We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and stylish decor”
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mannings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Central location and stylish decor”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Slap bang in the centre of Truro, this hotel couldn't be more conveniently situated for seeing the main sights of the city, shopping, restaurants, or rail connections. Decor was stylish and fresh, room was a generous size and quiet in spite of overlooking a shopping street. Secure car parking was also welcome. Breakfast buffet was fine. Small point but the wardrobe and clothes storage space was tiny, even for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    232
    73
    15
    5
See reviews for
61
255
40
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you want to visit Cornwall but also want other services such as, rail links, Shops, theatre etc, then head for Truro and stay at Mannings, slap bang in the middle of the City. The Hotel is located in Lemon Quay, central to all the facilities and the staff can not do enough to make your stay a very pleasant experience. It is clean and well maintained, it's only drawback, is it is an old building and so does have noise issues, both internally such as creaky floorboards, water noise from adjoining bathrooms and doors slamming. The external noise issues are not directly related to the Hotel, however the Hotels single glazed windows do not keep the noise of Truro late night / early morning revellers from keeping you awake, so if you want a better nights sleep request a room on the inside of the Hotel. The Bar and Hotel are some of the best in the city offering a great range of Cocktails and Food. Check out the website to see if the M-Club offers are available as this gives you complimentary cocktail and £25 refund on food purchases in the Restaurant, which is a great deal. Would I visit Mannings again, Yes, whenever we visit Truro we always stay there.

Room Tip: Check the M-Club monthly deals but request an inside room for a better nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here overnight whilst attending a wedding nearby. Extremely warm welcome, very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. Room was very clean tidy and had everything you need. When it comes to location you won't get any more central!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 days in October and were pleased with almost every aspect. A friendly welcome, lovely room, enjoyable breakfast and superb location. Moreover, the staff at breakfast were the friendliest I think we have ever met at any hotel at that time of day! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs, outside rooms have the small disadvantage of being below very noisy floors upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A very centrally located hotel at the bottom of Truro's beautiful Lemon street. The problem that we had was the noise from other guests generally going up and down the corridors. It wasn't that they where noisy,it's just that this is an old hotel that has been partially renovated.
We where in a room near the stairs on the third floor,but the corridor had creaky floorboards and noisy doors. Apart from this,which is only a problem because I am a light sleeper,the reception,in room facilities,great breakfast and bar where spot on.
I would recommend that if you do stay,and you should,ask for a room away from the stairwells.

Room Tip: Just remember,if you are a light sleeper,to request a room away from the central stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Nice hotel, very comfortable bed, good nights sleep, spotlessly clean room and great staff but one of the biggest bathrooms ive ever had but with only a shower, no bath. Very funky shower room but why do hotels get talked into thinking customers only want showers in a huge bathroom. What i found more annoying was at breakfast I asked for ham and cheese as the menu said you could, and also bread to go with it and was bought 2 slices of supermarket cheap sliced bread. Really ! 2013 and a 3 star hotel serves up 80p a loaf sliced bread. No excuse , that's just lame and lazy. Made what could have been a lovely breakfast very disappointing. Please get some decent bread, rolls French sticks, anything !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMS123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have used this hotel for business on many occasions - mainly because they have a monopoly in the center of Truro. I will not be returning. The room was beyond hot. i had the window open and a fan on, but i still did not get any sleep. The bed was very hard and the mattress was very thin. Breakfast was like Faulty Towers! 1st, we were spoken to extremely rudely by a member of staff. Next we were brought toast with obvious mould on it. we returned it. they brought some more..... with yet more mould. My colleague expressed his anger at this point and we finally got mould free toast, along with a long excuse about how it was in date and they would be contacting the supplier. Frankly, i dont want excuse's. As far as i am concerned it is Mannings responsibility the minute it is brought to me!! They should be very careful as there is a newly refurbed hotel now and a brand new 4* coming soon!!!

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmab12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,221 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,107 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Property: Mannings Hotel
Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing