We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merchant House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Booked online for one night as travelling down for a funeral, and as meeting up with friends from years gone by decided it best to stay overnight so as to enjoy a few beers. Have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the years under its past name The Carlton Hotel, so it was an easy choice to make. The refurbishment to date is impressive. As I arrived somewhat earlier than the stated check in time, and the room was not ready, I completed registration and collected my room key on returning to the hotel that evening. Check in was straightforward and hassle free. I was allocated Room 5, a room my wife and I had stayed in on more than one occasion a few years ago, and the makeover has resulted in this being an extremely comfortable, light, airy and nicely decorated room to stay in. Following a good, sound sleep I was up early and down for breakfast which was served by a very polite and attentive lady, and was highly enjoyable, just what was needed for the journey back home. To sum up, a vey comfortable overnight stay and I would have no hesitation in booking again in the future, especially if for a slightly longer duration. Well done The Merchant House - keep up the good work !!!

Room Tip: Cant comment on the fitness centre as did not see or use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    110
    48
    14
    12
See reviews for
51
148
22
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blisland, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had family stay here last month and they said it was amazing, lovely rooms and fantastic staff! It is a great price I think it was under £140 for the 3 nights what is a excellent price for near enough the middle of Truro.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here for three very comfortable nights. I was given a free upgrade and as a solo traveller had the luxury of a very large bed. Very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was lovely and sandwiches were freshly made if I felt peckish. The hotel doesn't do evening meals but there are loads of great restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Room was warm. Shower was hot and TV screen large.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

very friendly welcome at the reception desk on my arrival. i was invited to the lounge area for complimentary tea and coffee and cake which was a nice touch, but my journey had been a long one so just decided to relax in my room for a couple hours. the room itself was on the small side but the decor and furnishings were lovely. all looked fresh and clean, as was the bathroom. nice flat tv on the wall, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well. the hotel itself is a 5-10 minute walk from the main town centre so its ideally located if you wanted to do some shopping in Truro. overall...although this was just a one night stay i was impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms and the location. very good value for money. the bar stayed open until midnight(i think), so after my evening out it was nice to have a nightcap before retiring to my room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianandkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

There are a lot of positive reviews of this hotel, and some nice photos on the website, so we gave it a go this week. I stayed in Room 9 overnight.

Room 9 has tatty 20 year old decor, is cramped, and has a worn-out (or just poor quality) mattress. Clearly the redecoration hasn't reached that room yet, but I expect we paid the same as if it had. There was a cheap chair which looked like it had been in a pub for 20 years, with a dirty, stained seat cover. Someone had gone to effort of repairing it with screws on all the legs rather than replace it. Shower worked OK, but the bathroom wasn't to a chain-motel standard.

For a business person, there is only a dressing table rather than a proper desk, and no adjacent plugs, although the WiFi and internet access were good.

The cooked breakfast was not very inspiring, although service was efficient. I was on a table that was really a drinks table, and even the serving staff observed that it was too small.

Overall this is typical of small English hotels in old buildings, and why business people go to the chains. I don't need to slum it like this for £70 a night. It is shocking really, that people are allowed to mislead you with lots of photos of rooms on their website and then give you something completely inferior.

Room Tip: Make sure they give you a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The staff here are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast had lots of choices with lots of choices. It was quiet and peaceful. I really enjoyed my stay. Afternoon tea was an added bonus with home made cakes.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank openminded2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We are 3 kite surfers who stayed here while touring cornwall and I have to say we were extremely impressed.

From the super friendly staff to the massive beds, amazing breakfast and the wetsuit drying room it was perfect for us. The value for money was superb and we would definitely go back.

Great location with easy walking into Truro.

It is a beautifully converted old house and has been done to a very high standard and well thought through.

Thank you for having us, hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had a huge double bed, a lovely bath with hand help shower but not a stand up sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianosorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
565 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
421 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,044 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 36 in Truro
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant House

Property: Merchant House
Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truro
#3 Business Hotel in Truro
#3 Family Hotel in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Merchant House Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing