We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel worth staying at in Truro”
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mannings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
798 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“The only hotel worth staying at in Truro”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I've stayed in most of the hotels in Truro, but this is simply of a different league.

This was my second stay, the first time was a couple of years ago. Overall, it was still a great experience. The room was clean, well maintained and of a good standard. The WiFi is free which good.

There few downsides, is that it can be noisy as it is city centre, tv channels are limted and t hey charge £6 a day for parking (although they are happy for you to park there all of your check-out day)

Room Tip: try to get a rear room and if it's hot, get a top floor as they have a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    231
    72
    14
    5
See reviews for
60
251
40
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Spent two nights here in late October, very overpriced £109 per night for very average rooms of travelodge standard. Had a large double bed in the room but the quilt was not big enough for the cover and my husband spent most of both nights with just a sheet cover. Seemed like 2 single beds shoved together. Room at the back of hotel had to put up with the extractor fan noise till late and came on again very early, also smell of cooking very off putting to wake up to.
Also had to pay £6 per night for parking and English breakfast an extra £7.50 per person.
We ate in the restaurant one night, food and service very good, but did not enjoy sharing everyone else's conversations as the tables are too close together. Also only 1 gents cubicle toilet for both the bar and restaurant which is not enough when busy.
Overall for the price the hotel room you expect much more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front not the back due to noisy extractor fans till midnight and from 6.45am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We can recommend Mannings Hotel to everybody: the staff are all very friendly, the room was impeccable and quiet, the dinner we had was of a sublime quality. But it's only when there's a real problem that you get to know people. And we did have a problem: our car wouldn't start, so we couldn't leave. Extra snag: we are from Belgium and thus we were a very long way from home. Abi, the lady at the reception was extremely helpful and offered us a nice cup of tea while we were waiting for Graeme, the maintenance man, who would have a look at the car. Unfortunately Graeme couldn't get the car to start and he got in touch with a local mechanic who helped us out. Finally we were able to leave Truro and thanks to the help kit the mechanic gave us the car made it till we got back home.
Thanks, everybody at Mannings for being to thoughtful and helpful. We have already planned to return to Cornwall and stay at Mannings for a few days.
Mannings is TOP!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tack-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Had a night one night stay here over a weekend on a sporting Inter-county competition in October 2012. Fabulous hotel - exactly what we wanted for the weekend. Clean, nice rooms, good food, Modern contemporary bar downstairs, GREAT breakfast. Centrally located for the city of Truro (just off the market square) but not noisy at all. Good parking behind secure gates. Staff were exceelent as well - couldn't do enough for you. All in all we had a great stay at this hotel. We had booked 4 rooms and all had similar good experience. Thank you Mannings Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just back from a short stay in this hotel where the standard of cleanliness was good, the decor was modern and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in the center of the city, but although we had a room at the front of the hotel we didn't find noise a problem at all - and I am a light sleeper. The availability of off-street and secure parking was very useful. There is a charge for its use, but this was clear when we booked.

We ate lunch in the hotel and thought the food was excellent - we enjoyed the unhurried, but attentive service. The bar in the evening had a really pleasant atmosphere and the voucher given on arrival for a drink each was an unexpected bonus. The breakfast included in the room rate offered a wide selection of cold choices and there is the opportunity to pay extra (starting from £3.50) for a cooked option.

In all we had a great short break and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorrie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turgutreis, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

A group of us squash players stayed here, I have stayed in many places and this is by far the best all round hotel. Food perfect, drinks ad staff were wonderful and helpful. Right in the centre and we even found our way back from the local night club without asking directions. Hats off to all concerned wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick007m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

There's a lot of good things about this hotel but also some less good. Manning's is placed centrally and certainly looks to be the best option for Truro but equally there appears to be little real competition for that crown.

On arrival I checked in and was handed a drinks voucher for the bar and I noticed they offer free bottled water, both nice touches and a friendly reception. I stayed in room 49 at the back of the hotel and the room itself was clean, nicely presented in 'boutique' style if a little 'bijou'. The negative here though was the very loud noise of what sounded like a dance studio next door playing high Nrg dance music which appeared to be at full swing when I arrived and for my first hour (7 at night). Not a fault of the hotel of course, but worth bearing in mind.

I had dinner at the hotel after arriving and I have to say the food (Cornish Brill with orange cream) was excellent. The service let the chef down though - generally inattentive and slow. The front of house could do with smiling a bit! I could have easily stuck around for a pudding but couldn't be bothered to wait to have my order taken then wait to be served. Also the seating is a bit compact.

The dance studio noise had pretty much gone later, but 2 inconsiderate individuals deciding to discuss their night at 11.45 on the mezzanine wasn't welcomed.

The breakfast (again a smile wouldn't go amiss!) is continental and if you want cooked you pay an additional £7.50. There is no offset of course and I felt a bit short changed by the whole experience. Luke warm coffee, no croissants on arriving (at 7.10!). Strange that you can get free bottled water and a drink at the bar and yet the breakfast arrangement is so tight.

On leaving the colleague I travelled down with was charged for parking, a great touch, seeing as neither of us drove, but this was quickly sorted.

The real shame about this hotel is that it only needs a bit of minor tweaking to make it a really good place to stay, but has enough to really irk, as I'm sure you can get from the above review.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonfromesssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#3 of 4 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Property: Mannings Hotel
Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing