We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired like its website”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B at the Fieldings
Ranked #13 of 18 Truro B&B and Inns
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tired like its website”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Reviews suggested an informative and friendly place - can't say we found it as good as what the clearly ancient website suggested. Not overly impressed and suggest you bypass Truro and head to the villages of Cornwall, such as Elerky House in Veryan where the service, rapport, food and locals make Cornwall worthwhile before you've even seen anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is a very nice clean B&B in the sweet little town of Truro. Mike and Avril made us feel welcomed and gave us perfect recommendations as to where to eat dinner. We also engaged Mike as our guide around Cornwall. On our own, we could have never found all the wonderful places he showed us. We thoroughly enjoyed our time, and Mike's driving skills are amazing.
Look forward to seeing them again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I am compelled to write about my two stays at this friendly b and b. I felt somewhat annoyed to read the negative comment from AM1976Irieland nothing could be more different from my stay.
I arrived initially early July for a four night stay, Mike and Averil were very welcoming and very informative of what awaits you in Truro and surrounds. As a single traveller I was delighted with my double room, ensuite and window view looking down into the city. Made more enticing by the view of the cathedral day and night. The continental breakfasts were more than enough but the hosts will oblige if you prefer a cooked breakfast. Mike has a wealth of knowledge about Cornwall and his tours are truly amazing, I joined a fellow traveller on the Lands End tour and wasn't expecting four wheel driving through some of the mining landscape, such a memorable experience. Averil is very knowledgeable regarding literature on Cornwall, family history and provided me with lots of information about checking on my Cornish ancestry.
I travelled for three months in the UK and decided to finish off my trip in Truro and unwind in a place I enjoyed at this great b and b. I spent another week and a bit here, beautiful river journeys
and just relaxing were the icing on the cake for me. Made more special by the charming hosts in
this beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: Quaint and charming rooms with antiques, room at back provides lovely view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MinkieCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed at The Fieldings for two nights and the accomodation and breakfast were excellent. The day trips we went on with Mike were very insightful and enjoyable due to his broad knowledge of the local area. We were met at the railway station by Mike and he on our departure he willingly dropped us back at the station.

We would recommend this type of accommodation and tour to those who want to have a more personal experience of Cornwall or those travelling by themeselves.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank london_travellers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain City, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

In August of this year three of us (all sisters) visited Salisbury, Glastonbury, Truro and many parts of Cornwall, and then went on to Ireland where we stayed in Knock, Clifden, Doolin, and Ennis. In all of these places we stayed in B&B's and had a local driver/guide to ensure we got to see our long list of sites of interest; mostly stone circles, iron and bronze age sites, standing stones, dolmens, old churches, and holy wells. We experienced many B&B's and hosts throughout the 2 week trip, and based on this experience, we would rate the service at the Fieldings very high. We stayed at The Fieldings for 6 days.

We had comfortable rooms - each with a small shower in the room and both sharing a bathroom on the same hall. We enjoyed good continental breakfasts each day and wonderful coffee and tea as desired. The two most notable points to make about this place are its hosts and its books. Averil and Mike are gracious, caring people who we connected with immediately and who felt like family to us. They are "our kind of people".

The house is loaded with books in every nook and hall and shelf; most are about Cornwall or some aspect of Cornish life. They provided a very delightful addition to our tours of the area. Mike was our tour guide/drive each day. We left the house by 9am and returned by 8pm most days. Mike provides great colorful commentary about the history and local lore surrounding the sites we visited. He is an excellent driver and knows every highway, back-road, and country lane. He drives equally well forward as well as in reverse (which is a highly needed skill we found out). We know that we could not have found the sites we wanted to see nor enjoyed ourselves as much if we had not had Mike there. Mike truly has a gift of being able to read his clientele. We felt sure he had our every wish already granted before we thought of it. We highly recommend Mike and Averil if you are looking for a central location for your own Cornwall adventure. We have very fond memories of this trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tine_beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

My wife and I went to Truro on holiday at the end of May this year. We booked 5 nights at "The Fieldings" in Truro based upon the good reviews on Tripadvisor and the pictures on their website. When we arrived we spent an hour looking for the B & B on the road it was listed at. When we finally found it, there was no sign advertising the B & B. I noticed straight away that the house looked nothing like the house on their website and became worried. There was little or no parking outside the house. We were led into the house by Averil Inglefield to the hall, which although old fashioned, looked ok. We were taken upstairs to our "room". As we entered a horrible mouldy smell hit us, the room looked like something out of the 1950's and by the look of it has not been decorated since or had the bed linen changed. There was a shower in the corner of the room, not in an ensuite, just smack band in the corner, upon inspection there was a good quantity of green mold growing inside it. At several places the wallpaper was peeling off the walls and on one wall there was damp running up it. The only window in the room had scaffolding directly outside it and the carpet was covered in all manner of debris, it was disgusting.

My wife and I spent all of about 5 minutes in the room and then left after telling Averil Inglefield that the room was disgusting and that I would not spend time in it if she paid me. We then had the trouble of trying to find somewhere to stay while we were on the first day of out holiday, fortunately we found a Premier Inn just down the road and actually managed to enjoy the rest of our holiday.

I would sincerely try to dissuade anyone from ever staying at this residence.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AM1976Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2006

We only stayed there for three days, but I was really impressed how much we enjoyed it. The room was good, food was wonderful and Mike's knowledge of Cornwall if truly excellent

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Lev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Donnington Guesthouse
1.1 mi away
Cliftons
Cliftons
#4 of 18 in Truro
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B at the Fieldings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B at the Fieldings

Property: B&B at the Fieldings
Address: 35 Treyew Road, Truro TR1 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fieldings B&B is just 15 minutes walk from the centre of Truro, 10 minutes walk from the railway station and 15 minutes walk from our bus station. We are approximately 100 yards/metres from the County Record Office, 100 yards/metres from Cornwall Council offices and a mile (1.5 Kms) from the Royal Cornwall Hospital at Treliske. Your hosts, Averil and Mike Inglefield, were both born in Cornwall, and they are happy to share their local knowledge (when appropriate!) And help their guest in every way they can. And a warm and friendly welcome awaits all our visitors in our comfortable Victorian town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your B&B at the Fieldings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B At The Fieldings Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing