods. They knew about cross contamination, 20 parts per million and had separate oven/utensils for the gf foods. All gf foods were made in a different kitchen to the regular foods and they were all clued up about the new food labelling etc. It was a small cafe admittedly but if and when I am next peckish in Truro I will go and visit them for a snack. You can sit in or they will do a take away service. Very nice to meet such lovely people who know what they are talking about where dietary needs are required :-)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlyszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttigen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gluten free treats”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we happened across this cafe and were drawn by the gluten free selection. Gluten free pasty´s, cakes, sandwiches, soup and more. It is very small, but very friendly and the food was good. It is a bit expensive perhaps but for us it was worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best cafe in town!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We love Oscars ... consistently excellent service, lovely food (best brownies in Truro) and most importantly Lesley and Jayne are so friendly and welcoming. Very good value!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Very friendly welcome.
We had a late lunch; large pasty which looked great and a tasty soup- just what I'd been after.
Served very quickly, the soup came with nice granary bread.
Only downside, £5 for soup. It was a very expensive snack!

Helpful?
Thank Foz480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oscars also viewed

Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Oscars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing