We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stop off for Theatre and Shopping”
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mannings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect Stop off for Theatre and Shopping”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Not our first visit to mannings, we have stayed a number of times before.This time we booked a twin room for one night for a trip to the Hall for Cornwall. Our rooms was spacious, clean and comfortable. A full bathroom with plenty of fluffy towels.

We decided to have dinner at the hotel rather than spending hours deciding where else to eat, it was an excellent choice! We both had the goats cheese and spiced pear bruschetta - fabulous! The main course was very good but not as outstanding as the starter, we skipped dessert!

The staff were friendly, polite and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

The only downside - if it really is one, was breakfast, included in the room rate is a continental breakfast - a cooked English costs extra. There was plenty to choose from, cereals, juices and fruit. The cheese and cold meat selection was very limited, a bit disappointing really also although pastries and croissants were advertised, each time we have stayed the buffet has been missing these items - I know they are popular but should be topped up a lot more quickly. tea, coffee and toast orders ae taken at the table by the staff, the coffee was good but I had to ask for a top up rather than being offered more. Small things I know but this site does ask for honesty - would I stay at Mannings again? Oh yes any time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firemanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    231
    72
    14
    5
See reviews for
60
251
40
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This time down in Truro we had one of the apartments at Mannings Hotel. Lounge/Diner/Kitchen, Bedroom with large TV, Very good appointed Bathroom. We booked Breakfast for every morning and a couple of evenings for Dinner. We also self catered for a couple of evenings. Brilliant! it gave us the freedom to do what we wanted. The Apartment was clean, tidy, well appointed with all mod cons. The Staff in the restaurant were very good and attentive. The food was of a very high standard. Good wine list.

Room Tip: Any of the apartments looked good. We were on the second Floor. Booking in the restaurant is essenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here for a night. Right in the town but quiet. The restaurant is fabulous. Relaxed, modern and the food is lovely. The staff are very helpful and friendly. that's the good stuff. Maybe it was because we were only there for one night we were given a back room with the kitchen outlet fan just outside the window. It was very hot so we had to open the window so it was a choice between the heat or the noise. The window was a sash with an old catch and wouldn't close again so choice made for us. The shower was a trickle, plenty of hot water just not enough to shower with. But the towels were good and the bed comfortable. Will stay there again and know to ask for a different room, but its worth sorting before you arrive. Good value.

Room Tip: we were on the 1st floor, so if that's your floor, ask for a room with an even number, that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel is very well located and once I had sorted out the one way system to get into the secure car park I was away. I only stayed one night as I was picking up a boat trailer to bring back to Henley. However what I saw of the staff all was very efficient and friendly. Had I stayed longer I would have felt even more at home. Breakfast was very good but what? no hog's pudding!! a small problem compared to what is happening in the world today!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in the middle of town...fantastic for shopping...not so great for sleeping :( was really noisy at night so if you are not a party animal either then i wouldnt bother. Breakfast was fine but a place around the corner does a lovely fry up thats cheaper than the hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrip_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

From the moment we got to Mannings everything was faultless. Nice comfortable clean room, really good breakfast and very polite and helpful staff. Ideal place to stay to explore Cornwall and perfectly situated in the centre of Truro.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJWLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A well located and comfortable hotel located in Truro. Rooms a good size, attached restaurant does very good food and would recommend the breakfast which had a good selection. Hotel was being re-decorated when we stayed and so I'm sure will be even better once done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aneknamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#3 of 4 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Property: Mannings Hotel
Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing