We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet cottage tucked away - nice and relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Kitchen/Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Dining area
Lavender Cottage, Flookburgh, Grange Over Sands Main bedroom, Kingsize bed with ensuite bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Kitchen/Dining area
Lavender Cottage, Flookburgh, Grange Over Sands
Main bedroom, Kingsize bed with ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom for main bedroom
Living room
Living room, LCD TV and DVD Player
Lounge, LCD TV and DVD Player
Second bedroom
Family bathroom with shower over bath
Lavender Cottage garden with seating and BBQ
Main Street Flookburgh, view to Kirkhead Tower
Estuary and Lakeland mountain views a short walk from Lavender Cottage
View from Grange over Sands promenade
Lakeland mountain views from Hampsfell Hospice above Grange Over Sands
Cartmel Races, Cartmel
Holker Hall Cark - Stately home, gardens, restaurant and food hall
Hoad Hill, Ulverston, view across both Lake District mountains and Morecambe Bay
Morecambe Bay views from Hampsfell towards Arnside Knott and Silverdale
View across Windermere from Gummers How
Yew Tree Farm, near Tarn Hows, Coniston (Beatrix Potter farmhouse)
Fell Foot Park, foot of Lake Windermere
Tarn Hows, near Coniston and Hawkshead
Peel Castle and lakeland mountain view,  Barrow
Hoad Hill and Monument, Ulverston
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Flookburgh, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jenny6116...
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet cottage tucked away - nice and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely holiday in this quiet cottage in the small village of Flookburgh. There is a well stocked shop, a pharmacy and nice pub with beer garden in the village. The cottage is really well equipped with everything you need. The owner was very good at emailing to make sure you were ready for your stay Lovely welcoming bottle of wine and chocolate biscuits. Spotless clean. We made good use of the small garden and BBQ. Thank you for a lovely holiday base.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estellejo...
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Lavender Cottage and with our 2 teenage daughters had a brilliant holiday in the lake district. The cottage was well equipped and very clean, with good amenities throughout, very comfortable after long days climbing mountains. The location was ok, took about an hour to the heart of the lakes but beautiful scenery. Also excellent fish and chip shop in village, very handy. We would recommend the cottage and be happy to return if we visit the lakes again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easter break for lakes”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is an ideal location for the Lake District, it is south of the lakes so bear it in mind when planning your visits as Windermere seems busy all the time!

A well presented house, back from the main road but was always able to park on street or nearby street in easy walking distance. The house had all your needs covered and then some, only criticism is it could of had a tumbler but we managed fine on airer provided. Bed was comfy and place was clean, there was a little smell of damp but being an old property this is what happens and after being in for five mins you did not notice it.

We had an issue whilst we were the but it was dealt with swift and very efficiently by Nina in a very professional manner.

Hope to return next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgasinska...
Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with everything you could possibly need!”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This was our second time in Lavender cottage and it was just perfect. Great host, cosy, warm cottage. Ideal location for exploring Lakes with family!

Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyR130...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb- Again!”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Thank you Nina for yet another wonderful stay at your beautiful cottage- it never fails to disappoint. The week we chose this time was blighted with heavy rain and low temperatures. However, returning to this warm and cosy cottage in the evenings was just delightful- plenty of books, dvd's, games, toys and of course, free wi fi! The children never moaned once. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who loves the Lakes and likes that bit of something extra from the accommodation- great value for money too! Booking again in 2018- looking forward to it already!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy K
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short break”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely location near to Grange over sands and a 5 minute walk to the railway station at Cark. Flookburgh suprisingly has quite a few useful shops too. The living and kitchen area is nicely laid out although parts of the kitchen are starting to look a bit dated. We were pleased that the owner had thought to leave DVDs and some toys including a train set which the children loved. The two downstairs bedrooms were fine and the bathrooms were newly done. We were pleased to find that there was an extra upstairs lounge and we used this as an extra bedroom for the travel cot provided. The only real negative was a slight smell of damp but this could have been if the house had not been lived in regularly as it improved throughout the week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely size holiday home”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lavender cottage was clean, had great facilities and was very comfortable. I would recommend against stopping for a drink in the nearby public house but don't let this affect your decision to stay as there are some very nice restaurants and pubs very close to Flookburgh that are very friendly and welcolming. A car is absolutely essential for your trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing