We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trentham Motel on the Park
Nearby Hotels
Wallaceville House(Upper Hutt)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boulcott Lodge(Lower Hutt)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bristol Motel(Upper Hutt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Gables Motel(Lower Hutt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 22(Lower Hutt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Champers Motor Inn(Lower Hutt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbeycourt Motel(Lower Hutt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
12
13
2
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
13
2
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheat pumpfree wififull kitchensportsunitsbedsmotelroomykitchenettetidy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had 2 rooms max of 4 guest at 10pm the owner demanded we tell our guest to go and shut up and go to bed! We ignored the rudeness and asked out 3 extra family members to call it a night. After they left the owner walked straight into our room and looked around we demanded he leave or we would call the police he then told us he can do what he wants we ended up calling the police whom gave him a warning. Never stay there again buyer beware!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjmaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Owner at Trentham Motel on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Our guest information clearly states that any visitors must leave by 10.00pm and that consideration must be given to other guests in the motel; these guests had visitors who did not leave at 10.00pm and we had at least 3 complaints from other guests in nearby units regarding the noise for which we apologised for. The guests were asked politely to be quiet but did not comply and then when told off again did not like it and became abusive to us. We asked again at 11.30 for guests visitors to leave. When we asked later if the guests had gone, we were told yes but as the door to the unit was open, the unit was checked, we received more abuse and the police were called. The police did not give us a warning as stated by the guests, just asked that if things quietened down were we happy for the guests to stay, to which we said yes despite the problems they had caused.

We are sorry that these guests felt they had a terrible stay but consideration to other people in any motel has to be given to other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Surprised when reading other reviews. We booked 2 units the weekend 25-29 January probably only disappointment was rooms were in different locations - as we didn't spend much time at the motels it wasn't a problem. Found ALL the staff very helpful and friendly. Dealt/chatted with all of them, including the lovely cleaners. Staff went out of their way to help us get transport into the magnificent Upper Hutt Cosmopolitan Club, and didn't hesitate to come and tune the TV when we couldn't get the racing channel. Rooms were clean and more than suitable for somewhere to sleep and eat while we were down there to enjoy things other than sit in a motel all weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms were being done up - we had one in middle at back which was good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1samoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Very rude & arrogant Male Manager that we mostly dealt with, refused to give us flybuys after giving us a discount on our room in a very rude manner, when asked about a different dvd machine, said "when are you going to stop", stop what was replied, to which he said, "complaining". The room advertised on their site, most sites & pamphlets is the only room that really looks like that, most others are very dated, some with ill fitting or uncomfortable furniture. On the good side, the bathrooms, crockery, linens are new & comfortable. Recommend for overnight stays only, not suited for longer stays such as we had. Also hope you don't have to deal with the male manager much, honestly, he isn't suited to customer service at all.

Room Tip: Nicer room is right next to the office, so prepare to either sacrifice comfort or privacy. When booking, ask for them to specifically show you a photo of the room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorneyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A shame the rudeness of the male host we dealt with far outweighed the friendliness of the female hostess we initially spoke to when we enquired about staying. He did nothing to make you feel welcome and once they had had our credit card number he felt he could speak to us any way he wanted. Unit was apparently refurbished but fridge was noisey all night and the space was cramped because of illfitting furniture. A dodgy looking electric cord had obviously not been checked by anyone for quite a while. Next morning the service was no better - at reception an unresponsive abrupt man who I felt I had inconvenienced by being there. Will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shellsatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Owner at Trentham Motel on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

We apologise if you felt we were rude. As there are three of us that run the motel I would have hoped that you could've let us know of any problems during your stay so we could deal with the issues ASAP rather than waiting several weeks. We were unaware of the noisy fridge, but a following guest notified us of it and the following day a new fridge was put in place. We've also had all the wiring checked and nothing 'dodgy' has been found and it would've been more helpful if you'd told us whilst you stayed with us. Not sure what you mean by illfitting/cramped furniture as it's all new and matching? We try to purchase items that everyone likes, but obviously we can't account for other peoples taste. We take pride in the running of our motel and as soon as we're made aware of an issue we resolve it, but if we're not informed then we can't act. In this instance we were unaware until after your departure. But we do appreciate feedback as this helps us improve our service. We welcome you back anytime as we now offer flybuys, supergold discount and free internet and have upgraded another unit. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This is not a place you'd stay for a luxury holiday. But if you have a need to be in Upper Hutt and all you really want is somewhere clean and a bed, this is great. The staff were lovely and our room was meticulously clean. Very basic, decor very outdated but as I said, it served it's purpose. The shower was awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiFloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews