We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mannings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very central.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

A very centrally located hotel at the bottom of Truro's beautiful Lemon street. The problem that we had was the noise from other guests generally going up and down the corridors. It wasn't that they where noisy,it's just that this is an old hotel that has been partially renovated.
We where in a room near the stairs on the third floor,but the corridor had creaky floorboards and noisy doors. Apart from this,which is only a problem because I am a light sleeper,the reception,in room facilities,great breakfast and bar where spot on.
I would recommend that if you do stay,and you should,ask for a room away from the stairwells.

Room Tip: Just remember,if you are a light sleeper,to request a room away from the central stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    227
    69
    14
    5
See reviews for
58
247
38
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Nice hotel, very comfortable bed, good nights sleep, spotlessly clean room and great staff but one of the biggest bathrooms ive ever had but with only a shower, no bath. Very funky shower room but why do hotels get talked into thinking customers only want showers in a huge bathroom. What i found more annoying was at breakfast I asked for ham and cheese as the menu said you could, and also bread to go with it and was bought 2 slices of supermarket cheap sliced bread. Really ! 2013 and a 3 star hotel serves up 80p a loaf sliced bread. No excuse , that's just lame and lazy. Made what could have been a lovely breakfast very disappointing. Please get some decent bread, rolls French sticks, anything !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMS123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have used this hotel for business on many occasions - mainly because they have a monopoly in the center of Truro. I will not be returning. The room was beyond hot. i had the window open and a fan on, but i still did not get any sleep. The bed was very hard and the mattress was very thin. Breakfast was like Faulty Towers! 1st, we were spoken to extremely rudely by a member of staff. Next we were brought toast with obvious mould on it. we returned it. they brought some more..... with yet more mould. My colleague expressed his anger at this point and we finally got mould free toast, along with a long excuse about how it was in date and they would be contacting the supplier. Frankly, i dont want excuse's. As far as i am concerned it is Mannings responsibility the minute it is brought to me!! They should be very careful as there is a newly refurbed hotel now and a brand new 4* coming soon!!!

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmab12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked a one night weekend break at The Mannings Hotel at the last minute and were offered the chance to upgrade to an 'M Club' stay which entitled us to two free cocktails and a £25 voucher to spend in the restaurant in addition to a double room with breakfast at an extra cost of £14.
Check in was swift and we were greeted by very pleasant hotel staff, our room was fine (Room 49 was a little on the small side BUT with only two adults staying we had ample space), the bathroom was clean and tidy and the shower was powerful. The bed was so comfortable, the best hotel bed I have slept in for a long time.
Our evening meal in the hotel was absolutely delicious, I can thoroughly recommend the blackened chicken which was so flavoursome. The cocktails were very impressive, not your average watered down affair but full on alcholic beverages with a real kick (especially the strawberry and chilli tequilla one!) The cocktails were complimentary but I don't think the £7 price tag was particularly bad for the quality of the drink even if we had had to pay.
The staff were helpful and you got the impression that nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was plentiful (cereal, toast, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, yoghurt, croissant, ham, cheese, fresh fruit juice, tea & coffee) and we weren't rushed to finish.
I can honestly say that nothing about this hotel and restaurant disappointed although I do think a £6 charge to park your car (albeit in a very secure private car park) was slightly steep. We would definitely return if this deal was offered again, it was great value for money.
This hotel a fantastic little hideaway right in the centre of the city, perfect for relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I am aware that the majority of reviews for this hotel are quite positive so I do not want to sound like the one guy that has something negative to say. I am also aware that as my review would be one of the only negative ones it would probably be ignored by most so I am not going to waste too much time going into the details of my experience.

The service at Mannings is very good and this cannot be knocked. The restaurants is also to be highly recommended. However the hotel itself is very disappointing. So much so that they actually refunded my nights stay on inspection of my room.

For £40-£50 you would make do, but as they are trying to charge in excess of £100 for a nights stay here this is extremely overpriced. I won't be staying again and unfortunately could not recommend this hotel to anyone else until it has be refurbished.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fondula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My sister and I visited Truro in September (grandparents from here and we were researching) and stayed at Mannings. What a find! The room was nice (although the floor and bed tilted a bit) as this is a boutique type hotel. The staff was wonderful including check in, breakfast in the morning and for drinks in the bar. Friday and Saturday night were a bit noisy due to concerns at the Hall of Cornwall so you might want to ask for a room away from Lemon Street. Our train didn't leave until 2:40pm so we were able to use the quiet library room and they looked after our luggage. I very much enjoyed my time in Truro and would recommend Mannings to any and everyone wanting to stay in Truro while in Cornwall.

Room Tip: Away from Lemon Street if a weekend and doings at Hall of Cornwall. And there is no lift so you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BothellEnglandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed one night on business, the staff are great, the room very nice and the bed very comfortable.
The public areas are as nice as the rooms.
They catered for gluten free at breakfast, I will defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back as there can be some noise form the street at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerremys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Property: Mannings Hotel
Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Truro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Truro
#2 Business Hotel in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing