We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merchant House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Truely enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Situation that put me there was very bad but my stay was lovely and very welcoming whitch was very appricated.my room was a double and very clean and tidy.staff were always very respectful and warm.breakfast was great too.the buffet had lots of viarity.truely enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesuitcasekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    110
    48
    14
    12
See reviews for
51
148
22
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked this hotel to stay for a few nights while we were visiting for a funeral.
I didnt expect much as its only a low star rating, but it was lovely. Staff were great, breakfast was yummy, fresh and quick and as for the beds... Ive stayed in 5 star hotels with awful beds but the ones here were so comfy, as were the pillows! Everything was also spotless!
I would go back here for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-stapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love this place, the staff are friendly the breakfast is very well cooked and speedy service and there's plenty of parking and your close to all facilities e.g shops, pubs and also near Falmouth which is where I needed to head to in the morning. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy0C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night over the August bank holiday. Nice clean room. Breakfast was lovely and freshly prepared. Short walk into the city where we had a lovely meal in Bustopher's Bistro which was excellent. Great central location. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam-balaam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked this hotel on Late Rooms.com through reading the reviews on this website, well it was as good if not better than everyone said. Arrived mid-afternoon on Saturday and checked only to be told that we had been given an up-grade to our room. room was large beautifully furnished with en-suite shower room. Two sets of fluffy white towels, tea, coffee etc, shower gel and soap. Flat screen tv not that we were bothered with that, information on what to do and where to go.We had breakfast included excellent choices freshly cooked and the staff were helpful, polite and cheerful.
Afternoon tea with cake was also included. Check-out time a reasonable 11.00am and because we were not going home straight away but going out with our daughter we asked if we could leave our car in their car park until we were ready to leave at 5.00pm and they were completely obliging about it. Anyone wanting to stay in Truro as a base we would highly recommend this hotel.
We certainly will be staying there again when we visit as our daughter has just started a new job in Falmouth.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are sunny and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed here for one night - very friendly and helpful at reception. Room was large, clean and very comfortable.It is situated within a 10 minute walk of the City.There is also ample parking at the front and back. I will be staying here again no doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very nice hotel at a very reasonable price for Cornwall, good points are the hotel is spotlessly clean and the Reception/Waiting staff are excellent. I assume we had a refurbished room, nice bed, flat screen TV, only negative in the room was that we had no headboard and I couldn't sit up in bed as we had two spotlights at head height just on one side of the bed which I kept hitting my head on. Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss, our room was not serviced at all on one day, some days the tea tray was replenised some days not. But the complimentary tea & cake every afternoon is a lovely touch, reception rooms are very smart and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a headboard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rontastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
565 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
421 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,042 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 36 in Truro
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant House

Property: Merchant House
Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Truro
#3 Business Hotel in Truro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Merchant House Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing