We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already Booked for Next year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Already Booked for Next year”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visited the hotel in 2002 & 2003 and loved every minute. Have had a holiday home for the last 10 years in the UK which we have now sold, so when we came to book this year we couldn't think of anywhere better than the White Rocks. We had read that it had been refurbished since our last visit. Just hoped Kefalonia hadn't changed. We never imagined that it could be zoo much better.
From the moment we walked down the steps to reception we were overwhelmed. All credit to the owners and designers.
It is the most perfect hotel and setting. Very relaxing and within 5 min of the airport by taxi.
So nice to see staff that were still there from our last visit. Especially Mikas in the bar who remembered us!!
Restaurant staff all superb. Very friendly and efficient. Very good choice and excellent quality. Certainly not the usual recycled food.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are exceptional. The ladies who serviced the rooms 309 & 307 are fantastic. the most comfortable bed and pillows with clean fresh smelling linen every day. I note a few people comment on the window through to the bathroom. I don't have a problem with this. (Added feature) instead of looking into the bathroom, try looking out and you will find that the window provides a lovely sea view whilst in the bath.
Pool and beach cafe very clean and maintained. There is no cabaret or aqua aerobics, but not everybody wants this. It is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Relaxing and quiet.
We loved the addition of the WR bar and the music that was played. Sitting outside by candle light drinking cocktails was perfect.
I'm struggling for words… I think all of the good reviews speak for them selves. There are too many people to praise.
I wrote in the guest book in 2003 that I would be back. Now that I have been back, I have already booked for 2015. I can't run the risk of not getting a room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, The White Rocks management and staff at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words. We are delighted that you have appreciated all our services and you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests are our best promotion and we are so proud for upgrading our services and premises since the recent renovation to celebrate our 40th anniversary with a brand new hotel.

Having said that, we wish you all the best and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours
The White Rocks management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    285
    99
    17
    17
See reviews for
203
767
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever stopped in. We arrived at our hotel late afternoon there area a few steps down but a man came and helped us carry our suitcases down. We were checked in very quickly and taken to our room which when we walked in over looked the sea. Rooms were very very clean and large. We had a little trouble with our air conditioning but that was our fault but make sure you ask if you are not to sure how to work it. We decided not to go on the hotels beach it was a little crowded so we chose the one next to the hotel it was only 6 euros for 2 sunbeds and a brolly. The food and staff were excellent the only thing was when you went for your evening meal the sun shone on you so if you didn't like where you are seated ask if you can have a seat inside but it really depends on what time you eat. There is a short walk into the town of Lassi where there are a number of bars you can have a drink at the hotel also has its own cocktail bar overlooking the sea. There was entertainment on but not ever night. I would recommend this hotel to people I know and I also know we will be back.

Room Tip: To have a room away from the bar area not because of the noise there isn't any late at night but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire20Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Well where to start! Having just returned from two fantastic weeks at the White Rocks, we both can not begin to explain the experience we had. The hotel is immaculate and very modern, a huge step away from the traditional image of greek hotels. We staying in a bungalow, which had everything you could need from a high quality hotel. Large kingsize bed, with very comfortable mattress, ample storage space, drawers and wardrobes. The bathrooms we finished to a very high standard, modern and exceptionally clean. Everyday the rooms were cleaned as if it was the first time you entered, with the option of helping the environment by placing a card on the bed so that the sheets were not automatically changed. A nice touch, as it gave you the option, and it would be no problem at all if you wished to have clean sheets and towels everyday. The rooms all come with yellow beach towels for your convenience, again changed as required. The bungalows have exquisite views of the sea, with a good sized balcony for those evenings gazing at a clear, star studded sky. The restaurant was clean and the food varied and beautifully prepared and presented, something for everyone, even someone as picky with foods as me! The staff we polite and courteous at all times. We were lucky enough to be able to have our wedding at this beautiful hotel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It was organised with perfection in mind, and even other residents at the hotel commented the following day about the fabulous job the team had done and how meticulous in the preparations they were. Without doubt, the team made our special day, unique and stress free, from the wedding service and decoration through to the drinks service and meal. Absolutely perfect - thankyou.

Room Tip: Bungalows are well worth the extra, for space,views and that feeling of being away from it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KellyClarke14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Arrived just after midday and after a quick check in was taken to our bungalow at the far end of the hotel, bed was very comfortable air con very good and the bathroom was sell appointed and more than adequate for our needs, fridge and safe in the room that was free to use. Fridge excellent for bottles of Robola and Mythos from the supermarkets in Lassi. We had a private garden with a couple of chairs and a table. The view was amazing and it was nice to sit out at night watching the waves and the boats going by with cool drink.
Meals were very nice. Breakfast was very nice, plenty of choice, the village sausages were really tasty, evening meals again were very tasty and loads of choice, the stuffed vine lines were stupendous. They do enforce a dress code in the restaurant for evening meal, I have no issue with this at all.
We spent most of our time on the private beach, sunbeds available all the time when we were there, the sea was lovely and warm, like being in bath. The snack bar just up from the beach was very nice, lovely meals and drinks and not over priced. We also spent a couple of days on the public beach, 2 euros for sun beds, sand was lovely and soft no stones at all. We found the snack bar on the public beach was not very good and was overpriced, the hotel was much better.
We did not spend time round the pool at all as we are both beach lovers so cannot really comment but it did look nice and there seemed to be plenty of sunbeds. The grounds around the hotel were very clean and very well cared for, the gardeners were always out and about clipping and pruning, in fact it was not just the grounds that were well cared for the whole of the hotel was spotless, there was a small army of ladies cleaning from early morning until late at night, I think every meber oif staff always had a smile and a cheery Kalimera.
We tried a couple of restaurants in Lassi at the night, the mixed grill at Zorbas was quite nice as was the steak although we found that the hotel food was much better. Spent most nights in Trentis Bar which was really chilled out and the drinks were reasonably priced. On returning to the hotel we would stop at the corner bar for a drink which again was very chilled and relaxing.
Myself and my wife would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mick8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked for us and 4 grown up kids- 3 bungalows - through Thomsons. Wished I had booked direct with the hotel as we wanted to change a name 7 days prior to departure and were told we would have to pay the full cost of the holiday! Needless to say we didn't make the change, but have learnt a valuable lesson when dealing with fickle teenagers!! Anyway, arrived with reluctant daughter in tow and we were immediately blown away by the views and hotel itself. Despite booking 3 identical bungalows, we were given a far superior one to the kids (who wouldn't appreciate it anyway). It comprised of a huge dressing room, and large bedroom, a mini gym with cross trainer, and 2 massive showers with monsoon heads, jets etc. There was also a jaccuzzi bath looking out over the sea from a panoramic window! Add a large balcony with sunbeds - Beautiful! Bungalow 20 if you're interested! The 'standard' bungalows were just a bedroom with sofa bed, and shower room. Nice - until you saw ours! Anyway I can't say a bad word about White Rocks - Fabulous views, private beach, excellent buffet restaurant, all in all a fabulous place to chill. We ate out in Lassi a couple of times, but both meals were a disappointment after the hotel food. Another restaurant at the hotel would be a welcome addition, as the buffet experience can wear a little thin after a few days. Also an onsite shop would be useful for newspapers, sun cream etc, but I must say the hotel mini bar prices are the best I've seen for a long time. Room service is only available for breakfast, but the Maître de was extremely helpful sending a plate of food from the buffet to the reluctant daughter's room one night. All the staff are happy and welcoming, and work so hard. The Restaurant ran like clockwork with only a 30 second wait one night for a table for 6.

If I had to find something to moan about it is that you are only allowed one keycard per room - and there is easy access for anyone to walk through the hotel and grounds, and as we saw a couple of times, lie on the hotel's beach loungers. I can honestly say this holiday exceeded our expectations, and we will be booking bungalow 20 again very soon!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Louise34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, Public Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We are delighted that you were blown away by our seafront views, our interior design, our food and our attentive staff. It is so rewarding when our guests do appreciate all the work that has been put by all of the White Rocks team to make their stay a memorable one. I would therefore like to take this opportunity to thank you in person for choosing us for your vacation and for taking the time to share with us and your fellow travellers your possitive experience at the White Rocks Hotel.

We wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Sivylla Logotheti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and i have been coming to this hotel on and off for about 18 years.The changes over the recent years have been amazing it has gone from rustic charm to positive chic and is still changing.What this hotel will always have is a great location with stunning views and 2 blue flag beaches by far the best on the island.It is situated roughly mid distance from either end of the island and a short taxi ride from Agostoli with its cafe culture ,and a short stroll into lassi with its bars tavernas and shops.The staff have always been amazing and cant do enough for you,we had a problem with our room safe when we arrived it was fixed asap.The food is very good local and traditional dishes cooked to a high standard and yes they do enforce the dress code probably more now than they did but if you dont want to dress up every night swap your evening meal for lunch and eat in town.We always stay in a sea viev room in the main building,but this time we stayed in a bungalow number 12 views were of course great .Itwas a walk from the main building with a few slopes on the way so if you have mobility issues stick with the main building.It is always a totaly stress free relaxing holiday and we like to chill after dinner in the corner bar or go into town or agastoli.The downstairs area outside where you used to have lunch had a great atmosphere,it is now a bar at night and we are not sure it achieves the same atmosphere we will see in future.The island is wonderfull we always hire a car from Pefanis in lassi it is cheaper than using the holiday reps.Spend a day in Assos its the most relaxing place ever.No matter where we go in the world we will always make our way back to this hotel to recharge our batteries and relax.Stayed in mid june sorry the review is a bit late.

Room Tip: sea view rooms or bungalows make best use of the stunning views this hotel offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 274brianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, White Rocks team at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you very much for all your kind words. We take pride in providing excellent service to our guests and it is a great priviledge and reward to be appreciated and trusted by our guests.

We are delighted that you had such a enjoyable experience with us and also for taking the time to to share with the travel community your thoughs about your vacation at the White Rocks.

We wish you all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely
The White Rocks team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We returned from The White Rocks on Sunday having stayed there for one week. When we arrived we were told that our luggage would be taken to our room and the dinning room had been kept open due to our flight being delayed which we felt was good of them to do so however, not all the staff seemed happy with this.
After having something to eat we went to our room and our luggage was there.
The room was very nice but we would have preferred a sea view and when we tried to upgrade we were informed that the hotel was fully booked which we can appreciate as it is peak season.
We found the accommodation, food, cleanliness and the majority of the staff highly commendable, and overall had a wonderful holiday.

However, due to our return flight being late at night and aware that our checkout time was 11.00am we approached reception staff and asked if the hotel provided a courtesy room or alternatively could we extend our stay in the room we had been given so that we could freshen up for our flight home. We were told we would need to ask when we had the pick up times. These were posted on the Thursday and we asked again and were told that they would not know the availability of the rooms until the morning of our flight.

The day before our flight we spoke to our Thomas Cook Representative in regards to our concerns about the hotel not confirming a courtesy room or a late checkout . We were advised that the hotel has a courtesy room and that we had no reason to be concerned about freshening up for our flight home as it was definitely available.

On the morning of our flight we approached the male member of staff on the reception desk and once again asked about a late checkout or a courtesy room and was abruptly told that the hotel did not have a courtesy room nor could we have a late checkout. We were then told we could use the public showers near the pool and checkout was 11am.

When we handed in our room key we were handed a bill and was abruptly asked if we had had anything else from the mini bar and not have you had a nice holiday.

Two hours before pick up time we went to the public showers which is away from the main hotel only to find two very small shower cubicles which the doors did not lock and the showers only had cold running water . The floors were wet and the area was in constant use by other guests using the pool and beach. We have never been treated in this manner by any of the hotels that we have stayed in and certainly would not expect this from a hotel that sets itself such high standards. We are annoyed after such a wonderful holiday this is our parting memory of White Rocks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcarCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We are very pleased that you had a wonderful vacation at the White Rocks and that you have appreciated all our services.

In response to your misunderstanding about the courtesy room, kindly note that a courtesy room is a complimentary hotel room available for guests for a short period of time at no additional charge. According to your review, you assumed guaranteed availability based on information taken from a travel agent and not by the hotel’s Front Desk officer or website.

Thus kindly be informed that the hotel does not have a courtesy room as a standard amenity and therefore late check-out or day use of room is subject to availability as booking of such room can never be guaranteed prior to departure date as the hotel's Front Desk officer has informed you.

Subsequently, at times of availability due to any last minute cancellation or non-show at guest's departure date, we are happy to provide a courtesy room to guests who checked out in the morning, but again for a restricted amount of time, to freshen up before their flight.

Kindly note that guaranteed “late check-out” or “day use” is impossible in hotels around the world during high season or when the hotel is fully booked unless the hotel has included such service as a standard amenity.

We are nevertheless sorry that you were let down by a misunderstanding caused by an unauthorized third party.

Sincerely
The White Rocks Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Gialos
1.3 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
377 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
22.4 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
496 reviews
18.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Property: White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Address: Lassis | Kefalonia, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Dining Room serving buffet breakfast and dinner. Stairs down to a ground floor Lungomare a la la Carte Restaurant serving set menu a la carte and set menu lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Platis Gialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing