We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you expect and more!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Ellerdine, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clan-in-C...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything you expect and more!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had an amazing weekend at Meeson cottage. It was our wedding anniversary and we were spoilt with a bottle of bubbly on arrival! A beautiful welcome pack of goodies was there as well with freshly laid eggs, fresh bread and the most delicious home made Jam.
The cottage itself is gorgeous. The pictures do not do it justice. The log burner was wonderful on the cold winter nights too. The owners were so helpful and welcoming. We even got a guided tour of their amazing home. We would recommend this place to everybody wanting a romantic get away. We hope to be back again soon . Oh and the recommended Indian restaurant in the next village was fab! Thanks for a lovely weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenandk...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in beautiful cottage and gardens”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We chose Courtyard Cottage after viewing it on line and after reading the excellent reviews. The cottage was certainly 5 star the cottage is attached to the owners property which is a listed house in lovely gardens. We have traveled extensively in Austria and Switzerland and it was certainly on par with the hotels which have very high standards.The cottage is for three people, so there was my husband and myself and my mother in law. We had plenty of space and the owners had thought of everything we needed. We had a basket on arrival of bread, milk, eggs (from their own chickens) and their home made jam which was excellent. With the month being February it was very cold but on arrival Mark had lit a lovely log fire to welcome us. Courtyard cottage is indeed one of the loveliest ,homely peaceful cottages in the Shropshire countryside. Thoroughly recommended! The owners Mark and Adrian are excellent hosts.(Adrian's jam was fab)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 fantastic nights. What a find, it is a two bedroom cottage that sleeps 3, it has an ensuite on the master bedroom and a family bathroom.
it is fully fitted with everything that you need for your stay and the owners Mark and Adrian even make sure you have all the essentials to start your stay, bread, milk, home made jam and free range eggs etc.
The cottage is straight off a chocolate box, all exposed beams, log burner, the most luxurious and comfortable bed and first floor gallery overlooking the lounge area.It is beautiful and there is a never ending supply of logs and coal for the fire. You are free to roam the estate as you please and the owners also showed us around the main house which is stunning and will also soon be available for bed and breakfast.
We had a perfect weekend here, it was very quiet and relaxing but also an ideal base to visit Ludlow, Ironbridge etc.
If you are looking for a completely stress free weekend or longer break then this is definatly the place, we have already rebooked for later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind review of Courtyard Cottage. We are so glad you had a lovely weekend exploring the surrounding areas, and agree that the estate is stunning! We hope to see you at Courtyard Cottage again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob N
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wow !!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed for a week in this lovely property which, while attached to Meeson Hall is very private , quiet and comfortable. The gardens and the whole of the estate are free for you to walk around,
It definitely has the wow factor. You must be very hard to please if you don't really love this cottage.
The welcome pack was very generous especially the home made jam.
The excellent wood burner made the cottage very cosy and warm on the cold October evenings.
We will definitely return one day.
Book this cottage and you won't be sorry !!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortijo Cabrera Spain
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bristol
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing