We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the oldest, but very interesting”
Review of Truro Cathedral

Truro Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the oldest, but very interesting”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Be sure to visit the south aisle which is the oldest part and predates this 19th century cathedral.

Visited October 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    281
    65
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unashamedly Biased....”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

.....as during my childhood I was an associate chorister at the Cathedral, suplementing the numbers as required. (I was a treble) Going back was a joy. The Cathedral is well lit and warm, even in the deep mid winter. I attended evensong which brought back quite a few joyous memories. The bookshop staff were very welcoming and friendly. I was sorry that there were no DVD's of Á Seaside Parish"or Än Island Parish" on sale as I had heard of the series but never been able to view them.

The Willis Organ sounded superb and the outside renovations of recent years have been completed and it was good to the Cathedral without scaffolding.

Visited December 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Used to visit Truro Cathedral a lot when I lived in Cornwall - went in to have a look and light a candle for my parents, peaceful, beautiful and calming.

Visited October 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The cathedral was beautiful and well taken care of. I'm a fan of architectural wonders.

Visited November 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb music, great architecture and friendly people.”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I can't recommend a visit to Truro Cathedral highly enough. The architecture of the building is stunning but there is much more to it than this.

Truro Cathedral's organ is an internationally renowned and very rare Father Willis (played with breathtaking skill by both organist and deputy) and the choir is one of the best in the UK. It hosts many coverts of local and national choirs with superb soloists.

The shop is good and there is even a little Christmas shop at the moment selling beautiful decorations, cards etc. The cafe is also very reasonably priced and serves good food.

Visit the cathedral on your next visit to Truro and you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Truro Cathedral also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing