We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My hubby and I returned only 4 days ago, hotel beautiful modern, clean, staff are friendly and helpful the only down side is not much entertainment in hotel and there was not much sea food for me which I love but very nice food. The private beach is a bit rocky but two beaches next door are gorgeous and the sunbeds only cost three euros each. some good tavernas only 5 mins walk up the road and well worth catching the bus or taxi to agostelli. Overall Kafalonia is a beautiful island, would definitely return.

Room Tip: You must book a sea view, ours was to die for, a perfect view every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks Hotel at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Kefalonia is indeed a very beautiful island! We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you have appreciated our services. We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks team of management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We've just returned from two weeks at the White Rock Hotel and whilst the the hotel has some really good points such as the views and the rooms in my opinion it could be made much better with some pretty basic improvements and I can fully appreciate the comments of the previous reviews. The hotel feels more like a hotel that you would stay in on a business meeting, there is a lack of the holiday atmosphere, other than our cleaner we didn't feel very much genuine friendliness. At breakfast fruit juice and coffee is served at the table and having been bypassed 3 times I ask the waiter if we could have some coffee please, he shouted back at me saying "I'm coming I'm coming" not what I wanted at breakfast in front of other people. The food is typically Greek which is fine but after the first week beef stew and chicken stew gets a bit monotonous although it's called different names each day it's pretty much the same. Although there's salad every day there's no cold meat or cheese other than feta. Out of 2 weeks there was only entertainment on 2 nights which was a guy playing the saxophone. The hotel needs to relax and lift the atmosphere, offer a more varied menu and open an on site shop for your basic holiday needs instead of the jewellery shop that no one appears to use. We enjoyed Kefalonia but wouldn't return to the White Rocks
.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must, with a lack of entertainment it's lovely to sit on the balcony with a drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks team of staff at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your review and for understanding that we do offer a professional service and not just friendly and informal one.

Kindly note that we do provide self-service coffee and juice in our breakfast too. We aim to serve at your table but should you be in a great hurry during your vacation, you may always help yourself with coffee and juices at our buffet as there is always abundance of both for your convenience.

In regards to your comment about cold meat, kindly note that we do not serve cold meat as we do believe that this is neither gourmet nor greek. In regards to cheeses we do serve mainly greek products as we feel strongly about collaborating with local producers and help the local community to thrive. Furthermore, we do offer at least 15 different kinds of meat preparations during every stay.

In response to your comment about lack of mini market facilities in the hotel, kindly note that we are in favor of jewelry shops and we promote greek artists and not supermarkets. After all our guests do not choose to visit supermarkets for tourists on a daily basis on their vacation as we are not a self-catering accommodation. Should they need something they can either ask at Front Desk for over and above services or they may take a taxi and visit the town center and shop around.

In regards to entertainment at the White Rocks, kindly note that it is always discrete and not imposing. Should you request a daily entertainment program, we will be more than happy to recommend an all-inclusive accommodation where free daily entertaining with artificial holiday spirit is included in such packages. Furthermore it is common knowledge to everybody that while you were here most of the European football teams were still competing thus making the matches the most favorable and popular spectacle of the past week.

Some people might feel comfortable when they consume a mass tourism package holiday where every bid is planned on their behalf by third parties. We understand the disappointment caused when they discover that they have booked a sea front ultra modern hotel, in a scenic location which does not cater for their usual comforting style of holiday ambience.

Unfortunately, we are not your type of vacation and we sincerely do understand your point of view, but please bear in mind that we never claimed that we offer such products at the White Rocks.
Sincerely,
The White Rocks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

my wife and i spent 14 nights at this hotel 3rd to 17th june.The hotel overall was very nice,good food,very clean and tidy.But on the downside we only had 3 nights entertainment in 14,very good it was too,but surely not enough,unless you want to sit and watch nancy boys kicking a ball around on a 40 inch screen.The worst point we both felt was attitude of management,i had a slight argument with restaurant manager as my wife was unwell one day i wanted to take a few bits back to her room,to which he replied it would cost extra to do this even though i had paid already.reception manager was no better.abrupt and unwelcoming,when we checked out it wasnt have you enjoyed your stay,it was have you used the minibar this morning?Kefalonia is a beautiful island we would return but not to White Rocks.

Room Tip: dont pick a garden room in main building garden is not much to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, The White Rocks Team of staff at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for your review. We would like to apologize if you felt that the Maitre D’ and the Receptionist on duty upon your check-out have failed to provide the service you expected. We therefore thank you for letting us know as it is our duty to make sure that this will not happen again.

Kindly note that as the hotel provides Room Services, it is recommended to guests to use this service instead of bringing a heavy tray with dinner themselves in their room. As the hotel is located at extensive and hilly grounds it is appropriate for health and safety reasons that the designated staff deliver all requested items to the room and remove the dinner tray at your convenience.

We are sorry to see you go and wish you all the best.
Sincerely,
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the White Rocks. I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel but found the experience to be a bit of a let down in the end. The hotel and it's location are beautiful but the hotel lacks any real atmosphere. There is no holiday vibe whatsoever and it just feels like a place you would stay in if you went to a posh wedding!
DO NOT book to stay there if you have any kind of mobility issue or you are remotely accident-prone as you will undoubtedly come a cropper. The steps, slopes and uneven surfaces are very hazardous and you have to watch your step at every opportunity!
The rooms are very nice. Everybody talks on Trip Advisor about the bungalows but we had a room on the ground floor just around the corner from Reception which overlooked the road (although the road was slightly above us). We asked to move to a sea view room but were told the hotel was fully booked and there was nothing available so we had to stay put. However, the room was large, with a nice bathroom and shower, hairdryer, kettle, large LED TV, fridge and mini bar and free safety deposit box. The bed though was very uncomfortable; it was very low with a shallow mattress and gave me horrendous backache.
Our towels and bed linen were changed each day which was good and the hotel provided beach towels which was also good.
The restaurant is lovely and overlooks the sea/evening sunset but you sometimes had to queue to get a table which was quite annoying. The hotel has a dress code for dinner insisting men wear trousers and closed toe shoes so I expected the ladies would dress "elegantly" (as the hotel literature suggests) but most opted for casual dresses or trousers so some of the dresses I took were far too dressy (one of which is going straight back to the shop with the tag still on at the earliest opportunity)! The a la carte restaurant doesn't seem to exist so why it's mentioned in the literature that's left in your room, is a bit of a mystery.
The food was really good quality with lots of choice but my partner likes to have soup as a starter but the hotel didn't do soup much to his disappointment. Sometimes you had to wait for your drinks to arrive or your plates to be cleared away and this was down to the fact there isn't enough staff working at this hotel but most of the staff they have got are very hardworking, polite and courteous.
The poor waiter in the WR bar worked tirelessly by himself all the time but did a sterling job keeping up with everyone's orders. Similarly, Eleni in the Corner bar (which is a lovely bar by the way) worked her socks off night after night but always had a smile on her face.
For a hotel with 102 rooms and 60 bungalows, it has a swimming pool the size of a postage stamp with only ~40 sunbeds around it! You can imagine how difficult it could be to get a sunbed, although for a 5 star hotel, you would have thought they would have invested in some decent sun beds instead of cheap, plastic, white ones without any mattresses.
We never used the hotel's private beach, we preferred to go to Makris Gialos beach in Lassi which had a nice, albeit, man-made sandy beach. We paid 6 Euros for 2 sunbeds and a brollie but liked this end of Lassi better.
I would agree with others that the hotel could do with a shop for essentials. I'm sure they could find room for one somewhere.
I would not encourage anybody with children to stay there as there is absolutely nothing for children at all, not even a paddling pool; the hotel is more suited to adults and adults over the age of 50 in my opinion.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks Team at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review and for appreciating our location and the hotel itself, the high standard of your room and amenities as well as the standard of food. We are delighted that you have also appreciated the courteous and polite service of our staff.

We read all reviews very carefully as they help us to improve our services provided that we do not betray the huge percentage of repeated clientele who choose the White Rocks for two reasons. The first being the enjoyment of the holiday and the second being their wonderful memories of their holiday with us.

Your review is very useful to the rest of the travel community since you bring up points worth mentioning for travelers like you with fixed ideas of what their vacation will have to look like.
We understand that to enjoy your vacation you wish that the hotel delivers a particular “holiday vibe” to boost your holiday mood. Unfortunately we do not offer such holiday product. Thank you for allowing us us to clarify this issue.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks Team of management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we have recently returned from a week at White Rocks -June 2014 - The hotel is not pretty from the outside but don't let that put you off - the setting close to the beach and the interior decor of the hotel was excellent. We stayed in a bungalow (50)this was a short 5 minute walk from main building with a lovely sea view and a garden area outside with fruit trees and at the bottom of the garden area there was a stone wall and the garden dropped down to a small allotment where tomatoes were growing. The meals were buffet style and I would say they were good food rather than amazing food but there was plenty of choice. We used the nearest local beach just below the hotel - 5 minutes - which charged 3 euros a day for each sun bed with parasol. The beach was sandy and very easy to swim from. - The next beach along had all the watersports. The hotel had its own private beach which was a a bit rocky but pleasant. We went for a meal one evening out of the hotel and used a taverna up to the left of the hotel about 5-10 minute walk. Excellent value and a more typical menu with grilled sea bass, salads, taramasalata and stuffed vine leaves etc. It was very reasonable and with a drink came to 28 euros for the two of us. We did go on a day trip out which was interesting but long. the tour guide was very informative and friendly. All in all we had a really relaxing week. Argostoli was worth a visit and we did see the loggerhead turtles very close up in the harbour.

Room Tip: See above but we liked being a little away from the main hotel. Room 50 was good for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, The White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We are delighted that you have appreciated our interior design and the scenic seafront. We would like to thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to rate us. We wish you all the best and we hope to welcome you again next year.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks Team of management & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the white rocks for 2 weeks at the end of may for our honeymoon, when we arrived at the were asked to leave our cases at the top of the steps at the front of the hotel we were told to proceed to check in, which we did and given our key card and as we go to our room our cases were there was all so a bottle of bubbly for us to celebrate with,we paid extra for a sea view and its well worth it, the room we had had 2 single beds put together to make one big bed but we found it uncomfortable so after a few nights we decided to ask if we could change rooms, with was done for us with out any hassle and actually we had a better sea view,
the hotel is very clean and the staff are very friend, tea and coffee are provided had we known we wouldnt have brought our own, we did as people had said on here that you are provided with a kettle but that was all!!!!!
The breakfast we found was lovely there was a choice of cereal, fruit, greek yogurt, cakes and pastries which were lovely and you could also have a cooked breakfast the fried eggs were lovely but the sausages(hotdog style) were not as nice as the ones they used for evening meal (proper sausages)
We did find that if you wanted evening meal as soon as the opened you would have to que but you were seated quickly, we also found the food was quite cold even though they were checking the temp of it, there was plenty of choice lovely salads to start with at least half a dozen main dishes to choose from and lovely deserts, Yanis one of the waiters looked after us well,no drinks are included with evening meal so we paid for our drinks every night but come to checking out reception had said that we hadnt paid for tonight but we had if you pay when you have your meal DO NOT SIGN the bill other wise some waiter (not Yanis or george)will take it as a tip and then that means you will have to pay again.
The hotel grounds are NOT suited to anyone who has trouble walking as there are many steep slops and lots of steps to go up and down,
The private beach is fine but not as nice as the neighbouring beaches which charge 3 euros per person for a day we found Makris Gialos beach was the best and served nice food,
The hotel pool as fine if a bit small but had lovely see views.
Lassi is only a short walk from the hotel but beware of blind bends as some parts do not have pavements.
The walk into Argostoli the capital takes about 45 min at a relaxing pace again the streets leading down to the harbour are the steepest ive ever been down so if its raining be careful as it gets very slippery .you can also walk around the coast which takes about 2 1/2 hours if you stop off at the lighthouse,
when we capital we had coffee at the tourist hotel where you can sit outside its opposite the harbour the lady that servied us remembered us every time we went there and would give us free cake with our coffee, we went to Dianas for food one evening again near the harbour we had melt in the mouth sea food there was no hard sell like in the main square and you had free wine.
If you visit argostoli in the morning you get to see sea turtles up close while the fishermen feed them its a must see.
We booked with Thomsons and were very disappointed, at the welcome meeting at the hotel you were given a very thin book 2/3 pages with very little info about trips then there was a sheet with the trips and prices on lots had been crossed out so if you had pre booked in the uk i dont know what would have happened !!!!! and also some prices had been crossed out and had go up in price looked very unprofessional, and the only trip really talked about was the most expensive but i have to see it was a very good trip as the guide was not a thomson rep but a local young lady Katerina she really did make the trip btw you must try the Kefalonia pie which is included on the trip and they will email you the recipe.Other tour companies had big folders in the lobby with info of there trips and local info which thomsons didnt have because the rep was there or a few hours nearly everyday but when you say hello to the rep and all you get back is grunt you dont really want to speak the them again so we decided to book another trip with a local company instead.
towards the end of our 2 weeks the friends which we made Pam D (who has also written a very good review on here)and her husband Alun had gone home so we decided to swap our evening meal for dinner at the hotel is was lovely food was hotter and sometimes there was only my self and my husband there no ques and no rushing to turn tables.
the only thing i would say is that you have to give the hotel 24hour notice if you want to change from evening meal to dinner so you had to plan your days in advance it would also be could if you could see the next days menu so you would at least know if you would like the dinner or evening meal as they did differ.
sorry for long review but feel its important to give as much info as possible.
i would go back to the hotel again but not with thomsons its ideal only 10 min from the airport.
also thomsons do not come and see you off from the hotel and make sure your there in time for the bus there is no check list that the driver does but when you get to the airport there were about 10 thomson reps who didnt know what was going on or where you should que was 2 flights were checking in at the same time its only a very small airport but still thomsons couldnt handle this.

Room Tip: book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kath1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Honeymooners,

We are very pleased that you have appreciated our services and you had a wonderful stay with us. We thank you very much for taking the time to rate us and inform your fellow travellers about your honemoon experience. Our scenic location is a very popular choice among young couples wishing to spend their special holiday in a romantic seafront. As precious memories are to be celebrated over and over again, we hope that you will choose to spend your first anniversary with us and we look forward into welcoming you next year.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks team of management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from a week at the White Rocks. Having read many, many previous reviews on this hotel, we thought that we had a pretty good idea what to expect however, there were some disappointments. This review is from a purely personal perspective and many of the little things that irritated or 'didn't work' for us, will not be an issue for others.

Firstly, no one can describe or no picture portray the absolute beauty of this place, it is simply stunning and takes your breath away every single day.

We booked a sea view bungalow which was lovely. Right on the cliff edge with a superb view. The room was spacious, lots of storage space, spotlessly clean but....the bathroom! As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no door and a window that looks into the bedroom. Ours didn't have a blind at all although some other reviewers have mentioned that their room did. Whilst the toilet and shower cubical have a glass door with a frosted 'modesty panel' its still not very private and I would urge the hotel to provide a door to the bathroom space and ensure that all of these windows have a blind. Also note, there is no shaver point in the bathroom.

Service from housekeeping was excellent, towels, bedding etc changed daily and the room so tidy and clean on your return, it looked like the first time you walked in,

Our bungalow was number 38, almost as far from the main hotel as you could get and, up a very steep incline which I can tell you, was hard work in the heat. That said, it was so peaceful that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a bungalow, someone has to get the ones furthest away and I think (although I may be wrong) that the man on reception allocates your room based on your apparent level of fitness, i.e. if you look pretty young and mobile, you get the ones furthest away leaving the nearer ones for the older folk

The hotel has a dress code for the bars and restaurant, we were aware of this before we arrived and had packed appropriate attire. I would say, that from a ladies perspective, I found that the dresses I had packed were actually a 'bit too posh' compared to what others were wearing so it was good that I had taken some alternative outfits for wearing to other restaurants that we might eat at. Also, if you are in a bungalow, I wouldn't even consider taking heels, you are likely to have very sore feet at the very least after walking to restaurant of worse, the concrete and crazy paving is not high heel or even wedge friendly.

We ate as late as we could, arriving at the restaurant usually at around 9-9.15pm (last entrance was 9.30pm) and we didn't have to queue. Curiously, we were always seated on the veranda, one or two rows back from the edge. I am sure that they seat you according to room type, junior suites getting the tables at the edge, followed by bungalows, then other rooms according to price. Food was unremarkable really, you wouldn't go hungry but nothing really stood out as exceptional. They did a fresh cooked option every night with the chef cooking, fish or whatever was on offer in front of you, however, there was never enough and whenever I went to that station, the dishes were empty and he was only just starting to cook the next batch. As other have commented, the desserts are very nice, far superior to what you usually get abroad so if you have a sweet tooth, you will be in luck. Downside of arriving for a 'late' dinner was that the waiters bring your drinks bill over in an attempt to 'hurry you along' so that they can clear away. However, having seen the canteen like queues at around 8pm I would rather this!

We ate out 3 nights, twice in Argastoli and once in Lassi, we also skipped breakfast after a couple of days as it just wasn't worth the effort. We bought croissants in the supermarket and had coffee in our room. Breakfast was the usual foreign cereals, the cooked section with reconstituted scrambled eggs, bacon which was actually not too bad and fried eggs which you had to wait to be brought out of the kitchen for which there was always a queue. No roller toaster, they brought out toasted (what looked like baguette) which was so hard, only the folk with dentures dare bite into. I feared for my teeth so left that well alone! Usual scrummy yoghurt and honey which you cant really go wrong with.

One last thing to say about the restaurant. They really need to decide what they are; it just doesn't work asking you to dress for dinner for what is then essentially a self service canteen. Although they mention an a la carte restaurant on their website, this doesn't actually exist according to staff who all looked very puzzled when asked about it!!

Beaches and facilities: The hotel desperately needs to provide a shop. During the day, if you are wearing swim wear, your only option for obtaining snacks and water are to either walk in to Lassi to the nearest supermarket which is a good 700m from the main hotel building, uphill and on a quite dangerous road or go to the other end of the hotel down a very very steep incline to the beach bar. It would be much better if the hotel were not so stuffy about what you can wear in the lobby bar as buying water from here would be much more convenient.

The hotel has 4 bars one each at opposing ends of the 'resort' and two in the main hotel, the lobby bar and the downstairs WR bar. The pool bar closes at 6pm, the lobby is open most of the day and evening and the WR and corner bar open around 6pm to midnight ish. Yanis in the WR bar is a super bloke and can mix up a fine cocktail! Try his lemon pie, its heaven. Beer is reasonable at 3.50 euro for a large beer, spirits which are all branded are 5 euros each plus your mixer. Be warned, the shot sizes are UK size not your normal generous greek size.

The private beach is just passed the beach bar and as other have mentioned is accessed by a very steep incline, care needs to be taken not to slip, especially on the last part of the descent. Beach is pebble and sand and has rocks along the shore so you will definitely be well advised to take beach shoes. The public beach the other side and further on, costa costa beach are all pure golden sand so no need for shoes here. The water is amazingly clear on all beaches with lovely fish right up to the shore.

Costa costa beach offers a range of sunbeds, we opted for the cushioned ones and these were only 8 Euros for the day. There is also waiter service from the bar for food and drinks which was rather nice. You can access costa costa beach from the public beach by crossing the pontoon and clambering down the rocks (as long as the tide is out), a much shorter distance than walking along the road.

The terrain of the hotel cannot be helped and it is this that gives the location its beauty. This does of course mean that access to any of the beaches is a long climb down over not always the best terrain. Therefore, not family friendly at all and not good for people who struggle with mobility or breathing difficulties.

We measured the distances we walked so to give you an idea. Bungalow 38 to main hotel, 350m, bungalow to Costa Costa beach 700m, so to go to breakfast, back to our room to change and pack for the beach, then back to Costa Costa beach, 1.4km! Bungalow to nearest supermarket 1.2km. This in itself is not a problem but factor in 35 deg + heat and an elevation change of approx 50m, make its hard work. Would recommend if you are located where we were and you are planning on going to this or the public beach, you take you beach bag to breakfast with you and if necessary change in the toilets after you have eaten and go straight from there. They may not let you in the restaurant with your swimmers on!!

All in all, we had a nice time but are unsure as to whether we would return unless the hotel sorts out a few things. Primarily, the dining experience and the times of the restaurant opening. We found that to get breakfast we had to be up at the same time we would normally be up for work which is not really what you want to be doing on holiday. Also the lack of a shop. We are not lazy and do like to walk when we are on holiday but whatever you wanted or needed seemed such an effort to obtain. The thought of traipsing 2.4km to and from the supermarket for some water and snacks when we were meant to be relaxing, just didn't really do it for us.

This is a lovely hotel in a stunning location and with a little bit more thought on the part of the hotel is respect of what it provides for its guests would make a huge difference. A small shop, more relaxed dress code during the day for the lobby bar, full waiter service for evening meals and a less rushed dining experience would much improve it for us.

You will need to make your own mind up as to whether the things that irritated us will be an issue for you. We were aware of most of the things mentioned here and accepted them when making the booking. I think it is hard to fully appreciate the inclines and distances until you are actually there and wondering why you are soooo tired and why you are not as relaxed as you ought to be on holiday!! But as long as you factor this in, you could not want for a more stunning location.

We are scoring this as 'average' as there is not an option for 'good' and would not say that it was 'very good' - not as it is currently.Value for money is only average too as I think we were compelled to eat out on three of our 7 nights and skip breakfasts due to the general hassle of eating at the hotel.

I hope this has been helpful and I am happy to answer any questions you may want to ask.

Room Tip: Bungalows are best for peace and quiet but be aware that they are some distance from the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mrscatsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

The White Rocks welcomes and values guest comments and feedback. Which is why we provide an in-house Concierge, Guests Relations, dedicated Front Desk team, Bespoke services and Guest questionnaire.
We can confirm the Hotel offers a wide range of accessible information relating to the hotel and how to contact us, including a frequently asked questions section which is all available on the Hotel’s website. Furthermore if you have booked with a Tour Operator please refer to their terms and conditions and brochure.
If you had experienced any disappointment or wished to make a complaint you must do so during your stay. It is impossible to acknowledge your dissatisfaction if we have not had the opportunity to discuss or investigate during your stay.

Sincerely yours,
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Gialos
0.8 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
398 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
3.1 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
22.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Lassis | Kefalonia, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range: £183 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Dining Room serving buffet breakfast and dinner. Stairs down to a ground floor Lungomare a la la Carte Restaurant serving set menu a la carte and set menu lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Platis Gialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing