We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welwyn Roman Baths

Welwyn Roman Baths
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Welwyn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tunnel through time to the world of the Romans - with a visit to Welwyn Roman Baths. You can't take a hot bath any more - the boiler went out about 1,800 years ago when the Romans left! But you can see some fascinating remains which have survived from their time. Learn about how the Romans liked to relax with an elegant culture of bathing, and admire their creativity and style. The bath house remains are a scheduled ancient monument and were once part of a fine villa. The layout of the cold, warm and hot rooms and the heating system are remarkably well preserved. The baths are ingeniously preserved in a steel vault under the A1(M) motorway. You can find out how this vault was built. Also on display are archaeological finds from the Welwyn area and an exhibition devoted to the history of the site, which was uncovered during the 1960s and 70s by the Welwyn Archaeological Society. Welwyn Roman Baths are open Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays and 7 Days a week during Hertfordshire School Holidays 2-5pm PLEASE NOTE WE ARE CLOSED THROUGHOUT DECEMBER.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I visited this site just out of interest, I have driven past it for years I noticed it was open and with nothing to do decided to go in to see what it was about. I am so glad I did, access is good small car park and and easy ramped path led in through a door, I couldn't believe that such an interesting place could be tucked away like this. The site is covered and weather proof, a walkway round the ruins gives a close up view, if you like Roman ruins this is a must and at £ 2.50 per head with no parking fees a bargain visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
255 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great excursion - kids loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I expected this to take about an hour of my time. It took nearly two hours.

Cost £2.50 per adult.

The assistant / guide was extremely helpful and informative.

the baths themselves are very well excavated - shame the rest of the excavation s lost to the motorway. There is lots of information and the hand held audio guides are free.

Lots of related information n the walls, puzzles of mosaics etc for the kids, roman helmets, dressing up costumes. Some souvenirs to buy.

I would highly recommend to grownups, kids and school trips.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Acornise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Roman baths in a James Bond set!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This archealogical site under the motorway is a hidden gem of local history. Meticulously excavated, protected and displayed it is a must see. If you live in the region and have the slightest interest in our Roman history it is well worth the trip. If you are travelling from elsewhere passing through or near the site, it is well worth a diversion.

Walking from the carpark you enter down a lined tunnel into an underground shelter that could easily be a small set for James Bond or Austin Powers. The lower walls clearly show the floor plan of the baths and display cases exhibit items found at the dig and nearby.

The site is definitley 'youngster friendly' and also wheelchair accessable. There is a small charge and an excllent audio guide is included.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Interesting, but it does not take long to visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I took some friends from Europe to visit here. Parking is easy and the attraction is just a short walk.

The whole area is actually quite small- I have visited the Roman baths at Bath so do not even think of comparing the two!.

My friends enjoyed the experience and I would say it is worth the visit, but don't expect too much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“History under the motorway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Tucked under the A1(M) is a relatively recent archaeological discovery which is displayed in such a visitor_friendly way that it appeals to young and old alike. It is interesting and informative, educational and enjoyable, presented in a personal and friendly manner by the man who discovered it. Well worth a visit and the very modest entry charge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SandraK44_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Welwyn Roman Baths also viewed

Welwyn, Hertfordshire
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Welwyn Roman Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing