We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jonathan. "A great place and very welcoming family"”
Review of Yellow River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quellomayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellow River
Ranked #1 of 1 Quellomayo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jonathan. "A great place and very welcoming family"”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We headed out to Quellomayo for a 'get away weekend from Cusco' during our 6 weeks volunteer teaching project. It was an awesome weekend - the journey there and back included. We were made very welcome by Andy, Tatiana and the family. We ate some lovely local Peruvian food and drank the family's home produced coffee. Their local knowledge and hand drawn map set us up for a great days trekking, with some spectacular scenery, ending up with a swim at the Hot Springs near Santa Teresa. After Sunday breakfast we had time to help with moving some cocoa plants up the hillside for planting before heading back to Cusco on Sunday afternoon. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quellomayo, Owner at Yellow River, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us, we had fun with your group and we were thrilled to hear you had a good time with us. We love hosting families and groups of friends. Just to let you know we've just planted 1000 pineapples on the farm and are planning for 4000 more. Sorry you missed the hole-digging :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
53
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacred Valley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A great place to stay on an alternative route to Machupicchu. Andy and Tatiana made our party of four feel at home. Andy very kindly spent the afternoon with us showing us the coffee farm. At night we had a delicious dinner in company of the family and other guests, after which we roasted some coffee beans.
We left very ealy next morning for Hidroelectrica to start our walk to Machupicchu but sure enough there was a fantastic and yummy breakfast ready for us.

I recommend Yellow River to anyone wanting a bit of adventure on their way to Machupicchu or back from there. I sure will be back!

Thanks Andy and Tatiana for your hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quellomayo, Owner at Yellow River, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Well, we enjoyed meeting you even more... it was great to get your perspective on our coffee too being coffee lovers as you all are. It's always a pleasure to meet lovely people and it was so nice that you met our other group that evening, the place hasn't had that much conversation in a while! It was great to bump into you all in Cusco, glad the rest of your trip went well. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our family recently stayed at Yellow River 2 nights before heading onto Aguas Calientes. It certainly takes planes, trains and automobiles to get there; however the reward is worth it. The whole family shared insights about this area of Peru and Tatiana's cooking is local, authentic and a delicious way to explore Peru. I would recommend this place for families (I travelled with my sister and her family) or single people (like myself). I stayed in room #1 and fell asleep to the natual sounds which was relaxing. Andrew gave us a tour of the organic farm and we engaged in some hands on crop picking (pineapple for me). Yellow River rounded out my Peru experience and I wouldn't miss it if I return to Peru in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 share a bathroom on site with connecting doors through a central sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britaini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quellomayo, Owner at Yellow River, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks Britaini, you guys were so lovely, we felt like we had known you for ages. Your pineapple was indeed the nicest one picked that day :) We'd love to see you back here one day or perhaps we'll visit you where you are. Have amazing onward travels. Love to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Thank you Andrew and Tatiana for a most memorable experience in local foods, culture, transportation and especially chocolate roasting! Our two days spent with you was a definite highlight of our trip to Peru. Definitely recommend at least two nights to experience the awesome food and hospitality of this family and their pets. Thanks for taking care of us, providing us with tour agency help, healing our bee stings and gastrointestinal issues and for the local tours. Know you always have a place to stay in Rapid City, SD.
Most highly recommend Yellow River for those travelers who want to experience Peru in a local, adventurous way. This is a special family

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alykwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quellomayo, Owner at Yellow River, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Wow, we're delighted you had a good time, we also loved having you to stay. We hope that we get a chance to visit in the future and of course you're always welcome at the house, Tyson will be there wagging his tail waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

everyone and everything were enchanting, even the rain! What a fantastic family and what a fantastic place. Andy speaks excellent french. Tatiana cured my gastrointestinal problems with herbs. It was like to be in a friends house. I agree with all what is said in the recent reviews. I recommend with enthusiasm Yellow River

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosangela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quellomayo, Owner at Yellow River, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi there,

We really enjoyed having your group come to stay with us, it was lovely to practise my French and you taught us a lot about some of the local plant species we have around us (you were our first botanists!). We all send our best wishes and hope that we'll be able to see you again someday in the future. Many thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

we arrived late to yellow river and stayed in our tent, we received help to set up and even got sum extras from their own supplies to make our stay even more comfortable. i will be reccomending this place to my friends! Tatiana drew us a map to find our way to MP and told us lots about the local community. thanks again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had an excellent four days at Yellow River. Apart from the stunning location, it was the warmth of the family who own and run it that made it so special. We learnt a massive amount about Peru just by chatting to them over the many delicious meals that we shared with them. It is well worth going on the guided walks along the Inka trail or along the river to the hot spas near Santa Teresa. It was the one time during our three weeks in Peru that we felt we had escaped from the typical tourist trail and experienced something a little more intimate and closer to the real Peru.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugsymalone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Yellow River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow River

Property: Yellow River
Address: Quellomayo S/N, Quellomayo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Quellomayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Quellomayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now proud winners of our second certificate of excellence and second traveller's choice awards in a row! Our family home and farm offers unique homestay experiences in the Peruvian Cloud forest near Machu Picchu. We have a number of beds and a beautiful campsite with an adobe oven and a grill. The restaurant is also our home and we serve home-cooked peruvian and international food. Our outdoor bar serves our own organic coffee and a wide range of soft and alcoholic drinks made from our own tropical fruit. The buildings are surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and we have two rivers nearby. The location is perfect for travellers on their way to Machu Picchu who want to see a little bit more of the real Peru. Our prices include dinner and breakfast and we offer optional coffee and cocoa-roasting workshops as well as tours of our farm and local walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellow River Peru/Quellomayo, Cusco Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing