We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mannings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Goonhavern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Slept in the family room (1 double and 1 single bed) on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel. As stated in other reviews, there is a significant amount of 'street noise' because a) there is no double glazing and b) people out on the town seem to devolve to the level of your average chimpanzee on Friday & Saturday nights having had a couple of drinks.
If this sort of thing disturbs you then ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Personally, I just turned on the (supplied) fan and my woman put in her ear plugs (normally used to deal with my snoring).
The decor in the room (especially the bathroom) was a little tired, but only a little.
Breakfasts were quite good.
Parking was secure.
So, to summarise, not especially cheap, but then it's a reasonable city-centre hotel, so not too pricey either.
Compared to the County Arms? Personally I rate that as being better value.
Would I stay at the Mannings again? Sure.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisey on a Friday & Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonSpeakeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    232
    73
    15
    5
See reviews for
61
255
40
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albi, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed in one of the recently renovated studio apartments which was excellent. Spacious, lovely kitchen, well equipped, big bathroom, comfy bed with good linen. The advantage of the apartments is that they face the back rather than the busy road so they are quiet. We were driving with a packed car so appreciated the locked carpark and the opportunity to park right in front of our room. The hotel location is wonderful, in the heart of Truro near all the shops, the cinema, museum and cathedral. The staff at the front desk were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. It's not easy to find hotels in Cornwall where you can stay just one weekend night (they want you to stay for two), so we felt lucky to have found Mannings. The room price--about £119--was very reasonable. Free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed in an apartment for 1 night. The bed was not too comfortable as were the pillows. I was in the disabled room and the floor got very wet after the shower. Rather frugal with the biscuits but the room was clean. The T.V would have been better wall mounted. The hotel is well situated and a drinks voucher is on offer. The breakfast is good but £3. 50 for x2 cooked items is rather steep. A fairly expensive room rate overall.

Room Tip: the apartment rooms are quiet but more expensive than the main hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isobelmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walgrave, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We could not fault our stay here - a slight blip on the booking but they tried to contact us immediaterly and every effort made to put it right. A welcoming drink on arrival, food prepared even though it was after last orders for the kitchen, and slap bang in the centre of Truro. If I could fault it at all it would be that there is no air con, although a fan was provided in the room. Food in the restuarant was first class. All staff very friendly and helpful. Nice large room, so plenty of space for travelling with an untidy teenager!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here in August 2011 for 1 night whilst on a Cornwall and Devon cycling holiday. We found the hotel easily in the centre of Truro and received a warm welcome from the Duty Manager who helped us store our bikes somewhere secure. Our room was lovely with a large modern shower, iPod dock and large comfy bed. The decor of the hotel was stylish and modern, for example the corridor outside our room had tiny pebbles along the edges and was beautifully lit. The cocktail bar downstairs was excellent too. Next morning the breakfast was a contintental style with plenty of fresh fruit, breads and croissants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anybody passing through Truro.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macgonigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

In the heart of the city with car parking and convenient bar and bistro.

Room Tip: Avoid front rooms which can be noisy at w/end
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaguarbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Mannings is an unexpectedly stylish hotel in theheart of historic Truro, a stone's throw from the cathderal and surrounded by sute shops, cobbled streets, and Georgian houses. The hotel's big plus is its excellent restaurant, which serves delicious, inventive cooking at OK prices (eg baked goats cheese with figs, parsely and honey,£7.50). Obviously a talented chef working in the background here...

Rooms are OK, if overheated and no mini-bar or fridge (apart from the apartments). Street-facing rooms can be very noisy at weekends. Carpet design throughout looks dated but everything is clean and wellcared for.

Apartments are huge and comfy, but feel a bit cut off from the rest of the hotel - tucked away in a nearby building, behind security gates.

Reception staff vary. One lovely local woman in her fifties,helpful, kind and super-efficient makes up for a hopeless Australian and a rather rude red-head.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lagarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,221 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,107 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Property: Mannings Hotel
Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing