We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Happy Holiday”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from another fantastic holiday at White Rocks, stayed in a bungalow with the most spectacular sea view, the bungalow itself was spacious and comfortable with all the facilities you could wish for including a fantastic comfy king size bed, the cleanliness was second to none and the maids were friendly, polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. We thought the food was fantastic with plenty of variation, unlike holidaygirl186408 if we could find frozen roast potatoes like she mentions we would buy them every week, we had no frozen food served at any meal we enjoyed at the hotel restaurant. Also, unlike Pam D we never had to queue for our food, dinner at the hotel was between the hours of 19:30 - 21:30 we found that most guests wanted to have dinner the moment the restaurant opened and so of course that caused a bit of a problem, we decided to eat a little later and had no problem at all. We found all the staff extremely friendly and helpful and we have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank armstrong94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    285
    99
    17
    17
See reviews for
203
767
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Harling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had our belated honeymoon at the White Rocks Hotel so our expectations were very high, we were not disappointed. Our room was a very spacious double with a lovely balcony, bath & shower, lots of wardrobe space and an extremely comfy bed. The hotel was immaculate and cleaned on a daily basis. Lots of different areas to enjoy a cocktail and watch the sunset or a fab morning coffee. The food on offer was very tasty, freshly cooked and lots of variety to suit every taste. We cannot praise the staff enough, from the ladies that serviced our room daily to the helpful reception desk, not forgetting the Restaurant team who were attentive, polite and smiling even throughout the busy dinner service. The team that ran the Lobby Bar and the rest of the bar staff that managed the other bars on the complex we're superb and very friendly.
We booked through Thompson and our rep was on site everyday with recommendations of trips etc although most of the time we pleased ourselves as there was so much to do. The private beach was amazing and the hotel pool spacious and relaxing and just a short walk from the complex are two public beaches with sun loungers for daily hire, Lassi itself is friendly and offers traditional cuisine and handy shops for water purchases. Argostoli is within walking distance and the logger head turtles that appear every morning by the harbor to great the fishing boats is well worth an early morning stroll. There is a bus service from the hotel and taxis are cheap and very reliable. We would also recommend for any wine enthusiasts a trip (5 min taxi ride) to Gentilini Winery for a tour, it was one of the highlights of our trip and we sampled fantastic wines & olive oil, our host Nora was very friendly, informative & enthusiastic and made us feel extremely welcome. What more could you want from a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieandJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from the White Rocks hotel in Kefalonia what a fabulous holiday booked a bungalow and the room was like an infinity room as it looked straight over the turquoise ocean. The room was very modern and extremely clean and the maid service was excellent. The only negative comment we have about the hotel is the restaurant facility although very, very clean it did feel like a canteen as we did sometimes have to queue for our meal, we felt the food was very repetitive and occasionally not hot enough. At breakfast some of the waiters were not very good at offering tea and coffee and had to ask for a repeat cup. We would like to say a big thank you to Yami in the restaurant as he looked after us very well and once we found him we made sure we sat down at his tables. We would go back again as we we felt the holiday was wall to wall relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Recommended this hotel by customers of almost 20 years standing, but was decidedly underwhelmed. Was looking forward to soak in bath after long journey, but room had only shower - despite the WR website claiming all garden view rooms had baths. Had to take shower wearing flip flops due in order to remain upright on slippery floor. Marble floors/stairs in communal areas were lethal - although the local hospital came highly recommended by those going home with arms in plaster casts. Food was unexciting (even I can rustle up frozen roast potatoes!). Couldn't even have an afternoon nap in the room due to the strains of the best of Andrew Lloyd Webber played on the pan pipes wafting down the corridor. Yes, it was spotlessly clean but sterile and charmless.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaygirl186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, The White Rocks team at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Holiday Girl

Thank you for your review. Kindly note that there is only one inland view room overlooking the garden out 100 rooms in the main building that has a rain shower instead of a bathtub as the hotel includes that amenity and facilities for a guest who cannot use a bathtub. Our website provides accurate information about all our rooms so the information you provide is innacurate.

Furthermore, we are always more than happy to relocate any guest should he or she contact our Front Desk but as it appears that you chose not to do so.

For the rest of your review we cannot comment as you are not describing this hotel.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in one of the bungalows .it had the most beautiful sea views ever,the room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. King size bed ,plenty of wardrobes and draws. Twin hand basins walk in shower and spacious toilet. Outstanding ,comfortable and pleasant. With its own veranda with 2 chairs and table. Couldn't ask for more. The restaurant and bar were very nice, the food was really nice. Plenty of choice and unlimited quantities. No complaints from us. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. No problems other than the fact it's built on the side of the cliffs so any one with disabilities might struggle as their are a few quite steep areas around the hotel and steps .but other than that we couldn't falt this accommodation. Beautiful .Will go back any time. Thanks to all the staff for a great time.

Room Tip: Bungalows. All have sea views. Perfect. Just a bit of a walk to them but we'll worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dianne120861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Part way through our holiday so laid back its amazing.
Internet is free can use by pool in room's even on the beech.
Dinner is formal and very good quality. Very clean hotel and lovely lovely staff. The rooms are spotless just gorgeous. Right on the beach .lassi is good for lunch and prices are reasonable. A very quiet holiday but that's just how we like it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Cath F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Whilst we cannot in any way fault the hotel and the services provided, our only problem was that we booked through Thomsons.!!!! They made a complete mess of the Wedding and wedding arrangements and this was only saved from complete disaster by Olga the local Rep.The first week of our stay was really superb but a distinct change occured the second week when the hotel became very crowded and the very high standard of catering slipped a little. The staff at the hotel were really excellent in all respects. Would certainly stay at the hotel again but would avoid any further involvement with Thomsons!!!!

Room Tip: must book with sea view as others face a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmvepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Gialos
1.3 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
377 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
22.4 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
496 reviews
18.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Property: White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Address: Lassis | Kefalonia, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Dining Room serving buffet breakfast and dinner. Stairs down to a ground floor Lungomare a la la Carte Restaurant serving set menu a la carte and set menu lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Platis Gialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing