We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first visit to White Rocks, what a beautiful hotel we stayed in a Junior suite with our 2 grandsons the accommodation is first class, very modern and spacious. Our daughter was married at the Hotel during our stay, Sivylla Logotheti organization for her day was second to none she made sure everything went a smoothly as possible. All the staff at the hotel are very friendly and professional. Views are beautiful. The only problem we had was with the Hotels questionnaire at the end of the holiday when they asked if any member of staff stood out during our stay, we said it was not fair to choose one as they were all great.

Room Tip: sea view is a must
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, General Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for your kind words and for appreciating our scenic seafront, our culture of service, our interior design and our dining. We are very honored and delighted to know that we have provided great service and unforgettable memories to you. We wish you all the best and we are looking forward into welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The White Rocks team of management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
There are newer reviews for White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed here twice now and really enjoy the hotel and the setting. One holiday we stayed in the hotel with a sea view, and the second time in a bungalow. If you are staying in the hotel the sea view is a must. The food is excellent (go for the local dishes) and staff are welcoming, friendly and a wealth of knowledge when you want to explore the island. The private beach is ideal for couples looking for a quiet and relaxing break, and it's lovely to sit by the beach snack bar with a beer or Ouzo above the beach looking across the harbour (aka Shirley Valentine). A couple of points to note: the access to the private beach is quite steep. The service at the Cocktail bar in the evening is very slow- don't know why? The Hotel setting is not suitable for children- there is nothing for then to do around the hotel, and there is no children's pool - this can lead to bored noisy or whinging 'Rug-rats' in the vicinity although once families discover there is a public beach 5 minutes walk away from the hotel more suitable for families, peace and tranquillity is restored. So overall, this Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a relaxing holiday- we loved it and will be going back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea view when booking, if staying in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Bill_STH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, General Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for your kind words and for appreciating our scenic seafront, our culture of service, our interior design and our dining. We are very honored and delighted to know that we have provided great service and unforgettable memories to you. We wish you all the best and we are looking forward into welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The White Rocks team of management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

On arrival at White Rocks, we were shown to our room (339 3rd floor) and were delighted with the clear sea view and Lixouri peninsula to the right. Although only one floor up from the lounge terrace, we were able to enjoy the evening atmosphere from our glass fronted balcony. Our room and bathroom was contemporarily decorated and maintained to a high standard. Everything we would expect from a five star hotel room was at hand, from quality bathroom products to a well stocked mini bar... satellite TV, air con, and tea/coffee making facilities.
Down to the restaurant: The Maitre d' walmly welcomed us and obviously had the room under his professional organisation. All of the waiters and waitresses were so friendly despite being extremely busy...special thanks to Angelica, Evangelica and Vangelis. The food was prepared and presented
to the highest standards. Traditional and varied salad bar led to a chef preparing a variety of grilled meats and side dishes which in turn lead to the main courses dishes which again were varied and cooked to perfection. White Rocks obviously demand the best from their suppliers because nothing was less than perfect from the fresh vegetables to the finest meat (especially the lamb) A variety of fish was also served nightly. Colourful and delicious deserts finished of a wonderful meal every night. A wine tasting evening allowed guests to sample the hotels wines bought in from the local vineyard, White Rocks support local business. The views from the bars and terraces are outstanding. The beach bar garden was a particular favourite with rustic furniture and shady grassed area. This lead down to the small but uncrowded private beach. (I wonder if the hotel know that it is also popular with the private luxury yachts moored offshore, several sun beds were taken over by crew and yacht guests one day! :(
The lovely pool, sun terrace and beach area although quite busy offers space for all.
Garden and grounds are beautifully maintained. Car parking is freely available in the two car parks across the road or limited spaces within the grounds. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is well worth paying for a sea view room or bungalow although some of the higher rooms overlooking the mountain at the front of the hotel offer satisfactory views. Ground floor rooms at the front of the hotel appeared quite dark and in constant shade. In empathy with the reviewer with young children, White Rocks does seem to cater more for couples and families with older children although there were plenty of inflatables and younger children at the pool... lovely family atmosphere.
Location: Within a 10 min walk to the bars and souvenir shops of Lassi and short taxi or bus ride to Argostoli which has it all; shops, harbour front bars and restaurants, fantastic night life and TURTLES!
Thanks to all the White Rocks team for making our wonderful 2014 holiday :)

Room Tip: Odd number rooms in main hotel and lower level bungalows offer best views: 333 - 343, 433 - 443 in m...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ReviewerNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having read some of the less positive reviews from individuals who complain for complaining sake I thought it important to express my thanks for a fantastic holiday.

We stayed for 7 nights and opted to contact the Hotel in advance and request a room with a sea view. On arrival we were promptly checked into our room that as requested had the sea view. We were a little worried at first as the room was close to the Hotel bars and restaurant however we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was. The Sea view was stunning.

The rooms are modern, extremely clean with good Air Conditioning a reasonably priced mini bar and safe for valuables. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are well equipped. The room had black out curtains so not to be dazzled by sunlight in the mornings. Nice touch !

At full capacity the hotel is catering for hundreds of people and are doing so to an extremely high standard with food being plenty full with a good choice leaving us with no chance to get board with the meals. The quality of food is better than many of the highest rated restaurants I've had the privilege of going too in the UK. The maitre d' does an excellent job at ensuring an even spread of customer to waiting staff work stations resulting in the friendly hotel waiting staff offering drinks to tables quickly. I think the longest we had to wait for drinks to be offered was about 60 seconds and then we were left to enjoy our meal.

The Hotel facilities are good and at anytime during the day and night food and drinks are available from at least one of the Hotels many bars. We found the price of food and drink very good.

As we were a couple with no children we opted in the main to use the hotels private beach with it being the quieter of the options available however in addition to this there is a nice pool area and public beach within 5 mins walk from the hotel where many families looked to be having a great time with just about every conceivable inflatable toy the market can offer.

The hotel staff are very friendly and should you spend the time to talk to them they are very informative enhancing your stay further.

Check out was at 11am with our flight not being until 7pm that evening, this was concerning however when asking at reception if any facilities would be made available we were given a time slot for a room allocated for this purpose leaving us to enjoy the last day of our holiday to the full.

In summary this is a well thought out and well run hotel with high standards with all staff from the happy cleaners to the managers striving to deliver best service.

Thank you !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We are just returning from two weeks at White Rocks and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect. Sure there are things they could change or do better but overall it stacks up well as a nice hotel in a lovely location.

The staff are also excellent and we would especially mention George in the restaurant as well as Marina & Yiannis who were lovely. Kristina in the lobby bar in the evening was also wonderful.

Thanks for a great stay

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Not a bad place, rooms recently updated. Pool is dated and not very welcoming, needs work. Public areas are well maintained and clean. Parking is limited and can be a problem if you have a car. At main restaurant the service was good but very crowed.

Room Tip: try to book a room that faces the sea and not the road
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the White Rocks with my husband and two children (6 and 4). We had high hopes for this holiday - and a number of the reviews on this site are positive.
However, this is certainly not the case when you stay at the White Rocks with children.
The hotel staff and amenities are very much tailored to adults. For example, they even have signs requesting that you do not jump into the swimming pool or use inflatables....how disappointing for children.
The evening meal buffet does not open until 7.30pm - by which time there is already a lengthy queue to enter the dinning room. There is no childrens menu on offer and having persisted with requesting a child friendly meal I was first told to buy a pizza at lunch time and then finally advised one could be prepared.... but 24 hours notice was needed!
In my opinion this hotel
should stick to what it seems to be best at.....adult holidays or those with teenage children, it is a let down for all involved if they accept bookings from families but have no intention of helping them have a pleasurable stay.
It was clear to me that the staff were much happier dealing with the couples and guests who return frequently and had little interest in us. They did not even manage a courtesy room for a shower / freshen up before our return journey....
Sadly a very disappointing trip and I would definitely urge any families to reconsider before booking here

Room Tip: If you so stay at the White Rocks request a sea view....some rooms back directly onto a very busy an...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, The White Rocks team at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

We thank you for your review. Kindly note that the White Rocks offers discrete luxury and welcoming atmosphere for all guests with or without children. We do have an established reputation of 40 years in the hotel business. We understand that our serene ambiance, clifftop location and interior design is not suitable for all types of families.

We confirm that the hotel frequently welcomes families with children of all ages. This hotel is not advertised nor suggested to be neither a “family exclusive” or an “adult only” hotel. We do facilitate families with complimentary items as baby cots, high chairs, pipes shaded playground and baby food requests. As a beach hotel, the White Rocks is a very convenient seafront location, as guests can choose any of the 3 beaches surrounding the hotel, all of which are walking distance from their room. Furthermore, our beach staff can call for a complementary return transfer to Makris Gialos beach when water sports have been booked by the White Rocks guest.

For Health & Safety reasons, it is not only necessary but imperative as well to display signs advising our young guests not to jump or dive into the swimming pool. In turn, for hygiene purposes we do not facilitate inflatables.

Our dining times are set based on the preferred times that our guests would like to dine, however we are aware that this will not always be a preferred time for all. With this in mind, we make sure our pool bar is available until 5pm for light snacks including our homemade pizza and selection of sandwiches.

We do have our in house baker and pastry chef and we make our own bread, pizzas, sandwiches and patisseries daily. We confirm that in the Dining Room we would not be serving pizzas as they are readily available from our pool bar daily. The Dining Room serves buffet dinner and cooks on the spot in the open plan cooking area for guests. Therefore guests will find a wide selection of dishes suitable for all tastes and dietary needs and ages alike.

The White Rocks understands that guests wish to freshen up prior to their flight home, however we do not advertise or suggest any services for courtesy rooms while the hotel is fully booked. Should there be any last minute cancellation or no show we are always more than happy to allocate our departing guests one complementary room for a limited amount of time for that purpose.Furthermore we do provide four showers on the pool and the hotel’s private beach for your convenience.

Sincerely
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Gialos
0.8 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
825 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
391 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
22.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fiscardo
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Lassis | Kefalonia, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range: £113 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Dining Room serving buffet breakfast and dinner. Stairs down to a ground floor Lungomare a la la Carte Restaurant serving set menu a la carte and set menu lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Platis Gialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing