We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Clevedon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just got back from the White Rocks Hotel, Kefalonia, and our experience was absolutely fantastic. We could not fault the staff who were so friendly, helpful and obliging, our bungalow was a Junior Suite, it was roomy, well laid out, the view superb and the ladies who cleaned the room every day also changed the towels every day, including yellow beach towels.

The food was varied and plentiful, if there was a problem it was stopping yourself from being a glutton which was not easy because of the choice put before you.

The layout of the complex was varied, it had it's own beach with its own free sun loungers and parasols with a bar just above it under trees where you could get toasted sandwiches pizzas, filled rolls, etc. There was another beach which was sandy but you paid a modest fee for the sun loungers and parasols.

I noted that there have recently been a few adverse comments, mosquito's being one of them. Well you are in a very warm climate and would it make sense to take the necessary repellants. A rocky beach was another complaint, it's a rocky coast, not being able to get into the swimming pool until after it had been thoroughly cleaned, better to have good hygiene. The evening dress code was criticised, well, it was nice to sit down amongst cleaned casually dressed guests. If you have complaints, go to reception where this hotel would bend over backwards to rectify any problems you may have. It is a family run hotel and the lady who is one of the family owners is absolutely charming and takes very seriously the welfare of her guests and problems which might arise

We found the complex to be very peaceful and relaxing and will definitely be considering going there again and it will be about the same time, early June as the temperature was great. If there was one slight drawback it was being just a little out of Lassie and Argostoli but the taxi's were so reasonable that it was no real problem.

Room Tip: Go for a bungalow if you want a good sea view especially nos. 16 -29
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    272
    96
    17
    18
See reviews for
187
723
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north east UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to the white rocks. The 1st time was before the refurb. We enjoyed it last time but didn't really like the food much. This visit was brilliant. The rooms have been refitted to a very high standard. Clean towels and linen every day. Twin sinks, fantastic shower, loads of wardrobe space and a view to die for. The food was lovely, particularly the desserts which are usually poor in Greece. We were in a bungalow and it is a little way from the hotel but it's such a lovely walk. The only complaint was there was a lot of low steps that you could not see very well. My friend fell on 1 step that was difficult to see and split all of her lip. I had previously tripped on the step and my husband stubbed his toes more than once on them. They need to have some marking on them so that you can see them. Other than that it's a great hotel. We loved the beach where fish swam right up to the shore and the cocktail bar that made the best margaritas ever. Staff were great and we don't understand people nit picking over silly little things! Don't think about going , just book it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the White Rocks Hotel for a week from the 1st of June. During our stay we thought we would try to come up with any faults with the hotel and came up with a big fat zero!! This is simply because the hotel is of such a good standard, and believe me my wife and I do have high standards. Its immaculately clean, food very good with a good choice within a stylish restaurant, very polite staff, nice clean pool area, good private beach with a nice beach bar. Also the hotel bars are cheap, €3.50 for a large beer!!. We had a sea view room which had a lovely bathroom and spacious bedroom. I would not have liked to have been at the back of the hotel as these rooms over look the road. Platis Gialos beach, just a stones through from the hotel, is very nice with a clear blue sea. 2 sun beds with parasol only €6.00!!. If you would like to see turtles just go to Argostoli around 11am and you will see plenty being fed in the harbour by the local fisherman. We shall return next year. Enjoy…..p.s please feed the cats and kittens down by Platis Glalos beach.

Room Tip: Best rooms are sea view rooms. We were on the 2nd floor and this was better than views on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElliotJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent a lovely week at the White Rocks Hotel at the end of May and we had a lovely relaxing time. The hotel is very smart and very well kept. As others have said people with mobility problems would find it difficult getting around the various parts of the hotel but we found that it made the hotel more interesting being so spread out. I have to say that a couple of things were not as good as we expected. The food for example was always very nice but no way was there the amazing variety that some reviewers have stated. I would say that the Thomson Gold hotels we have stayed at had a much better choice of food at both breakfast and dinner although it must be said my wife and I enjoyed every meal we had. We never had any trouble queuing for a table either even though the hotel was full but we did always go down latish for each meal.
The room we had was very big and very smart although I found it a bit annoying not having a shaver point in the bathroom. We had chosen a "garden view" room as well which was very disappointing but that was our own fault of course. The sea view rooms and bungalows had stunning views...we looked out onto a very small grassy bank next to the main road.
The drinks prices at the hotel were very reasonable indeed by Greek Hotel standards..3 euros for a large beer and the same for a glass of wine (the wine is much cheaper by the glass in this hotel) my wife would have a glass of white wine whenever we went to the poolside bar (not actually beside the pool but down a small bank) and the barman would fill a half pint plastic glass for 3 euros. The poolside bar is a great place to have a snack and a drink at lunchtime as the views are stunning,
Our favorite bar was the Corner Cocktail Bar right at the edge of the hotel.....open from 6pm to 1.30 am with same price drinks as the other hotel bars....look out for the waitress Elena she will look after you and tell you of places to visit locally.
The walk into Lassi is about 5-10 minutes from the Cocktail bar and if you get to the far end of the strip you can carry on to Argostali in about another 30 mins. We walked both there and back a couple of times, Get into Argostali for about 11.30 am and you will see the turtles....no need to get there early in the morning as some fishing boats get back at lunchtime.
We went to Greek Night at Zorbas ( about 10 mins walk from hotel) and had a great time with our new found friends Mick and Sarah from London.
All in all a great place to visit and a great place to stay although we will book a sea view room next time.

Room Tip: Avoid the garden view rooms although they will be very cool in the height of the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobhaskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently stayed at the White Rocks Hotel Lassi in Kefalonia . The hotel had been recently refurbished. That's reflected in the clean lines of the restaurant and reception and the practical layout of the room in which we stayed. We had upgraded to a suite which came in the form of a bungalow which had stunning sea views but didn't have a complimentary bottle of water on arrival. Whilst the room was lovely and clean we discovered eventually a large gap under the front door which accounted for our mosquito bites, which meant we had to plug the gap and fumigate the room every evening.
Unfortunately the hotel has an air of regimentation and control in it's daily running which was particularly noticeable at meal times. Seating and dress codes were not uniformly dealt with and the amount and balance of the food available was poor. In particular desserts were either milk based or in cake form and what fresh fruit was available was usually pre-sliced and all on one small tray all of which was not replenished regularly. At breakfast sauce was not readily available ie HP etc and sugar was not on the tables but had to be collected with other breakfast items despite coffee or tea being served at the table.
The air of control extended to the swimming pool where opening times were strictly adhered to despite the daily gathering of holiday makers kept waiting behind a chain whilst the pool staff continued with their final pernickety duties. That said the majority of the staff we encountered were efficient and friendly. It's not a place we would return to personally but Kefalonia is a beautiful island and well worth the cost of a hire car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, The White Rocks team at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for your review. We are sorry that the Mediterranean summer heat includes annoying mosquitoes at night. For your convenience we do offer mosquito repellent sprays at Reception and advice guests to keep their room lights switched off when having windows open. No gap in any room was reported as our doors are brand new, nor found any on routine ispection, therefore it would be really usefull if you let us know your room number to rectify any problem if available.

In regards to your comments about HP sauce at breakfast kindly note that in Greece we do not use sauce as HP at breakfast, thus we don’t put such sauces in every breakfast table. However we are more than happy to provide it promptly if requested.

In regards to the pool time table kindly note that we do have an early morning daily cleaning of our pool to insure disinfection and hygiene. We also have a private beach for our early bird customers on top of the other two beaches right in front, to the right and the left of the hotel.

We read all reviews carefully and we do understand that house rules containing a dress code might be an issue for some travelers, so we thank you for sharing your views with the travel community.

In concluding kindly note that the majority of guests appreciate all the things that make their vacation special at the White Rocks. A super clean pool, an evening dress code, value for money dining, excellent customer service, discrete entertainment and stylish environment.

For that we are sorry to see you go.
Sincerely
The White Rocks team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the White Rocks May/June 2014 for 7 nights, staying in a bungalow. We'll try and be succinct with our review as follows:
PROS
Coach transfer time only 10 minutes. Easy check in and bags taken separately to bungalow by vehicle while we made our own way there on foot following the map provided by reception. Bungalow easy to find.
Bungalow - Spacious, very clean, decent views, excellent shower, loads of wardrobes/drawers space and hangers. Tea & coffee provided daily (contrary to what others have said). Large flat screen tv (if you can't get English channels Makis will sort it out for you!). Linen, towels and beach towels changed daily if required. Clothes airer on balcony. Very comfy king sized bed.
Reception - Efficient, pleasant and professional.
Hotel Grounds - Very clean and well kept.
Food - Very well presented, varied and decent quality for a hotel this size. We didn't experience some of the canteen type rush mentioned by other reviewers, maybe because we varied our breakfast and evening meal visiting times.
General - It is good that the hotel allows guests to take their beach towels offsite to other beaches.
Bars - Spacious and pleasant to relax in. Large draught Mythos beer in lobby bar only €3.5 which is pretty reasonable for a hotel of this quality.
CONS:
Location - Hotel is quite a walk to nearest Supermarket (Minas) and Taverna (Tsogias). This may be an issue with folk with mobility issues, especially as some of the walk is on an incline including steps and a couple of blind bends without a footpath when you reach the main road.
Bungalows - Are a bit of a trek to the main hotel and eating/drinking areas so don't forget anything!! (Our door card stopped working so we had to traipse all the way back to reception and back again with our new card. Also we bumped into an elderly couple who changed bungalows without even unpacking, for a bungalow closer to the main building). It would have been a nice touch to have dressing gowns and slippers provided as we have had at other hotels of similar quality.
Pool - We are really pool people as opposed to the beach, but the size of the White Rocks pool is too small for the hotel size. Furthermore it didn't open to guests until 10am so you had people (mainly Brits!) effectively queueing up to grab the beds. We think the pool cleaning needs to be finished much earlier and either the existing pool enlarged or another pool added perhaps closer to the main building. (e.g. the Iberostar Mirrabello hotel in Crete is very similar the WR but has a separate pool and bar for the bungalow guests).
The Pool Bar - is ok but a little drab and is only reached via a quite steep path from both the pool and hotel beach area. Again we saw elderly folk struggle a little.
No hotel shop - There is only a jewellers shop on site. Given the distance to the nearest supermarket (see "location" above) it is surprising that the WR doesn't have a little kiosk for essentials such as water, snacks etc. Every hotel of this size we have visited has had one.
Bars - The Cocktail bar didn't open until 6pm. Given the numbers of people who regularly passed it during the day to/from Lassi and the beaches it seems a missed opportunity to close it until then especially as it has a very pleasant terraced area with nice views.
On our first evening we had a pleasant time in the lower terrace bar. The next night it was closed until further notice. We found out that the barman had to be drafted in to cover for an absentee member of the lobby bar upstairs. This was the case for the duration of our stay. We find it hard to accept that a hotel the size and status of the WR would find it hard to have spare staff to man the lower terrace bar. Cost cutting perhaps?
Dress Code - Unnecessary draconian for men who had to wear closed toed shoes for evening meal. Come on WR !! People are on holiday - by all means insist on long trousers and no jeans or *trainers but let men wear open toed dress sandals at least. Although the rule didn't bother me it was clear that some men had to resort to wearing their clumpy traveling footwear to be allowed access into the evening meal. *Strangely the "No trainers" rule seemed to be ignored when worn by elderly guests !
Restaurant Wine - Although a large Mythos at the lobby bar is reasonably priced a bottle of house white wine at evening meal will set you back €18. You can get a carafe of house white in Lassi tavernas for as little as €6.5 which was equally as nice.
Meal Times - Breakfast and evening meals end at 9.30. Extending them to 10.00 would make all the difference.
Pines Restaurant (A la Carte?) - This is mentioned on the WR website but we never found it during our stay and it wasn't listed on the hotel map. Again a staffing/cost cutting measure?
Children - Bare in mind this is not a children free Thomsons Platinum hotel. No issue for us as the kids there were well behaved.
General - Despite the negatives, all round the hotel is immaculate as is the attitude, service and professionalism of all of the staff from cleaners to senior personnel. It's easy to understand why there are so many returners.
LASSI ITSELF
Basically an "English" resort consisting of one long strip of tavernas, bars, supermarkets and accommodation. Nothing of note off the main street other than the Logos Grand View bar/taverna (which was closed during our stay) but does have some very nice views. No chemists - you'll have to go into Argostoli for those, and no bakeries although the supermarkets do sell bread, pastries etc.
We were wary when the No.1 listed eatery for Lassi on Trip Advisor was Mel's (at the very opposite end of the strip to the WR Hotel) as Mel's is a cafe/diner sort of place. We didn't eat there but had evening meals at Butler's House, Nefeli and Phaedra- all very decent meals but nothing that made us want to return, and we didn't. Phaedra was the least enjoyable because the food- chicken gyros and battered cod- was just too salty. What did make us want to return though was Casa Grec in Argostoli which well deserves its high rating. We had a (huge) spicy fillet beef salad starter, spicy shrimp linguini and a creamy chicken tagliatelli. All delicious and superior to anything we had in Lassi.
Tendris Bar in Lassi does excellent cocktails- especially Mai Tais..mmmmmmmmmm!!!!!! Go there for Happy Hour between 7-10pm and get them half price. Sit on the terrace and watch the sun go down (or suns if you have a few too many!!).
ARGOSTOLI ITSELF
Doable on foot in 40-45 minutes steady walk. Main square with several streets off and a port area. Main square busyish at night and you get pestered to go inside (that's a sure sign for us not to).
Port area could actually be really nice with a bit of money spent on it but it's still very pleasant to walk along. We saw some turtles very close to the harbour front. Port front can get busy if there's a cruise ship in. Nice fruit & veg market at the harbour.
Nice little eatery called To Apx0vtiko right next to Captain's House just off the square.

All in all a very pleasant holiday was had. We only stayed a week and that was probably long enough but money well spent and no real gripes at all. Go there and enjoy it!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow with a direct sea view as some bungalows look onto the back of others, although a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Freewheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks team of staff at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,
We thank you for your review and your kind words about our effective staff and professional service.
We thank you for mentioning all the advantages of your stay and the quality of your accommodation. It is true that the hotel is not recommended for people with mobility issues due to the extended grounds as it is a clifftop and at the same time a beachfront hotel, enjoying spectacular views of the bay surrounding the hotel.

Our customers do have access to the Lobby Bar from 9 o clock in the morning non-stop until 00.30 at night and the Corner Bar's opening hour is at 18:00 the last 25 years.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fabulous - it is however quiet and relaxing - so if you are looking for party atmosphere this may not suit. The room - we stayed in main hotel not bungalow - was lovely and comfy - we didn't have a room with a view and I would imagine the sea view would be lovely but comfy beds - tv - free air con - luxury bathroom - hair dryer - complimentary shower gels - bath and a decent shower - loads of wardrobe and drawer space - mini bar - free safe - no noise other than traffic on road but didn't bother us. Half board - either breakfast and tea or breakfast and lunch. Food was good - the normal breakfast - pastries, continental, etc. Restaurant overlooks the bay so nice way to start day. We tried lunch and evening meal and both were lovely with plenty of choice from meat to fish to mousakka to salad to leek pie. The lobby bar was pleasant and staff welcoming and friendly and one evening there was a live saxophonist and another traditional Greek dancing - if u walk up to bungalows and beyond 2 mins walk - u fall upon the pool, very quiet area, then down a slope to pool bar - set in shade with tables and chairs on grass area and then down to private beach - it's set out lovely - you can watch the ships sail into Argostoli or the planes take off occasionally - only just round corner to airport. Back at hotel walk 2 mins the other way to beaches, the hotel cocktail bar where at evening you can watch sunset and beyond to lassi - it's a 5 minute walk to lassi where there are some tavernas and supermarkets and a 15 min walk to Argostoli.

I loved the hotel. I can't say the island is my favourite of Greek Islands for me it lacks the charm of Zante or Rhodes or the beauty of Skiathos and Crete.

The best parts of the island that I saw Fiscardo in North and the dramatic cliff edge drive to get there. Lassi I thought needed a road sweeper - lots of rubbish lying around and Argistoli much the same for me. But then I like Lindos and Rhodes town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu_b_lu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Gialos
0.8 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#1 of 19 in Lassi
733 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
360 reviews
22.4 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Property: White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Address: Lassis | Kefalonia, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Dining Room serving buffet breakfast and dinner. Stairs down to a ground floor Lungomare a la la Carte Restaurant serving set menu a la carte and set menu lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Platis Gialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing