We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat in Cornwall”
other travellers have booked this property
The Byre from across the lawns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre from across the lawns
Master bedroom in the eaves with far reaching valley views (ample headroom; 8ft ) Sitting room area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Byre from across the lawns
Master bedroom in the eaves with far reaching valley views (ample headroom; 8ft )
Sitting room area
Bedroom 2 Nautical themed - full size bunk beds with safety rail
Adventure play
Large, bathroom
Spiral staircase to large bedroom in the eaves
Over the fields to Probus
Kitchen diner view
The Byre, part of deck and view
Summer hedgerow in the  lane
Looe -international fishing boat rally: Summer
Lizard point: midwinter
St Mawes: spring
Kynance cove: Easter
Portlooe May
Across the National Trust naturalised meadow to Polly Joke, May
The Royal Cornwall show, June
December at Wheel Coates
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Truro, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pies1976
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in Cornwall ”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A perfect cottage when visiting Cornwall! Clean, spacious and ideal for exploiting all parts of Cornwall!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Louise, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location quiet countryside with lovely views
Liked least: the narrow lanes!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPP64
Lake Louise, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet & peaceful in Cornish countryside”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely cottage with all amenities, great for a couple or families. Large Master bedroom, up spiral stair case. Downstairs large bathroom and second bedroom, tastefully decorated kitchen has home from home appliances.

Location near the North Cornish coast and the City of Truro. Country cottage in the peaceful Cornish farmland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillyNor...
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base, well equipped, fabulous views and superb location to explore Cornwall.”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a really wonderful week. We were regular visitors to Cornwall but it was 10 years since our last holiday so we were looking for a place in a good location so we could re-expore- we found it in The Byre. A quaint,spacious and well equipped conversion in a peaceful location with stunning views. The owners, Judith and Steve were very thoughtful, contacting us ahead of the trip with directions including ways to avoid traffic on the A30, providing a welcome cream tea - delicious, and suggesting places for us to visit. We did so much during the week so it was lovely to retreat in the evening back to The Byre. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great week at Tregear Barns which is an ideal place to stay to explore the whole of Cornwall. Centrally located but in a quiet rural location overlooking fields and by all accounts, entirely safe. We have 8 and 11 y.o boys who shared the second bedroom - much older than this and I guess you'd have to ask your kids if they'll a) share and b) use bunk beds.

Judith provided a warm welcome and the scones with home made jam (& cream of course) were fantastic. We went to Eden, Heligan, Truro, St Austell, Padstow (Camel Trail), Trellisick, Geevor etc. All good places to go for 1/2 or a full day. All in all, an excellent holiday and great place to stay.... Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Nothing really - only thing that could be improved is the Wi-Fi (maybe a booster in the barn?)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireille...
1 review
“Great location, great accommodation”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely half term week. Location is great for getting around Cornwall. Accommodation was comfortable and clean. Cream tea provided on arrival was a lovely gesture. Proprietors were welcoming and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James8818...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic and very child friendly!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I booked the Byre for me, my wife and our 17 month old son as we wanted somewhere relaxing and child friendly. On arrival we were met with a very warm welcome by Judith and Steve and shown around The Byre. It was very clean and the entire place felt it had been decorated with no expenses spared, everything was quality. There was lots of little extras such as scones, fresh flowers, fruit basket, tea, milk etc which made us feel very welcome and at home instantly.

The safety gate and cot where already set up which was another little touch making our arrival more enjoyable. Extra safety items such as corner cushions and door slam stoppers where provided which helped make our holiday more relaxing knowing our son could run around safely. The play area and garden where fantastic and the whole place in general was child friendly.

Situated in the countryside, the area was beautiful and calm. The views from The Byre where lovely . Quite central, everywhere was only a short drive away. For those with young children, Dairyland (about 15 minutes away) is definitely worth a visit, it has lots to do and a brilliant indoor play area, you also get a week long pass to visit as much as you want! The Owl Sanctuary is also close by which again is worth a visit if you want a break from the beach.

For families or couples of any age, i could not recommend The Byre enough. It really is a fantastic place, Judith and Steve are really helpful and Cornwall has so much to do it was impossible to do it all in a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing