We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as usual”
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mannings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Last minute stop at Mannings. Stayed in the hotel and not the mews rooms this time. Excellent room and facilities. Staff so helpful and friendly. Food was really good and we met some lovely Americans who were over for the D Day memorial. Cannot fault this hotel. Will definitely be back...hopefully for a longer stay.

Thanks for lovely stay.

Mike and Louise

Room Tip: any of them!! for really quiet rooms I would choose the annexe suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 847Louise_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Clean comfortable rooms in a convenient location in town. Room well equipped (iPod docks/TV/tea making) and nicely furnished. Would probably benefit from a bathroom update in rooms. Beds very comfy and quiet at night despite central location. Would return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MattLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stopped at Mannings for 2 nights on Business.
Great hotel situated in centre of town amongst all the shops and close to the Cathedral.
Hotel has own car park to side with security.
The room was large and modern with a great shower.
my bead was really comfortable, very important to me.
Restaurant offers a good range of food and the staff really helpful.
Wifi available all over the hotel.
i will definately be returning for a leisure break.
Just up the road is a great little artizan baker well worth a visit for bread to take home.
The only down side to the hotel was there is no lift so I had to climb 3 flights of stairs. Bear this in mind if you have loads of luggage, however there is a poter service available
I highly recommed staying here.

Room Tip: No lift to higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Mannings for three nights and we chose the hotel as we wanted a city centre location. We travelled to Truro by train and got a taxi to the hotel. First, the hotel staff, we were warmly welcomed when we checked in and out and a smile or wave when we passed reception. The barman who served our complimentary drink was very pleasant and the breakfast team were also very efficient. Our room, if small was spotless.

We had a room on the top floor and the complementary wifi worked perfectly on my iPad. It was hot in our room so we kept the window open at night. Yes it was noisy, but seagulls are noisy, so are the church clocks, it is Truro and these noises are to be expected! We were happy with our continental breakfast, there was plenty to choose from and we did not feel the need for any more to eat. A cooked breakfast is available at an extra charge.

When we checked out, the receptionist ordered us a taxi for later and arranged to look after our cases. It was a lovely break and even the weather was kind to us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely 4 day break spent at the Manning's Hotel in Truro. We received an upgrade on arrival to the apartments which are outside the hotel itself and come complete with a tidy and well provided kitchen. A lovely surprise for the both of us. The staff were polite and knowledgeable, couldn't fault the food and the fillet steak was fantastic. We enjoyed several drinks in the Manning's Bar that was popular but not overly busy. There is complimentary WIFI available all over the hotel including the bar and apartments - a very nice touch.
Location just off the high street is perfect for trips out and browsing the local shops.
We cant wait for another excuse to make a trip to the Manning's - had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stufordyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights last week, and it was under duress as Truro is a seriously long journey for work, and the only good thing about the whole trip was this hotel. The bed was like a cupped pair of hands around me, and I slept like a doberman. Really, really nice.

The people who work there all seemed sound as a pound, too, and definitely enjoyed being there. All seemed chums, which is a nice touch.

Quite enthusiastically priced, but I wasn't paying, so meh! Plus there aren't many hotels in the town it seems, so it's either pay a bit for something nice (this) or park yourself miles out in a hovel to save a tenner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 675ChrisK675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

One night stay. Free cocktails on arrival. Rooms excellent. Dinner was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We arrived as a group of seven by bike and we were allowed ti store our bikes safely in the basement. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBMEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
903 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,180 reviews
8.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: £89 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing