We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liberatos Village(Cephalonia)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,264)
Filter reviews
1,264 results
Traveller rating
807
310
113
17
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
310
113
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachdress codethe main hotelcocktail barcorner barsea viewbungalow roompine treeshotel beachhalf boardlong trousershead waiterbeach towelswaiter serviceevening meal for lunchchanged dailybuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 1,264 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My hubby and I returned only 4 days ago, hotel beautiful modern, clean, staff are friendly and helpful the only down side is not much entertainment in hotel and there was not much sea food for me which I love but very nice food. The private beach is a bit rocky but two beaches next door are gorgeous and the sunbeds only cost three euros each. some good tavernas only 5 mins walk up the road and well worth catching the bus or taxi to agostelli. Overall Kafalonia is a beautiful island, would definitely return.

Room Tip: You must book a sea view, ours was to die for, a perfect view every morning.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks Hotel at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Kefalonia is indeed a very beautiful island! We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you have appreciated our services. We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks team of management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We've just returned from two weeks at the White Rock Hotel and whilst the the hotel has some really good points such as the views and the rooms in my opinion it could be made much better with some pretty basic improvements and I can fully appreciate the comments of the previous reviews. The hotel feels more like a hotel that you would stay in on a business meeting, there is a lack of the holiday atmosphere, other than our cleaner we didn't feel very much genuine friendliness. At breakfast fruit juice and coffee is served at the table and having been bypassed 3 times I ask the waiter if we could have some coffee please, he shouted back at me saying "I'm coming I'm coming" not what I wanted at breakfast in front of other people. The food is typically Greek which is fine but after the first week beef stew and chicken stew gets a bit monotonous although it's called different names each day it's pretty much the same. Although there's salad every day there's no cold meat or cheese other than feta. Out of 2 weeks there was only entertainment on 2 nights which was a guy playing the saxophone. The hotel needs to relax and lift the atmosphere, offer a more varied menu and open an on site shop for your basic holiday needs instead of the jewellery shop that no one appears to use. We enjoyed Kefalonia but wouldn't return to the White Rocks
.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must, with a lack of entertainment it's lovely to sit on the balcony with a drink looking at the sea
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks team of staff at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your review and for understanding that we do offer a professional service and not just friendly and informal one.

Kindly note that we do provide self-service coffee and juice in our breakfast too. We aim to serve at your table but should you be in a great hurry during your vacation, you may always help yourself with coffee and juices at our buffet as there is always abundance of both for your convenience.

In regards to your comment about cold meat, kindly note that we do not serve cold meat as we do believe that this is neither gourmet nor greek. In regards to cheeses we do serve mainly greek products as we feel strongly about collaborating with local producers and help the local community to thrive. Furthermore, we do offer at least 15 different kinds of meat preparations during every stay.

In response to your comment about lack of mini market facilities in the hotel, kindly note that we are in favor of jewelry shops and we promote greek artists and not supermarkets. After all our guests do not choose to visit supermarkets for tourists on a daily basis on their vacation as we are not a self-catering accommodation. Should they need something they can either ask at Front Desk for over and above services or they may take a taxi and visit the town center and shop around.

In regards to entertainment at the White Rocks, kindly note that it is always discrete and not imposing. Should you request a daily entertainment program, we will be more than happy to recommend an all-inclusive accommodation where free daily entertaining with artificial holiday spirit is included in such packages. Furthermore it is common knowledge to everybody that while you were here most of the European football teams were still competing thus making the matches the most favorable and popular spectacle of the past week.

Some people might feel comfortable when they consume a mass tourism package holiday where every bid is planned on their behalf by third parties. We understand the disappointment caused when they discover that they have booked a sea front ultra modern hotel, in a scenic location which does not cater for their usual comforting style of holiday ambience.

Unfortunately, we are not your type of vacation and we sincerely do understand your point of view, but please bear in mind that we never claimed that we offer such products at the White Rocks.
Sincerely,
The White Rocks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

my wife and i spent 14 nights at this hotel 3rd to 17th june.The hotel overall was very nice,good food,very clean and tidy.But on the downside we only had 3 nights entertainment in 14,very good it was too,but surely not enough,unless you want to sit and watch nancy boys kicking a ball around on a 40 inch screen.The worst point we both felt was attitude of management,i had a slight argument with restaurant manager as my wife was unwell one day i wanted to take a few bits back to her room,to which he replied it would cost extra to do this even though i had paid already.reception manager was no better.abrupt and unwelcoming,when we checked out it wasnt have you enjoyed your stay,it was have you used the minibar this morning?Kefalonia is a beautiful island we would return but not to White Rocks.

Room Tip: dont pick a garden room in main building garden is not much to look at.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, The White Rocks Team of staff at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for your review. We would like to apologize if you felt that the Maitre D’ and the Receptionist on duty upon your check-out have failed to provide the service you expected. We therefore thank you for letting us know as it is our duty to make sure that this will not happen again.

Kindly note that as the hotel provides Room Services, it is recommended to guests to use this service instead of bringing a heavy tray with dinner themselves in their room. As the hotel is located at extensive and hilly grounds it is appropriate for health and safety reasons that the designated staff deliver all requested items to the room and remove the dinner tray at your convenience.

We are sorry to see you go and wish you all the best.
Sincerely,
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the White Rocks. I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel but found the experience to be a bit of a let down in the end. The hotel and it's location are beautiful but the hotel lacks any real atmosphere. There is no holiday vibe whatsoever and it just feels like a place you would stay in if you went to a posh wedding!
DO NOT book to stay there if you have any kind of mobility issue or you are remotely accident-prone as you will undoubtedly come a cropper. The steps, slopes and uneven surfaces are very hazardous and you have to watch your step at every opportunity!
The rooms are very nice. Everybody talks on Trip Advisor about the bungalows but we had a room on the ground floor just around the corner from Reception which overlooked the road (although the road was slightly above us). We asked to move to a sea view room but were told the hotel was fully booked and there was nothing available so we had to stay put. However, the room was large, with a nice bathroom and shower, hairdryer, kettle, large LED TV, fridge and mini bar and free safety deposit box. The bed though was very uncomfortable; it was very low with a shallow mattress and gave me horrendous backache.
Our towels and bed linen were changed each day which was good and the hotel provided beach towels which was also good.
The restaurant is lovely and overlooks the sea/evening sunset but you sometimes had to queue to get a table which was quite annoying. The hotel has a dress code for dinner insisting men wear trousers and closed toe shoes so I expected the ladies would dress "elegantly" (as the hotel literature suggests) but most opted for casual dresses or trousers so some of the dresses I took were far too dressy (one of which is going straight back to the shop with the tag still on at the earliest opportunity)! The a la carte restaurant doesn't seem to exist so why it's mentioned in the literature that's left in your room, is a bit of a mystery.
The food was really good quality with lots of choice but my partner likes to have soup as a starter but the hotel didn't do soup much to his disappointment. Sometimes you had to wait for your drinks to arrive or your plates to be cleared away and this was down to the fact there isn't enough staff working at this hotel but most of the staff they have got are very hardworking, polite and courteous.
The poor waiter in the WR bar worked tirelessly by himself all the time but did a sterling job keeping up with everyone's orders. Similarly, Eleni in the Corner bar (which is a lovely bar by the way) worked her socks off night after night but always had a smile on her face.
For a hotel with 102 rooms and 60 bungalows, it has a swimming pool the size of a postage stamp with only ~40 sunbeds around it! You can imagine how difficult it could be to get a sunbed, although for a 5 star hotel, you would have thought they would have invested in some decent sun beds instead of cheap, plastic, white ones without any mattresses.
We never used the hotel's private beach, we preferred to go to Makris Gialos beach in Lassi which had a nice, albeit, man-made sandy beach. We paid 6 Euros for 2 sunbeds and a brollie but liked this end of Lassi better.
I would agree with others that the hotel could do with a shop for essentials. I'm sure they could find room for one somewhere.
I would not encourage anybody with children to stay there as there is absolutely nothing for children at all, not even a paddling pool; the hotel is more suited to adults and adults over the age of 50 in my opinion.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks Team at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review and for appreciating our location and the hotel itself, the high standard of your room and amenities as well as the standard of food. We are delighted that you have also appreciated the courteous and polite service of our staff.

We read all reviews very carefully as they help us to improve our services provided that we do not betray the huge percentage of repeated clientele who choose the White Rocks for two reasons. The first being the enjoyment of the holiday and the second being their wonderful memories of their holiday with us.

Your review is very useful to the rest of the travel community since you bring up points worth mentioning for travelers like you with fixed ideas of what their vacation will have to look like.
We understand that to enjoy your vacation you wish that the hotel delivers a particular “holiday vibe” to boost your holiday mood. Unfortunately we do not offer such holiday product. Thank you for allowing us us to clarify this issue.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks Team of management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we have recently returned from a week at White Rocks -June 2014 - The hotel is not pretty from the outside but don't let that put you off - the setting close to the beach and the interior decor of the hotel was excellent. We stayed in a bungalow (50)this was a short 5 minute walk from main building with a lovely sea view and a garden area outside with fruit trees and at the bottom of the garden area there was a stone wall and the garden dropped down to a small allotment where tomatoes were growing. The meals were buffet style and I would say they were good food rather than amazing food but there was plenty of choice. We used the nearest local beach just below the hotel - 5 minutes - which charged 3 euros a day for each sun bed with parasol. The beach was sandy and very easy to swim from. - The next beach along had all the watersports. The hotel had its own private beach which was a a bit rocky but pleasant. We went for a meal one evening out of the hotel and used a taverna up to the left of the hotel about 5-10 minute walk. Excellent value and a more typical menu with grilled sea bass, salads, taramasalata and stuffed vine leaves etc. It was very reasonable and with a drink came to 28 euros for the two of us. We did go on a day trip out which was interesting but long. the tour guide was very informative and friendly. All in all we had a really relaxing week. Argostoli was worth a visit and we did see the loggerhead turtles very close up in the harbour.

Room Tip: See above but we liked being a little away from the main hotel. Room 50 was good for this.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, The White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We are delighted that you have appreciated our interior design and the scenic seafront. We would like to thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to rate us. We wish you all the best and we hope to welcome you again next year.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks Team of management & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews