We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant revamp”
Review of Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merchant House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had stayed here a couple of times when it was the Camden and the new ownership and face lift is a pleasant improvement.
The satff were great and quick to point out the improvements. The overall appearance is much better, the decor bright and fresh and the rooms vastly improved.
I was quickly informed that booking sites do not offer a breakfast in their package and advised that by contacting the hotel direct they will include breakfast for the same price.
The breakfast was a better than average cooked offering, however the sausage was one of those incipid pink things. Come on Mercahnt house go to the butchers, it makes all the difference.
The hotel is under the same ownership as the Mannings hotel and restaurant and you can claim a free glass of wine if you eat at Mannings. Mannings is a 5 minute walk down the hill.
I will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our hotel of choice when we stay in Truro. Very helpful staff. Rooms clean and well decorated and all with wi-fi. Very good breakfast, served until later at weekends.

Plenty of restaurants in town but as a nice touch, if you don't want to go out to eat, you can send for a take-away and the staff will lay a table for you.

Parking may appear limited but is not; there is plenty of secure space behind the hotel. All parking is free.

Room Tip: We prefer the top floor, the second, but be advised: there is no lift. Choose the first floor if sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hn_and_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

stayed here for one night, no breakfast included but there is a Wetherspoons in town which is cheaper anyway. Room was spacious enough and clean, plenty of free parking, free Wi fi in room, free complimentary tea or coffee and home made cake on arrival. Only downsides were there wasn't enough room in the little bathroom for the hand basin so that was in the bedroom and there were sharp edges near the shower and not enough space to avoid them. Also the hotel is up quite a long steep hill from the town so be prepared for a bit of a hike. We stayed in room 8

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here on a business overnighter. Initially had problems with connecting to the wifi in one room. Asked to move as the problem was isolated and the owner agreed without hesitation.

Comfy bed and lots of pillows. The only downsides are it's a little out of the main town centre and I had no shower in the room.

Other than that excellent service and nicely furnished rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topper1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Great place, very clean and comfortable. Bed fantastic! Good breakfast. The staff very helpful particularly about the area and the facilities available, also helped with our luggage. Nothing too much trouble. Nice stroll into Truro centre about ten minutes downhill, walking back is slightly uphill, so if you have a medical condition, perhaps get the bus back which stops right outside the hotel. Would definitely recommend and if ever in Truro again would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a Standard plus room, had a very large bed and spacious bathroom, great room, but just make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 579paulined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Cornwall. The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment but this didn't affect our stay. We had our dog with us so was given a dog friendly room towards the back of the hotel which has its own entrance near the car park. The dog friendly room was incredibly small but we didn't mind as it was only for two nights. The room had a funny smell upon arrival but once opening the windows it had gone - I can only assume that it was a doggy smell due to it being a dog friendly room. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The sound of birdsong was incredible & made the stay very peaceful. The shower was very powerful even though the bathroom was quite small too. Breakfast was lovely & the morning waiting staff couldn't do enough for us.
I think if I was to stay here again it would be good to experience another room -albeit dog friendly and see what else the hotel has to offer. It would also be good to be able to experience breakfast in bed. Apart from that the hotel is good & I would stay there again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

very friendly staff. complementary tea and cake in afternoons a nice touch. Try the Daniel Arms for a relaxing low key drink on your way back to the hotel. Worth phoning to book your room direct as all the rooms are varied (some have baths and some have showers). Looking forward to coming back and sitting in front of the newly installed wood-burning stove in the guest lounge!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 - newly refurbished at the back of the hotel. Shower ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
970 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
804 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,266 reviews
8.1 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant House

Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: £59 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Merchant House Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing