We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we stayed here for our pearl wedding anniversery.what a warm welcome on arrival the room very clean the food excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hill Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snitterfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hill Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Snitterfield B&B and Inns
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“we stayed here for our pearl wedding anniversery.what a warm welcome on arrival the room very clean the food excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

gillian & paul made us very welcome .the room was very clean. the food excellent. what a gorgeous place to stay only wish we could have stayed longer. gillian & paul were fabulous host.thank you for a wonderfull stay. we will see you again. excellent location.pauline & martin lincolnshire

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
It was our pleasure to have guests celebrating such a wonderful occasion! You both seemed to relax and enjoy your time exploring the delights of Stratford. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for other travellers. See you again before too long we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
34
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

If you are visiting Stratford-upon-Avon, exploring Warwickshire or just passing through, you will enjoy staying here, it is faultless! A first-class property in an excellent location together with owners who care - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyds20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when visiting your family locally; it was very pleasant to meet you. We're glad you were comfortable and hope to see you again when you are next in the area.......
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

If you want a very quiet, peaceful base from which to explore the Cotswolds then Hill Cottage is an excellent choice. Set in a beautiful garden and run by two friendly but not intrusive hosts, you would find it difficult to find similar accommodation. Stratford is only 3 miles away with all it's wonderful history and Moreton-in-Marsh, Stow-on-the Wold, Oxford are within easy driving distance. Breakfast was yummy and our room, with a double aspect, was light and comfortable. The bathroom was across the landing from our room but this was not an inconvenience.The house is undergoing some alterations and the downstairs areas are a delight. Thank you Paul and Gillian

Room Tip: The stairs to bedrooms are quite steep and would not suit elderly or disabled people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
It was our pleasure to provide the base from which you two friends could have such a fun time exploring the area! There are indeed some lovely and interesting places within easy reach. Thank you for choosing to say at The Hill Cottage and we hope to see you when you plan another weekend break.

Note: Travellers can click on our access statement at the bottom of the home page of our website at thehillcottage.co.uk. Here you will details for the less able, including helpful photographs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Gillian is a fabulous host, her home is gorgeous and the renovation downstairs is lovely and modern. Our room was beautiful, the views are of lovely country and garden, the bed was a bit on the small side for us as we are used to a king, but it was still ok, I think that we were supposed to have the larger room initially, which would have been better. There was carpet in the bathroom which will be changed in the future I think, but it was all very clean and fine. The breakfasts were fab, in a beautiful dining room. We dined at the local pub Snitterfield arms, which is fantastic and close, we had a lovely time there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review. I very much enjoyed chatting to you about renovations and interiors in general. Yes, we are pleased with our renovation programme which does include bathroom/shower room refurbishments. Do come and see us again soon to see the results!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

A lovely historic english cottage surrounded by beautiful gardens. Gillian was an amazing hostess and went above and beyond in looking after us! Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
It was my pleasure to help you enjoy the weekend with your friends. Thank you for staying with us and for your further cheque, safely received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Visiting from Spain....Myself and my daughters spent 3 days at Hill Cottage while visiting familiy in the area. We were made extremely welcome....nothing was too much trouble, and my daughters thought it was the most enchanting English cottage, and they loved walking through the gardens and taking photos of the bluebells. The breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend Hill Cottage.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
It was lovely to meet you and your girls and to see their obvious enjoyment of the cottage and gardens which must be white a contrast to their experiences back home in Spain. Hopefully we will have helped them develop a favourable impression of their English Mother's heritage!
Do please visit us again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay here with friendly hosts Gillian & Paul. Travelling with another couple, we occupied 2 rooms for 3 nights. The double room had en-suite facilities whilst the twin room had a separate and exclusive bathroom across the hallway. Facilities were modern and clean.Views across the valley towards Stratford were spectacular. Breakfast was great. The only downside was that the spiral staircase was steep and difficult to negotiate with luggage.This is a top place to stay and explore Stratford-upon-Avon which is not far away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Yes, you really seemed to enjoy exploring the area and packed in a lot of sightseeing with your friends whilst you were based here. Glad to be of service in giving you somewhere comfortable to return to at the end of your busy days. Thank you for your review.
Note: we always offer to carry luggage for our guests to/from their rooms so they can take the cottage stairs unencumbered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snitterfield
2.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare's View
Shakespeare's View
#20 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Cottage

Property: The Hill Cottage
Address: The Hill Cottage Kings Lane | City: Stratford-upon-Avon, Snitterfield, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Snitterfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Snitterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hill Cottage is a character house set in idyllic Warwickshire countryside with far-reaching views over orchards and golf course to the hills beyond. Explore the extensive grounds, including bluebell wood (best in early May). Discover the local area of Shakespeare's Stratford, the River Avon and the theatre, or wander a little further and discover The Cotswolds, Warwick and its Castle, Leamington Spa, Birmingham, many National Trust properties, walks, country pubs, museums, beautiful gardens and much, much more. We look forward to welcoming you to a relaxing and memorable break! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hill Cottage Snitterfield, Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing