We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchant House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Hotel(Rosevine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rosevine(Rosevine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nare(Veryan in Roseland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun(St Mawes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
269
136
54
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
136
54
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscakeon arrivalfree teacarlton hotelplates and cutlerywelcoming hotelvictoria spongelounge barup hillfull englishevery afternoonshort walkbreakfast includedplenty of parkingcar parklovely touchcomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

stayed here for one night, no breakfast included but there is a Wetherspoons in town which is cheaper anyway. Room was spacious enough and clean, plenty of free parking, free Wi fi in room, free complimentary tea or coffee and home made cake on arrival. Only downsides were there wasn't enough room in the little bathroom for the hand basin so that was in the bedroom and there were sharp edges near the shower and not enough space to avoid them. Also the hotel is up quite a long steep hill from the town so be prepared for a bit of a hike. We stayed in room 8

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here on a business overnighter. Initially had problems with connecting to the wifi in one room. Asked to move as the problem was isolated and the owner agreed without hesitation.

Comfy bed and lots of pillows. The only downsides are it's a little out of the main town centre and I had no shower in the room.

Other than that excellent service and nicely furnished rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topper1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Great place, very clean and comfortable. Bed fantastic! Good breakfast. The staff very helpful particularly about the area and the facilities available, also helped with our luggage. Nothing too much trouble. Nice stroll into Truro centre about ten minutes downhill, walking back is slightly uphill, so if you have a medical condition, perhaps get the bus back which stops right outside the hotel. Would definitely recommend and if ever in Truro again would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a Standard plus room, had a very large bed and spacious bathroom, great room, but just make sure you specify whether you prefer walk in shower or bath with hand held shower head (as this did not come with shower curtain/screen). Other than that lovely room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 579paulined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Cornwall. The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment but this didn't affect our stay. We had our dog with us so was given a dog friendly room towards the back of the hotel which has its own entrance near the car park. The dog friendly room was incredibly small but we didn't mind as it was only for two nights. The room had a funny smell upon arrival but once opening the windows it had gone - I can only assume that it was a doggy smell due to it being a dog friendly room. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The sound of birdsong was incredible & made the stay very peaceful. The shower was very powerful even though the bathroom was quite small too. Breakfast was lovely & the morning waiting staff couldn't do enough for us.
I think if I was to stay here again it would be good to experience another room -albeit dog friendly and see what else the hotel has to offer. It would also be good to be able to experience breakfast in bed. Apart from that the hotel is good & I would stay there again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

very friendly staff. complementary tea and cake in afternoons a nice touch. Try the Daniel Arms for a relaxing low key drink on your way back to the hotel. Worth phoning to book your room direct as all the rooms are varied (some have baths and some have showers). Looking forward to coming back and sitting in front of the newly installed wood-burning stove in the guest lounge!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 - newly refurbished at the back of the hotel. Shower ensuite.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews