We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our first visit to Kefalonia. We booked our holiday through Thomson ( Excellent as always ) and stayed last week in September/ 1st week in October. What a beautiful Island. We are glad we chose to stay in Lassi and the White Rocks Hotel. Close to shops, bars etc in Lassi and with easy reach by bus or taxi to Argostoli. Try to see the Turtles in Argostoli, the fishing boats arrive in at approx 9.30am and you should see these large Turtles around that time. Also Lassi is a good base to explore the island.
The hotel was fantastic, clean, modern and in a lovely setting. We stayed in the main block, double room was with a sea view, what a view! The staff where fantasic and couldn't do enough to help if required. We totally agree with the dress code for evening meal, it's part of the holiday in dressing smart in the evening. I have been in the heat of summer in other hotels and always wore trousers in the evening for meals whilst in shorts during the day. Keep it up Whte Rocks. The food was always excellent, why people say there was a lack of fish dishes, every night had different fish dishes.
Queing was not an issue for us, go a liitle later. No issues. You are on holiday, go with the flow and chill.
The small beach was ideal for us. Lovely walk through the grounds to it.
All in all we would recomend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view. Some of the rooms may have the view slighly broken by the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Cleano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    263
    94
    18
    18
See reviews for
178
685
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a two week stay in August and enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's definitely not a hotel to go to if you have any sort of mobility problems due to the many steps and ramps around the grounds. However, it is in a stunning position and offers lovely views. It's about a 15 minute walk into Lassi and the nearest supermarket. We stayed in one of the bungalows which we were very happy with. Lovely comfy bed, spotlessly clean, very peaceful and an amazing view. We had two weeks of lovely sunshine while we were there so walking to and from the main hotel building wasn't a problem. However, if it was raining, it could be a problem as some of the bungalows are quite a distance away. We both enjoyed a really good choice of food in the restaurant which was buffet style. We never had a problem with queueing to get in but did see people queueing outside the restaurant on a few occasions. The idea of having to dress for dinner each night was nice but became rather a hassle with the weather being so hot. After dinner each evening we returned to our room for my husband to get changed again into something more comfortable to go out for a walk. The sunbeds around the hotel pool and on their own beach are free of charge but if you're not up and out to claim one early enough you'll be out of luck. We much preferred going down to one of the the local public beaches where we paid 6 Euros for two beds and a brolly for the day. Overall , to be honest, it wasn't the best hotel we've ever stayed in but we did enjoy our stay while we were there. If you want to go to that area in Kefalonia - we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Any sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrsRobinsonPrestonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a fabulous hotel. Nondescript looking from the road but once inside it was just class. Quality rooms with great standards throughout the hotel to the extent of strictly maintaining a dress code for the restaurant. Extensive grounds with easy access to two beaches made this a stay to remember. The ability to mix and match lunch and dinner made it easy to visit local diners. All in all this was a great value holiday. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are obviously the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Geraint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed at White Rocks as a solo lady traveller and loved it! My room wasn't ideal,i felt like i was in a dungeon but it seems a solo person doesn't get the choice of a seaview and a balcony here. Luckily the weather was great and i was on the beach or around the lovely peaceful pool most days. Food was lovely, i stayed h/b and after evening meal i spent several hrs at the Corner Bar which is so enchanting, and the sunsets awesome!
I will without a doubt go back,be nice with someone as the whole island is so pretty, but i made many friends, ladys having a week away while hubbys at work,couples...they were all a mixed crowd so my whole stay will live with me forever. Go here,its lovely :)
I stayed May 2012 for a week and travelled with Thomsons.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 336Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have to agree with most of the reviews regarding the location and views but that's where it ends for me.
we had a bungalow which was a ten minute walk from the hotel and got drowned twice getting there.
I was looking forward to a nice dining experience where you can relax over a glass of wine and take in the panoramic views but I was disappointed in fact fed up to the teeth with having to queue to get into the restaurant and having to wait for people to finish which bought about a frantic change of table clothes to accommodate you.
They have developed the site at the detriment of other amenities, the restaurant being one of them.
It is buffet so when you do get in you end up queuing again and then have to put up with the endless traffic of people getting up and bumping into you as they pass.
It is a Thomson pack em in feed them and get em out reminiscent to a m&s café and yet despite all the moans and groans you hear whilst queuing to get in they have a lot of repeat business. I heard they are applying for a Thomson "Platinum" I think they have a long way to go, firstly address the buffet and make it waiter service and make the restaurant larger to accommodate all those people you enticed there and make the whole thing a bit more special for them. secondly provide sunbed mattress's there aren't any !
I for one will never be returning but there are a lot of people that will that's why nothing will ever be addressed !

Room Tip: You pay extra for bungalows but take my advice unless you get one close to the hotel it is better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ron u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Reviewer,

The White Rocks welcomes and values guest comments and feedback. Which is why we provide an in-house Concierge, Guests Relations, dedicated Front Desk team, Bespoke services and Guest questionnaire.
We can confirm the Hotel offers a wide range of accessible information relating to the hotel and how to contact us, including a frequently asked questions section which is all available on the Hotel’s website. Furthermore if you have booked with a Tour Operator please refer to their terms and conditions and brochure.
If you had experienced any disappointment or wished to make a complaint you must do so during your stay. It is impossible to acknowledge your dissatisfaction if we have not had the opportunity to discuss or investigate during your stay.

Sincerely yours,
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here 29th September - 13th October.

Wonderful hotel, staff and food. We stayed initially in bungalow number 36, and after 4 days we were asked by the management if we didn’t mind being upgraded to a bungalow suite closer to the hotel. I have to say that we were impressed with the first room, contemporary fixtures and fittings and a really comfortable bed, but the next room surpassed that with extra room, sofas and a larger bathroom with separate bath and shower and larger balcony. Incidentally, in both instances the room charge includes the safety deposit box, which is a big plus point, nothing extra to pay on arrival for that facility. All areas of the hotel are kept spotlessly clean.
Meals – breakfast was served between 7.30am and 9.30 am. I think you would have to be really fussy to complain about the choices here, there is more than enough choice to cater for any reasonable person’s palate. I have to mention the Greek yoghurt here, oh my what a treat, enjoy this while you can, nothing meets its standard back home! Breads, fruits, cooked meats, pastries and biscuits, or from the hot buffet, the usual Full English is available. As soon as you arrive a member of staff pours you a fruit juice and tea or coffee, and will top up your cup through your time at the table. Evening meal – first of all I have to say that we always “dress for dinner”, and that the Thomson brochure does state, “smart dress/trousers for dinner”, so you can’t say that you weren’t properly informed! You wouldn’t go down the high street to your respective restaurants for a lovely evening meal wearing shorts and sandals would you, (or maybe some people would)! There are standards to be adhered to and its reassuring to see so many that did make the effort. I agree with another post that sometimes the temperature of the food and plates did vary from cold to hot. Overall, the choices were wonderful and I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed everything I ate in this restaurant. I have to give a special mention about the very cheerful Evangelia and Yiannis, greeted us every time with lovely genuine smiles, so pleasant. I also need to mention Makis, the luggage handler, he was so helpful and knowledgeable about the island, he was only too pleased to chat to us about where we had been to visit. The reception staff were also pleasant and always ready to help, they arranged our late checkout a couple of days before our departure so we could get on and enjoy the rest of our holiday without thinking about it.
All in all, a really wonderful hotel with top quality staff in a great location. We would go back here with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Bungalows have a fantastic sea view, well worth having a lot of extra space too. Would be ideal for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had 7 days half board at the White Rocks Hotel between 6th & 13th October 2013. Whilst the 'A la Carte' restaurant was closed the day before we arrived the buffet restaurant and all other amenities appeared to continue to the full. The food was excellent albeit that sometimes it could have been hotter. The bar, bedrooms and common areas are of extremely high standard. The pool area is well maintained with a snack bar. The cocktail bar only opened on one evening. The staff were superb and we kept our room until leaving at 5pm. At this time of year it was mainly couples. Thompson Holidays were our agents and, unfortunately, dropped all but one of the excursions. However, easy walk to Argostolli (50 minutes) and we used the local bus service for days out to Sami and Poros which were cheap but wonderful journeys. Lovely local beaches and good swimming in the sea.

Room Tip: We had a sea view just above the bar - would be quieter away from the bar when in full season. (Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, w at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Reviewer,
The White Rocks welcomes and values guest comments and feedback. Which is why we provide an in-house Concierge, Guests Relations, dedicated Front Desk team, Bespoke services and Guest questionnaire.
We can confirm the Hotel offers a wide range of accessible information relating to the hotel and how to contact us, including a frequently asked questions section which is all available on the Hotel’s website. Furthermore if you have booked with a Tour Operator please refer to their terms and conditions and brochure.
If you had experienced any disappointment or wished to make a complaint you must do so during your stay. It is impossible to acknowledge your dissatisfaction if we have not had the opportunity to discuss or investigate during your stay.
Sincerely yours,
The White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Gialos
0.7 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#1 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enalion Suites
Enalion Suites
#5 of 19 in Lassi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Property: White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Address: Lassis, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Dining Room serving buffet breakfast and dinner. Stairs down to a ground floor Lungomare a la la Carte Restaurant serving set menu a la carte and set menu lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Platis Gialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing