We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

arrived by coach busy road to cross [main road from airport to main town].at 1st sight not much of hotel to be seen,reception approx 2 floors down from road via steps ,cases via porter.recommend sea facing rooms due to lack of view and road.hotel modern,clean,food more greek influenced.plates on small side at breakfast on small side go [back for seconds].private beach and pool short walk from main hotel both down steep slopes,pool opens at 10 so no reserved sun beds by towels.beach smallish sandy but rocky in the water best beach is to the right [public ]reached by steps and a gate opens with room key.funny window in room looking into bathroom,has a blind though not completely private NO SHAVER POINT IN BATHROOM ,sheets ect changed daily staff top notch .mainly quiet,aircraft noise at times due to lassi being on flight path [coming in low].overall a good stay[june 14]

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

First impressions were fairly good, the porter took our cases from the road side down the steep steps (he deserves a medal!). We had paid extra & booked a Deluxe Sea View room and on arrival a sea view we had, spotlessly clean we were initially happy.
I started to unpack, Hubby went to the bathroom....oh my...yes we have been married for 25 years but I do not want to lie in bed to see him on the toilet!. Hang on there's a blind...result...no the blind is also see through but amazing what a sarong and plasters will do.
We watched the sunset from the balcony and watched the people gather on the veranda.....yes so much for asking for a high floor private balcony we were in a gold fish bowl....the balcony fronts are glass. Everyone sat down and every one looked up may be another sarong and plasters would be the answer to this privacy situation too?
We then went to Dinner, we queued, we had wine not bad 18 euro's not the cheapest but equally not the most expensive we have paid. The food just warm.........the cakes to die for.
Breakfast was an experience one to get seated then to get congealed fried eggs, actually the first hotel we have been to where they do not cook for you either egg or omelette. It was cold but at least we didn't have the queue for the roller coaster toaster it was done for you put in a basket and it too is cold!
Our first full day briefly comprised of walking up hill down dale and plenty of higgidy piggidy steps, good way to walk off the Cheesecake.
The queue for the pool to open after cleaning was a first 10am sitting on the wall .....ready steady go we didn't we went down the steep steep slope to the beach, all the loungers taken, no loungers at the pool when we got back hey what about the unused ant infested veranda some plastic chairs & a table we sat and enjoyed the views.
Day 2 I lost it I walked onto the balcony towel round my head I felt like I was on stage as everyone enjoying aperitifs looked up, I phoned reception I lost the plot he was lovely he totally understood, he laughed he said "Yes I know" ???? were we in a holding pen.
After breakfast we were shown to our new room at last privacy, still got a Sea view still got a loo view.
We swapped evening meal for cold congealed lunch twice and ate out for the rest of the week totally recommend Tzogia's on the left hand side of the road as you walk into Lasi. Food & ambiance amazing you ask for the bill and along comes free home made Cheese Cake a Baileys & Brandy. On average we paid 25 Euros for a 2 course meal for 2 with 1 litre of wine & a large beer..........Greek dancing live bouzouki music just magical!

I would recommend that the Hotel Owners put some one way privacy screening on the balcony glass such an easy solution for the ground floor rooms. What happened to the A La Carte restaurant we tried to book it but told it was closed (there was NO sign of it ever existing). The restaurant is too small to accommodate all the guests what would happen if everyone came down to Dinner at 8pm ?
On our last day the queue for breakfast was up the steps to the lobby, which really is not acceptable.
Play some music NOT LOUD just to give some ambiance to the white sterile canteen environment where all you can hear are chairs scraping & plates clattering it reminded me of School.
The Staff are brilliant, they understand the issues, they know about the issues so why is the "rate your stay form" all about them and not the Hotel accommodation itself?

Can't recommend I'm afraid and hand on heart disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't have the rooms in the 300's overlooking the veranda)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HarriCTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, The White Rocks team at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for your review. In regards to your general privacy issues due to the wall-to-wall windows and glass balustrades of your sea front balcony, kindly note that most people do appreciate the stunning views and would hate to see anything blocking that.

Furthermore we would have been more than happy to allocate you to another seafront room overlooking Platis Gialos Beach. Such issues are very easily sorted out on the spot, should you ask at Front Desk.

In regards to your comment about the window in the bedroom kindly note that it is actually a mirror-effect opening and only once you are in the bathroom you have one-sided view of the bedroom.

However we do understand your modesty issues since in regards to beauty all it matters is your point of view literally and metaphorically. Our point of view says that a beautiful view is a feast for the eyes not to be missed and once you are blessed with a stunning seafront, transparency is key.

It is our understanding that you have been confused with the ratings. We do give a guest feedback form before your check-out, where you may rate every service of the hotel. We therefore assume that you have not completed that so most propably you are talking about the form you have filled in the aircraft which has nothing to do with the hotel.

Thank you for letting us and your fellow travelers of how you feel.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

this is a brief review of our holiday at the white rocks in lassi,from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff did all they could to make our stay memorable .we where met by the hotel porter who sorted our case's and brought them to our room. room was very comfortable. food was very good and plentiful waiter's looked after all our need's.pool is a walk of 200 meters from the main building.

Room Tip: not for one's who struggle with hill's and stair's as there are plenty to deal with.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Saying it as it is!

We stayed at this hotel for one week at the beginning of June 2014 . It is a nice hotel and blessed with some quite beautiful natural views. I would recommend it, but would advise anyone planning to go to have realistic expectations.
Giving a review score on a 1-5 scale means that the hotel has to be absolutely exceptional to deserve a 5 and utterly appalling to deserve a 1. On this basis, it seems inconceivable to me that so many can score it a 5. Make no mistake, it is a nice place and has some admirable qualities but none are exceptional (apart from the views), and it has plenty of shortcomings. People marking this as a 5 are either getting a bit carried away with the holiday spirit and rating their holiday experience rather than the hotel or they have stayed at some pretty dreadful hotels before coming here.
When we first arrived, we were dropped off on the opposite side of the road (the hotel has no off-road parking at the front). We all wheeled and manhandled our luggage across the road, only to find several flights of concrete steps to negotiate in order to get down to reception. There is no slope, no lift and there were no porters on hand at the time. Consequently, people of all ages and degrees of mobility were struggling down steep concrete steps carrying heavy suitcases. I'm young enough and fit enough to have managed this but found it absolutely astonishing. No matter how good or bad the rest of the hotel, I don't even think this should be in the Thomson portfolio if it is this inaccessible. There really is at least a minimum obligation upon the hotel to provide a slope to wheel luggage.
The guest reception and check-in were a bit clumsy and confusing but we finally got our room, sorted out our luggage arrangements and got escorted to our bungalow. It is well documented that the bungalow rooms are remote from the main building and that there are steps and steep slopes to negotiate. The hotel make no secret of this and it is a consequence of being built into the cliff edge (affording the beautiful views). However, throughout our entire stay, we never ceased to be amazed at the crude and unsightly nature of the pathways between the bungalows and hotel building. The best parts were roughly poured concrete with no formal paving and the worst were un-planted, dusty areas with rubble visible either side. It is worth noting that the hotel dining room demands smart dress. Walking from the bungalow wing to the main building is difficult in anything but flat comfortable shoes. Even the unsightly concrete pathways are so rough that they are unsuitable for high heels and you could easily ruin a decent pair of shoes. The gratuitous use of unsightly concrete in an otherwise picturesque place seems like a kind of architectural vandalism and seriously detracts from the natural beauty. These pathways really need paving properly and surrounding areas need planting where possible. even some block paving would enhance the appearance and make it more tasteful.
Our first impression of the bungalow room was disappointing. They are basically whitewashed concrete boxes with flat felted roofs. The whitewash looked like it badly needed re-coating and the view was not what we expected. You should be aware that the bungalow rooms are terraced into the slope and form two or three rows going upwards away from the cliff edge. Rather than an unobstructed view of coastline, we actually had a majority view of the backs and roofs of other bungalows. Once inside, they are fairly well appointed with smart contemporary decor, an abundance of storage, tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, safe and a large comfortable bed. The bathroom area is modern and stylish but has privacy issues. I was traveling with my partner and we don't have any modesty issues but other people or people traveling with friends or children could be in for a surprise. There is no door to the bathroom area (increasingly common these days) and a large window from about waist height out into the bedroom area (again increasingly common). I don't know what makes hotels want to turn essentially private areas into open plan living but this one goes a stage further by having no blind up at the window. If some people want to exhibit themselves whilst using the bathroom then that's fine with me (a bit weird but fine), however, a small pull down blind is an absolute obvious requirement in order to offer choice. My partner described it as feeling like being on display in a shop window in Amsterdam (worrying because I didn’t know she’d ever been there). Like I say, it wasn't a big issue for us but be aware there is very little privacy from what can be seen and heard in the bathroom.
The hotel its self was really fairly nice but quite simple. There is a bar in the lobby area which opens out into a nice roof terrace with magnificent views. There is table service and the staff (although small in number), are excellent. Stairs from here take you down to the only public toilets, a jewellery shop and on to the dining room. We ate out most days at lunchtime but mainly used the hotel restaurant at night. The subject of food quality is always very subjective based on taste, but we liked it. I would describe it all as adequate in terms of choice and quality. Breakfast was slightly limited and uninspiring but I never went away hungry and evening meals varied between quite nice to really fairly good. Given the number of staff and class of hotel, I think they do really well in the restaurant. Just two other things to say on this subject, firstly that the restaurant manager was friendly and professional (contrary to a couple of other comments we've read), and the ice cream is fabulous. Just remember to dress in accordance with the hotel rules and please try the ice cream, especially the mango and mint which is the best I've ever eaten.
Beyond the main building,in the opposite direction to the bungalows, lies the corner bar. This lacked atmosphere during our stay due to the evenings not being particularly warm. In better weather it is, no doubt, a lovely place for an evening drink. Again the staff there are brilliant (as they are throughout the hotel) and there is a charming terrace seating area opposite.
The hotel pool area was pleasant and refreshingly quiet while we were there. It is not a big pool and beds get snapped up fairly quickly. We never had any problems with people reserving sun beds because the pool area doesn’t open until 10:00am. Get there early and join the queue if you want a prime spot. Once settled at the pool (or surrounding area), your relaxation isn't spoiled by repetitive music being pumped out over speakers or annoying entertainment staff. When it comes to entertainment at this hotel, less is more. If you want to be entertained then just soak up the views.

Hotel highlights: icecream in the restaurant, beautiful views, peace and quiet, excellent staff.

Hotel lowlights: Dreadful public access and pathways. Gratuitous use of concrete, wire fencing and ugly building materials. Insistence on men wearing "filled in shoes" in the dining room. The latter really is a bit of a pain and not very well thought through. By all means demand collared shirt and long trousers but the shoe thing is crazy. Better to have people in nice summer trousers and smart sandals than all kinds of miss matched shabby deck shoes and trainers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, General Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Unfortunately your review violates the hotel's guidelines of ethos and therefore we will not comment on your review, as you are using improper language and choose hate speech and false information. Furthermore you are insulting the rest of the hotel guests who have reviewed this hotel as well as the hotel staff.

For that, we wish you all the best and we do hope that your future vacation reviews are truthfull.

Sincerely,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I returned last week from our wonderful stay at white rocks. It's the first visit to kefalonia and certainly won't be the last. My husband and I travel for a living so we are lucky enough to stay in amazing hotels..always a worry though that our own holidays will live up to our standards...no worries here. We stayed in a bungalow which dispute the long walk we found it quite an enjoyable walk. Amazing view and very tranquil. Room was clean and well appointed. Do bear in mind there is no iron and iron board in the room as standard..however when we requested one it was with us in minutes. My only other request was there was no clock in the room..a bedside clock would have been handy.
Main lobby was very stylish and laid back and seemed to be popular.
Whilst we are not big fans of half board the breakfast was good.. Would have been nice to toast your own bread..maybe an omelette station and more fresh fruits and granola other than that it was good. You can switch dinner for lunch which was handy and both lunch and dinner were well catered. Nice variety and replenished quickly. The restaurant was very stylish again and we loved the open windows.. Feeling of outside, in!
We were disappointed with the hotels's small beach by the beach bar but the public platis gialos beach is amazing, sea was so clear and it was just a short walk down from the hotel directly to the beach, as it's a public beach sun loungers and umbrellas were at a cost. We paid €6 a day for 2 loungers and an umbrella. You can also walk across the beach to makris gialos another stunning beach one of the many stunning beaches listed to visit whilst in kefalonia. Music was played there and you could choose Bali beds or loungers with cushions all at different prices.
We didn't visit the hotels cocktail bar which is amazing for sunsets but it was popular as was on the path to walk into lassi.
Lassi is a 10min walk and the supermarket is very close by to the hotel in lassi. Lassi is quite sleepy some great tavernas, definitely worth visiting.
Argostoli was about a 30-40 min walk but a nice walk and again worth a visit. Some nice shops and restaurants.
We travelled with thomson and rather than take a car we did the premier kefalonia trip which took in mellisani caves, boat trip to fiskardo, assos and Myrtis beach. Great tour but very long day. 9am pick up and we did not get back until 7pm. Not enough water was given out and it was a hot day. Lunch was included in fiskardo which was lovely along with coffee stop in assos but I felt like I was hearded in a large group which is not really my thing.. So if you like to explore at your own pace..hire a car.
We loved this holiday .. Total relaxation.. Lovely room. Great food. Great staff. Amazing beaches and kefalonia is just stunning. In my opinion anyone visiting this hotel would struggle to find anything wrong and they would have an amazing stay. Thank you white rocks. I will definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank M0nkeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is very good that the majority of guests have written favourable reviews regarding this Hotel.
There is absolutely nothing to compaint about.The Hotel is well looked after,the Rooms are
first class,clean comfortable,what more could anyone want?the majority of the staff we have seen over the years are still working there,and the owners have obviously upgraded the accomodation from when we first visited in the 80s.Thank you in particular Costa for making our all too short stay so wonderful.We hope to return again next June for two weeks! And we appreciate the level of service and commitment of all at THE WHIE ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKEUKDorkingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel with beautiful views of the Ionean Sea. The staff are very efficient and kind and the cleanliness of all areas of the hotel is great. The food choices in the restaurant are first class. I was taken ill whilst staying there, and the kindness and helpfulness of all the staff during the remainder of my stay was really appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank americanlover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Gialos
0.8 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
389 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
22.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Lassis | Kefalonia, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range: £112 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Dining Room serving buffet breakfast and dinner. Stairs down to a ground floor Lungomare a la la Carte Restaurant serving set menu a la carte and set menu lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Platis Gialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing