We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Happy days at White Rocks"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Happy days at White Rocks"”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned after a week in White Rocks. My son and his fiancée chose this hotel as a base for themselves and their wedding guests although they didn't actually get married in the hotel. We couldn't find fault with anything, even the transfer time from the airport is only 10 minutes. The hotel, set in a beautiful location, was spotless. Our rooms were quite spacious and airy with your own private balcony. The staff were friendly and helpful and offered an efficient portering service. The menu's are varied with a good selection of English and Greek food. Taxis booked by the hotel were always prompt and no variation in prices charged ie 7euros to go into Argostolli. The view, from our room, over the sea with gorgeous sunsets couldn't have been better. The only noise from outside, at night, was the sea rolling in. We had two beaches to chose from and another very close, with water sports. The beaches were not totally easy to get to and may be a bit of a challenge to visitors with mobility problems, the pathways are quite steep and there are several steps to negotiate. The beach bar has a good selection of refreshments and their pizzas come highly recommended. Overall opinion is the 5 star rating is well deserved. We would definitely recommend the hotel, and will definately consider going back for a second visit.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gardnersprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    281
    98
    17
    17
See reviews for
191
752
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bromsgrove
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel and I hope to return. It is situated in a lovely location and the views from the restaurant are beautiful. The rooms are a good size with plenty of wardrobe space. Bathrooms are well lit and well thought out with two shower heads, one for sitting in the bath and rinsing hair etc, and a standard one. There is also a super shaving/make-up mirror which so many bathrooms lack. The food is very good with the only exception being the scrambled eggs for breakfast. Give them a miss and have the fried which for some odd reason are hidden away under lids! If you want evening meal around 8-15 be prepared to queue as everyone gets in early and you have to wait till the early diners have finished. All the staff speak very good English and are polite and helpful. A brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alysonBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was our first trip to the greek islands after my Sister's recommened the island. The Hotel was brilliant but if you have difficulty geeting around I wouldn't recommend it due to the un level nature of the terrian. The staff were all very pollite and helpful and spoke good english, which helps with those of us that don't make much attempt to speak the language when abroad. The food was of a high standard and varied which is good for a fussy eater like me. Can't quite make out what all the fuss is about the dress code for dinner as this is only in keeping with the quality of the accomadation and standards, it gave the wife plenty of opportunity to wear all those new dresses. Good location to base yourself to visit the entire island.

Room Tip: The room that view onto the rear of the hotel are not noisy despite the road near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with everything in the recent review by Membersouthwest. The White Rocks could be absolutely fabulous, with just a few improvements. We just came back from ten days in mid September. The location is stunning with views over the sea and sunsets to die for, and on the whole the accommodation and public areas are extremely comfortable, modern and well furnished. But for a hotel whose website advertises it as a five star, it lets itself down with some silly penny pinching savings and other inexplicable omissions. For example, the orange juice at breakfast is diluted concentrate rather than fresh juice, horrible! There is no sugar on the tables so when the waiters pour your coffee or tea you have to get up and and get your own sugar from the buffet counter. Alright I know that's hardly a deal breaker, but why on earth not have sugar on the tables? In the accommodation, there is no tea or coffee although they provide kettles and crockery, again why? Also no facial tissues in the bathroom although toiletries are provided. I totally agree too with comments about the pool area. For a hotel of this standard, it needs an overhaul. Better, more comfortable sunbeds are needed. The pool bar food menu is boring and bland and is not good enough quality for a 5 star hotel. a waiter service for food and drinks should also be provided. Finally, we would have eaten in the a la carte restaurant on some evenings as a change to the buffet (which could get a bit monotonous, particularly the starters) but there is no allowance made against the bill for those who want to do this as a change of venue/menu - unlike many other hotels we've stayed in where a fixed sum is allowed against the a la carte bill. So instead we opted to eat out in Lassi on three out of our ten days which while very pleasant, was annoying when you've already paid for dinner at the hotel. We would go back to Lassi. But are not sure about going back to the White Rocks.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyrpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Reviewer,
The White Rocks welcomes and values guest comments and feedback. Which is why we provide an in-house Concierge, Guests Relations, dedicated Front Desk team, Bespoke services and Guest questionnaire.
We can confirm the Hotel offers a wide range of accessible information relating to the hotel and how to contact us, including a frequently asked questions section which is all available on the Hotel’s website. Furthermore if you have booked with a Tour Operator please refer to their terms and conditions and brochure.
If you had experienced any disappointment or wished to make a complaint you must do so during your stay. It is impossible to acknowledge your dissatisfaction if we have not had the opportunity to discuss or investigate during your stay.
Sincerely yours,
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in a lovely location and has recently been refurbished(had been there twice before). The rooms are now much brighter and comfortable. A kettle is provided but no coffee or milk.
The food was lovely but unfortunately we had to queue for a table unless we ate very late.
The beach bar is beautiful and is a perfect setting to look out over the sea under lovely shady pine trees.
There is also a lovely cocktail bar in the grounds playing great music.
Entertainment is 2 nights of wonderful greek bouzouki music.
A perfect haven for a peaceful and relaxing holiday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innieskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We took my 92yr old Father to this hotel although it does have a lot of steps it did not stop him from getting about.
The hotel staff were really friendly and very helpful as I had emailed them before going, regarding a suitable room for him.
all the staff were friendly and the food was excellent. I had read in other reviews about the wait but this is only if everyone goes at 7.30 if you go slightly later its fine. Just remember you are on holiday so NO rush.
I cant wait to go again next year with friends.

Room Tip: Have a sea view or a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Reception welcoming, helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was immaculate, clean and well equipped with flat screen TV, air conditioning and masses of draws and wardrobe space.The mini-bar prices are not too extortionate either so we did make some use of it. Bathroom also immaculate with the usual goodies and an excellent hairdryer. The hotel has a modern and quite upmarket feel to it with interesting decor and attentive staff. The buffet restaraunt has fantastic views of the sunset and the choice and quality of the food is absolutely wonderful. There is also an a la carte restaraunt which we didn't feel the need to even consider visiting - neither did anyone we spoke to. The resort is quite elongated along a cliff top so there is some walking needed to visit the beautiful infinity pool and a steep slope down to the private pebbly beach and many steps down to the public sandy beach which is much better for swimming. There is a bus stop at the north end of the hotel grounds which will take you to the main town and Its only five minutes walk to the local mini supermarket as there is no shop at the hotel (except a jewellery shop). All in all definately better than average for a package tour hotel. Petr and Louise

Room Tip: get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexusman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Gialos
0.8 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
766 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#5 of 19 in Lassi
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
18.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Property: White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Address: Lassis | Kefalonia, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Dining Room serving buffet breakfast and dinner. Stairs down to a ground floor Lungomare a la la Carte Restaurant serving set menu a la carte and set menu lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Platis Gialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing